Customer Reviews for

The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog!

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    A Must Read!

    I bought this book on a whim at a school book fair for my 5 year old. He is not really into books and reading, but he just loved this one. We read it just about every night and it has helped him with recognizing sight words. I am going to get him another Mo Willems book for Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    This book smells like my grandma.... She died yesterday....

    This book smells like my grandma.... She died yesterday....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Quirky Cute!

    Funny little book. My 2 1/2 yo loves this pigeon! Simple, but easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Love that Pigeon

    We all love the Pigeon books. My 6 year old is a slow reader. You have to push him to read. But with the Pigeon books he loves to read. He's able to read 96% of the book on his own with a little help on the "big" words, which are not many. The illustrations are wonderful. They are simple but do a phenomenal job of bringing the characters to life. I personally love the Pigeon's facial expressions. I believe the size of the book is a plus. It gives more room for the drawing and it makes it seem like there's not a lot to read (for those that have a difficult time reading). We have no complaints about the Pigeon books. I'm trying to complete our set. We LOVE that Pigeon!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Great for pre-schoolers and kindergarteners learning to read

    My daughter was given the first pigeon book (Don't let the Pigeon Drive the bus) as a gift. It is one of her favorites and before she could read, she was "reading" the book to us. The pictures and the words match so she knows what it means and starts associating the words with their actual meaning.

    Because of the success of that first Mo Willems book, I decided to look for more books from this author and found "The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog". I immediately bought it and read it to my daughter that very afternoon. It was hilarious as usual and my daughter found it as entertaining as I did. By the end of the day, she was "reading" the book to us. I decided to test whether she was simply guiding herself from the pictures to tell the story by picking a word in the book and asking her if she knew what the word was. I was pleasantly surprised when she started phoning the word and actually read it!!!.

    I highly recommend this and all Mo Willems books to parents, they are not only entertaining, but develop a love for reading in children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Love The Pigeon!!!!

    This book is funny I love reading this book to my kids and they love it to!!! Mo Willems Gotta have his collection.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    The Pigeon Finds A Hotdog

    My son loves this book and as a parent I love reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I heart pigeon!

    I adore all of the pigeon books! There are a lot of them! And I love that in most of this authors books (the non-pigeon variety) that the pigeon manages to make a cameo appearance in most of them! They are highly entertaining and easy/enjoyable to read over and over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hot Dog! My 4-year old is suddenly a reader!

    My Moroccan-American nephew, who grew up on PBS's "Blue's Clues" and "Curious George", abjured the use of either English or Arabic until he was nearly 4. At 4 1/2 he has abruptly evolved into an animated reader stimulated by the clear signals of Mo Willems' wry style. Willems has an extraordinary ability to bring paper and ink alive with voice, attitude, relationship and compelling story--all containing subtleties that merit my nephew's current fixation. Mohammed interrupted an early read of the "Hotdog" book to show me that Willems' shorter "Pigeon Has Feelings Too" also contains the phrase "Hey, Wait a Second". When we came across the word "sad" in a phonics book, he ran to show me that the word sad was also in Willems "Feelings" book. Mohammed quickly memorized the text in these books and now takes great satisfaction in consulting phonemes to self- correct if he slips into a paraphrase. Needless to say, I love Willems' creations as much as my nephew does!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pigeon finds anything it's GREAT

    My son loves this book.I think it's great for ages 4-7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My 3 year old granddaughter LOVES this book!

    My granddaughter (age 3) is crazy about hot dogs, so when I bought the book, I knew she'd be intrigued by the title. Now, it's her favorite book, and once just isn't enough. She says, "Read it again, Mimi," and I'm happy to oblige. She thinks the two characters are incredibly funny. She has memorized the book and does little voices for each character. As a bonus, the fact that the pigeon learns to "share" at the end of the book is a great lesson - particularly for a 3 year old who is an only child. I think all of the Mo Willems books are very clever, and they provide great opportunities to interact with children while reading. But this one is a special favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    The Pigeon finds FUN! FUN! and friend

    The Pigeon books are highly engaging. Great for re-reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    A winner!

    The illustrations are endearing (especially the duckling) and the story is funny especially to little kids. It's so hard to share, and they can easily relate to Pigeon. This is also a simple enough book for beginning readers to practice with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    hysterical

    I came across this while browsing for my niece and was doubled over in the store laughing as I read this...and his other books as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    My favorite children's book

    This is the funniest children's book I've ever read, second only to Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus. My 2-year old daughter loves it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Quick, Funny, and Easy to Read

    My 5 year old and I love this story. It has a cute, fast paced plot and gets a laugh everytime we read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Another rib-tickling winner!

    This story, while very similar to the previous, DON'T LET THE PIGEON DRIVE THE BUS!, is equally a hoot. We love Pigeon, and can only hope more stories about him will come our way soon, to make us laugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Amusing

    This book is hilarious. It's great for kids...and their parents too! It's simple to read and the illustrations are great. It's become a favorite book to read to my 3 year old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2