Customer Reviews for

The Pigman

Average Rating 4
( 299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awsome Book!

i read this book in seventh grade...and everybody in my whole class loved it. This book is so easy to understand(especially if you're a teenager) because since they're kids, you can understand the problems they have and what they do to solve thems with the PIGMAN!

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Horrible!

I love books of all kinds and I love to read, period. But I have to say that this is the worst book I have EVER read. It is poorly written and horribly (not to mention meaninglessly) depressing. I personally don't even think that the average kid can relate to this. This...
I love books of all kinds and I love to read, period. But I have to say that this is the worst book I have EVER read. It is poorly written and horribly (not to mention meaninglessly) depressing. I personally don't even think that the average kid can relate to this. This is a HORRIBLE book.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    Nice Book

    This book had a good plot. Also it had unique symbolism that makes the reader appreciate writing more. It may be somewhat sad, but the overall story makes you happy. The characterization was very nice too. John and Lorraine are the the poster children for teenagers today. Although their family situations are rough, the Pigman is like family and will always be in their hearts.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Awsome Book!

    i read this book in seventh grade...and everybody in my whole class loved it. This book is so easy to understand(especially if you're a teenager) because since they're kids, you can understand the problems they have and what they do to solve thems with the PIGMAN!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    Magnificent

    The Pigman is truly a life changing story. I could not have asked for a better book to read. I am a sophomore and I found that I could relate to Lorraine and John, although I'm nothing like them. Their struggles remind me of people I know. I love how the book goes back and forth from John and Lorraine's point of view because you can really establish a relationship with each character. I felt like I was close to the character and knew all about them. Their relationship with the pigman was beautiful. John may have been a trouble maker, but he did the right thing when he knew what it was. I even felt like I had established a relationship with minor characters like Norton and Bore. This book will make you laugh out loud, mostly because of John's sense of humor and sarcasm. The way he warmly refers to his father as the Bore, and his fun-loving ways. He's misunderstood because people think he's a "bad boy" but he is a great person and cares deeply about Lorraine and the Pigman. Lorraine will make you laugh with her "tell it like it is" attitude. This book will also make you cry. Its truly a must read and I think everyone needs to give it a chance.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Is my favorite book ever! I recomend it to anyone and everyone!

    Title: The Pigman

    Author: Paul Zindel

    Illustrator: John Thompson

    Genre: Fiction

    Age range: 10-14

    Description:
    This book will change your outlook on many things. For me it has changed my outlook on life, my parents, my best friend, and if I should ever prank phone call someone. This novel is about two sophomores who learn many lessons and later fall in love all because of one little phone call. They meet a man that they later call the Pigman. He is a lonely old man whose wife passed away years ago. He tries to deny it by saying she was on a trip but the truth comes out while snooping around his things. As the times passes they grow to love he Pigman and so will you. Read this book and I promise you that you won't regret it.

    Awards:

    . 1940-1970 Notable Children's Book (ALA)
    . Best of the Best Books 1966-1988
    . Fanfare Honor Book List (The horn Book)
    . Outstanding Children's Book of 1968
    . Best Children's Books of 1968

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Mitch and Andrew's review on the pigman

    The Pigman by Paul Zindel should not be recommened for an audience younger than fifteen. A lot of the issues in this book are similar to what a lot of teenagers go through. The two characters John Conlan and Lorriane Jensen face a lot of hardships in school and at home because they are different and do not fit in. As a result of this they do certain things that makes them happy. While making a prank phone call they find themselves in a new friendship with Angelo Pignati. John and Lorraine call him 'the pigman' because he collects pigs. This book can be read by anyone because it teaches you a lot about friendship and maturity.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Horrible!

    I love books of all kinds and I love to read, period. But I have to say that this is the worst book I have EVER read. It is poorly written and horribly (not to mention meaninglessly) depressing. I personally don't even think that the average kid can relate to this. This is a HORRIBLE book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    The theme of the book is guilt and blame, and lies and deceit.


    The theme of the book is guilt and blame, and lies and deceit. The audience intended for the book is young adults and the author’s purpose is to show teenagers it is wrong to take advantage of people. It is a good book that many teens can relate to.
    The book is about two teenagers named John and Lorraine who are prank calling and they call an elderly man named Angelo Pignati. They trick him into thinking they are from a charity and they con him out of ten dollars. They end up leading the man on for a while, but eventually they start to respect the Pigman and they become friends with the lonely old man.

    The book has a really good plot that teenagers can relate to, and the plot includes the right amount of humor where it is appropriate. John and Lorraine let their selfishness rule them and they took advantage of an old man who just wanted a friend. Mr. Pignati is a lonely old man who just wanted a friend but he was foolish to let to two teenagers rule his life. The theme is very deep and it is well portrayed through the whole book. The setting really made the book, because now-a-days people cannot get away with what John and Lorraine did.
    This is an amazing book because teenagers can relate to it really well. Both John and Lorraine have really hard home lives and many teens can relate to what they are going through. The book is a great read and I would recommend it to many teenagers and adults. I wouldn’t really recommend a child under 12 read it because it could be hard for them to understand it. If you enjoy realistic fiction then this is the book for you. It has a wonderful theme and plot, and it is easy to understand as long as you read it carefully. It is not a book that you can just skim through and understand it easily. It is a book that can make you cry, laugh, and be mad at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    The Pigman

    Lindsey Hackney

    The Pigman- Paul Zindel
    Genre- Fiction
    Age Range- Teenagers 13-19

    Ratings: Challenge Level

    Easy Medium Difficult
    ?????????????????????????

    Level Enjoyment:

    Low Medium High Very High
    ?????????????????????????????


    The Pigman is an excellent book to read. If you're like me & don't like to read then this would definitely be a book for you. It caught my attention throughout the whole book. The characters are Lorraine, John, & Mr. Pignati. John and Lorraine are best friends. Mr. Pignati becomes best friends with Lorraine and John. Mr. Pignati loves going to the zoo to visit Bobo, the monkey. John and Lorraine are teenagers and Mr. Pignati is an older gentlemen. You won't be able to put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    The Pigman

    Title: The Pigman
    Author: Paul Zindel
    Genre: Fiction
    Age range: 12-17






    In the prologue of Paul Zindel it happens from a prank call made by Lorraine and John to a lonely old man named Mr.Pignati. The title of this brilliant novel is The Pigman. I love the author Paul Zindel and his books they are exciting and somewhat sad. Pigman is a fictional book and has some things in it that people would probably do in real life. The age range for this book would be around 13 years and older. I read this book when I was thirteen and I fell in love with it and I read everyday. This book gives great details and things you should or shouldn't do. I would recommend you take this book off the shelf and read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    The Pigman

    Book title and author: The Pigman by Paul Zindel
    Title of review: Brooke's book review on The Pigman
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction
    It all starts with John and Lorraine, John and Lorraine are two best friends that are always drinking, smoking, and getting into trouble at home with their parents. Well one day they plan to prank a guy named Mr. Pignati, the pigman, and fake that they are a charity place that would like to receive money. Soon after they become friends with Mr. Pignati and he decides to treat them like they are his kids so he buys Lorraine and John food and drinks every time they go down to visit him. Truly the theme to me would most likely be nothing can get in the way of love and feelings.


    Description and summary of main points
    The Pigman book is great for teenagers and it explains so much of what we all are like now. I think the book is more for people who are at least 12 and older. Paul Zindel made this book a thriller with the details and how the characters came together and acted like they were family except for the incident with Mr. Pignati that catches everyone's eye. I think the book should at least be a four star book by my judging. One thing that really got me is how Lorraine said that she and john were the kids of Mr. Pignati; it just really touched his heart.


    Evaluation
    This book is most likely a fiction book because usually no one would call a man and say they were a charity place needing money, if that would happen then they would probably get the cops called on them. When the book describes Lorraine and John's relationship with Mr. Pignati the author wanted it to catch people's eyes, which it did because the people wanted to find out what would happen between Lorraine, John, and Mr. Pignati. For instance if they would still be very great friends or if the Pignati would die, which he did. This would maybe be like any other book but it has more suspense and shock built into it.


    Conclusion
    When the Pigman had died Lorraine and John thought that they had killed the pigman, because when Mr. Pignati had his second heart attack John and Lorraine had thrown a get well soon party but it went a little too far out of hand and Mr. Pignati's pig collection had gotten destroyed, also a picture of his wife got ripped. It was because of John and Lorraine it was just natural.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    The Pigman

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: The Pigman Paul Zindel
    Title of review: Nick Caldwell's Review
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction
    In Pigman two teens, John and Lorraine, meet the pigman over the phone doing a prank. And that's when the journey starts.

    Description and summary of main points
    John is a trouble maker. He is known as the bathroom bomber because he puts bombs in the bathrooms at school. Lorraine is not a trouble maker that much.

    Evaluation
    In this book you know the feelings and thoughts of all the characters because they are writing the story as it progresses. The whole time in the story they are at the Pigman's house and that's where John and Lorraine has the party that hurts the Pigman's feelings.

    Conclusion
    At the end John and Lorraine make up with the Pigman and invite him to go to the zoo. And they know that's the Pigman's favorite place in the whole world. Because Bobo the monkey and when they meet the Pigman and they go to see bobo and he's died. The pigman is so broken up he has a heart attack and dies.

    Your final review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    THE Pig Man

    Book title and author: The Pigman by Paul Zindel
    Title of review: The pig man
    Number of stars (1 to 5):5Two best friends meet an old man that they tried to swindle out of 10 bucks but end up getting way more than they bargond for when he dies.The books a really good book its got plenty of details things you can relate to its just a bunch of kids your age doing what kids doThis book has a lot of curse words in it. Its kind of like Shallow but its got more of a comedy to it.

    It's a guy and a girl book this is a 13 and older book because of the cursing that is in it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    The Pigman

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: The Pigman
    Title of review: Book Review on the Pigman
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4.5

    Introduction
    The main idea of The Pigman is two kids for high school prank call this old man and later become friends with him. I think that the theme is, think before you act.

    Description and summary of main points
    I think that this book is good for a lot of teenagers. It shows that even if you think something is funny you should think about how the other person is feeling. The writer is a good author, I really don't like to read a lot but I loved this book. The main point of the book is trying to teach us that doing bad things do not make you cool.
    Evaluation
    I think that this book would be a harder book for younger kids than for older kids. I would recommend this book for kids about 8th grade to about 12th grade.

    Conclusion
    This book is good because it is like reading something about things you do. It will make you stop and think.

    Your final review
    Over all I don't think that this book would be good for younger kids. But really recommend it for older kids.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    The Pig Man by Paul Zindel.

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: The Pig man by Paul Zindel
    Title of review: Pig Man
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    If you are looking for a good comedy book, I would suggest The Pig Man.


    This story is about two kids named John and Lorraine who play a practical joke on an old man named Angelo Pignati, who they call the pig man. They prank call him, get money off of him, and use his house for a party while he was in the hospital. When he gets out of the hospital he came to a house that was a wreck. He stopped talking to them for a while then met him at the zoo where The Pig man loved to go. Mr. Pignati had a favorite monkey that he loved to visit, but he found out the monkey had died. Mr. Pignati had a heart attack when he found out the monkey had died and then he died. John and Lorraine were devastated and disappointed in themselves.
    John and Lorraine did not treat Mr. Pignati the way they should have.They felt terrible because they treated him terribly right before he died and never got to help him fix his house or anything.John and Lorraine are troubled children and Mr. Pignati was a friend too them. But all they did was make his life miserable, although he finally felt like he wasn't alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Pigman Tattoo

    I read this in 7th grade and again as a junior in college. At 22 I now have a tattoo on my back from the second to last page:<BR/><BR/>"There was no one else to blame anymore...And there was no place to hide- no place across any river for a boatman to take us"<BR/><BR/>The book obviously spoke to me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Love this book

    This book was really good. This was probably one of the best books I've ever read. I recommened this book for everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Seems outdated, but just wait until you dig into it!

    I read this book in the 7th grade, and it has still never left me. Its contents are truly relevant to people of all ages, and it's an easy read without being light on character development and climactic events. This is a MUST READ! The Pigman is the only book that has ever made me cry. The ending is just that good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Awesome Book

    I think this story was awesome is was suspenseful and it was and charming book. this book made me cry and laugh at the same time. I love his characters, john and lorriane, they make the story topped off with cherries. I was the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Brooke Sauer An Avid Book Reader

    This wasn't a very good book...i wasn't at all impressed. I think paul zindel could have done much better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Mediocre

    The book was frustrating to read, the supporting cast could have been better, and so could have the main characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15