Customer Reviews for

The Pigman

Average Rating 4
( 302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awsome Book!

i read this book in seventh grade...and everybody in my whole class loved it. This book is so easy to understand(especially if you're a teenager) because since they're kids, you can understand the problems they have and what they do to solve thems with the PIGMAN!

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Horrible!

I love books of all kinds and I love to read, period. But I have to say that this is the worst book I have EVER read. It is poorly written and horribly (not to mention meaninglessly) depressing. I personally don't even think that the average kid can relate to this. This...
I love books of all kinds and I love to read, period. But I have to say that this is the worst book I have EVER read. It is poorly written and horribly (not to mention meaninglessly) depressing. I personally don't even think that the average kid can relate to this. This is a HORRIBLE book.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Mitch and Andrew's review on the pigman

    The Pigman by Paul Zindel should not be recommened for an audience younger than fifteen. A lot of the issues in this book are similar to what a lot of teenagers go through. The two characters John Conlan and Lorriane Jensen face a lot of hardships in school and at home because they are different and do not fit in. As a result of this they do certain things that makes them happy. While making a prank phone call they find themselves in a new friendship with Angelo Pignati. John and Lorraine call him 'the pigman' because he collects pigs. This book can be read by anyone because it teaches you a lot about friendship and maturity.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Pig Man

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Pigman, Paul Zindel
    Title of review: Hunter's book review of the Pigman
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 3

    Introduction
    The main Idea and theme of the story is u should never take advantage of kindness. The author's purpose is to teach people to not take advantage. The thesis is about a man who gets used by two of his good friends.

    Description and summary of main points
    This book is for mostly teenagers. Also the author has experience same thing the book's main idea. I am judging this book from the way the people treat each other. The main points are (we should have not have taken advantage of him like that).

    Evaluation
    The plot is when the two teenagers take advantage of there friend. Mr.Pinati,
    John, Laurane the main characters. I think the theme is not to take advantage of kindness. The style is different from many other books. The setting usually takes place at Mr. Pignatis house. I think this book gets out and teaches u a lesson by what not to do.


    Conclusion
    You should never confuse kindness from weakness. The main idea is to teach people a important lesson in life.

    Your final review

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    It was an average read

    I am an 8th grade student and I think I can speak for my fellow classmates when I explain this review. My thoughts on this book were not that it was astonishing and it certainly was not that it was terrible. It was a very bland average. Not that this book did not keep my intrest it was that the begining was a let down of what the book was really going to be about. My thoughts when i opended the first couple chapters was I might really enjoy this book but by the time they meet Mr. Pignati (a charecter in the story also simply known as the pigman) the book went almost on a downhill. I would not reccomend this book for anyone looking for a fun enjoyable read. I genourosly gave the rating a three star but if this website allowed it I would been satisfied with a two and a half star rating. ALthough I say this book had a bland ending you'll never know untill you read it for yourself therefore i reccomned if you are curious just read it you'll never know it might be an enjoyable book for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    decent

    we had to read this book in advanced literature in eight grade. it wasn't the best book but at least it was better than the other books we were forced to read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    HOW DEPRESSING!!!

    This book was great up until the last chapter. It's a real fun book for teens and has a fun attitude about it. The last chapter though just puts the whole book in flames. The whole plot is very creative. There are two kids named John and Lorraine who are really good friends. They love to play pranks and prank call espesially. One day they call an old lonely old man who loves any company. They grow to be great friends with him and he pretty much gives the kids something to live for. The kids have terrible lives with trouble at home. The end is sooooo bad you can read for yourself = } This book is aimed for teens, and should probly not go any younger than that. Over all this is a fun, happ book until it ends. I think every kid should read this because it teaches a great lesson. Another problem is it doesn't really attack major problems in kids life and is not too inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Alexiss lovess thiss book=]

    This book is very good.It's a teenager book so it made it more interesting to read.I like books that I can place myself into there position. This book sure lets me do it. If you want a book that you can relate to this is one.If youu have a bad lifee then your not the only one because John and Lorainne can help you relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2005

    Enjoyable

    My Engish For Life class is reading this book, and I was not supossed to go ahead, and I did. anyway and found myself enjoying it. This is a high school course for slower and at-risk kids of failing and we only picked out the book because we thought the cover was interesting. It ended up being a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    Okay, but not great

    I read this book in my language arts class. I have to admit I would have never chosen to read this on my own, I like to read, this just isn't the type of book that would interest me if I picked it up. The book had a pretty slow pace and had some areas where I felt like I would never find the end. However, it had a pretty interesting ending and I like how John compares humans to apes. His theory didn't seem completely thought-out, but it definitely did not lack some truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    The Pigman

    I think The Pigman is a great book for readers to really get into. I recommend it for any 9-10 grader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    .:+*BrItTaNy'S ReViEw*+:.

    I think that the book, 'The Pigman', was an excellent book. It was intersting to read and it made me want to read over and over again. I couldn't take my eye's out of the book. I wanted to keep reading and reading. My diggy little eye's could and would not leave the book. I read page after page until the book was completly over. It was by far the best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    So Dissapointed

    The Pigman was a great book in the beggining, middle and end. The only problem was that the 'dark secret' was never revealed. Why is this? There was supposed to be a horrible dark secret. It did not deliver. It was very, very dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    Also a Literature Teacher From Detroit

    This book is ok for starters. Other books to consider if you like this book is hatchet,Pigman,and Gangs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    Pigman fulfills almost all of its promises

    The Pigman is a decent book. The book tells the story of a lonely old man who takes kids into his home and befriends them. The two kids, John and Lorraine, have ridiculous crazy outings, to the zoo, the mall, and many other places. The one problem is that the story promises a dark secret and does not deliver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    in between

    this book had some good parts to it but some of the parts were just boring and the ending was so predictable. it was a definate book that would be read in school that if you had a choice you wouldn't read. i honestly like to read but din't like this book too much. so if you want to read an okay book but not a book that you will stop and say, wow this book is good. pick up the pigman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    The Pigman from the perspective of a Jr. High Student

    Overall, I found this book to be entertaining. I believe because it is written in the perspective of students going through various hardships in life, it is easy for other teenagers and young people to relate to the main characters. Emotions and feelings of characters are well conveyed to the reader. Many are compelled to continue reading to find out resolutions to conflicts that surface throughout the book. However, it was slightly confusing to comprehend what the Pigman's 'big secret' was all about. To me, the pace of the story was a little too fast and some ideas were difficult to pick up. While some may find this book wildly humorous and amusing, others may find it too unconventional and anti-climatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    A good bok

    It has parts in the book that I don`t think average kids could understand at their reading level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    Review of the Pigman

    I enjoyed the book, but Zindel could have been faster in getting to the point. I would recommend this book if you like to read stories about people in real situations. Although a nice book, it could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    My thoughts about THE PIGMAN

    I read this book for my english class and thought it was not a great book, but it was okay. Some of the things said by the characters in it I believed to be innapropriate for my age group. Also, I thought the book was pretty boring. The book's good points, however, were the way the author told the story, by switching from two different characters points of view. The ending was sad but well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2000

    A good book to read.

    Two kids were playing a marathon game on the phone, and the one girl picked Mr. Pignati out of the phone book. As she was talking to him on the phone, she finds out he a very lonely man that likes to talk to anyone when he gets the chance to. He invited her and her friend over and shows them his collection that he dears so much for. The only thing is, this collection is not a collection anyone would expect it to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2