Customer Reviews for

Pigs in Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly appealed to my tastes.

Pigs in Heaven is a book I was really not looking forward to read at all. I chose it for the theme, and going into this I was dreading reading it, as there's nothing worse than having to read a really bad book, but I came out of it with a book that I can definitely call...
Pigs in Heaven is a book I was really not looking forward to read at all. I chose it for the theme, and going into this I was dreading reading it, as there's nothing worse than having to read a really bad book, but I came out of it with a book that I can definitely call one of my favourites now.
The real story begins with Taylor Greer on a sort of soul searching trip with her adoptive daughter, Turtle, a six year old girl Taylor was just handed three years earlier. They visit the Hoover Dam, and Turtle witnesses a near death, which lands them in the public eye for saving a man's life. It brings attention to Turtle's heritage, a void adoption, and a sudden battle to sort a girl into one of two cultures under what each think her best interests would be. Along the way, they meet strange characters, both for their gain and detriment, and the story not only follows them but a variety of characters all centered around the same plot. The relationships of every individual character that Kingsolver rotates through each chapter, and the development of their lives in relation to each other, highlights the actuality of personality in comparison to one's perception of themselves and the continuous segregation of culture and races in modern times.
I can't really think of anything I didn't like about the book. The voice was really well executed, and the story line unlike anything I've read before. Somewhat educational, and research was obviously done to write the novel. One should read this book not for any particular reason than to read. It could aid in perhaps gaining a better understanding of modern segregation, but it's no history lesson.
And although I tend to gravitate towards the 'New Science Fiction' section of the bookstores I frequent, there is a timeless quality that some books seem to have, this included, where you're not focusing on how it shallowly relates to your own life. You just read it.

posted by EmiliaBartelheim on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Annoying and Somewhat Boring Book.

Possible Spoilers.
This book is definitely not the worst book out there. It has a lot of great description and characters and in all honesty at points it gets pretty interesting. However, the outcome of the book and the entire premise annoyed me to no end. The entire c...
Possible Spoilers.
This book is definitely not the worst book out there. It has a lot of great description and characters and in all honesty at points it gets pretty interesting. However, the outcome of the book and the entire premise annoyed me to no end. The entire custody battle was annoying mostly because I felt more sympathy towards Taylor than Annawake, probably with the way things were presented between the two. The ending was far too disappointing for my taste as a result.
Barbara Kingslover's writing is fine. It is beautiful and nobody can argue that. However, at one point when you're being told all the flowers in a field someone is passing by, you get really bored. I know I did. The over enthusiastic description is unnecessary a lot of the time. If you are one of those people that likes fast-paced storylines or a story with more dialogue than description, this is certainly not a book for you.
Overall, it was not a great book. If I didn't have to read it for school I would have stopped reading it within the first cumbersome chapter. The story drags on and the long paragraph descriptions make you wonder how anyone could get through this book in the first place.

posted by 9537623 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly appealed to my tastes.

    Pigs in Heaven is a book I was really not looking forward to read at all. I chose it for the theme, and going into this I was dreading reading it, as there's nothing worse than having to read a really bad book, but I came out of it with a book that I can definitely call one of my favourites now.
    The real story begins with Taylor Greer on a sort of soul searching trip with her adoptive daughter, Turtle, a six year old girl Taylor was just handed three years earlier. They visit the Hoover Dam, and Turtle witnesses a near death, which lands them in the public eye for saving a man's life. It brings attention to Turtle's heritage, a void adoption, and a sudden battle to sort a girl into one of two cultures under what each think her best interests would be. Along the way, they meet strange characters, both for their gain and detriment, and the story not only follows them but a variety of characters all centered around the same plot. The relationships of every individual character that Kingsolver rotates through each chapter, and the development of their lives in relation to each other, highlights the actuality of personality in comparison to one's perception of themselves and the continuous segregation of culture and races in modern times.
    I can't really think of anything I didn't like about the book. The voice was really well executed, and the story line unlike anything I've read before. Somewhat educational, and research was obviously done to write the novel. One should read this book not for any particular reason than to read. It could aid in perhaps gaining a better understanding of modern segregation, but it's no history lesson.
    And although I tend to gravitate towards the 'New Science Fiction' section of the bookstores I frequent, there is a timeless quality that some books seem to have, this included, where you're not focusing on how it shallowly relates to your own life. You just read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Mithos thinking

    Sits on a rock and thinks about Silence and Jag but mostly Silence. He lets goid memories xome flooding back. He smikes when he thinks about when he restored sight to her.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    An Annoying and Somewhat Boring Book.

    Possible Spoilers.
    This book is definitely not the worst book out there. It has a lot of great description and characters and in all honesty at points it gets pretty interesting. However, the outcome of the book and the entire premise annoyed me to no end. The entire custody battle was annoying mostly because I felt more sympathy towards Taylor than Annawake, probably with the way things were presented between the two. The ending was far too disappointing for my taste as a result.
    Barbara Kingslover's writing is fine. It is beautiful and nobody can argue that. However, at one point when you're being told all the flowers in a field someone is passing by, you get really bored. I know I did. The over enthusiastic description is unnecessary a lot of the time. If you are one of those people that likes fast-paced storylines or a story with more dialogue than description, this is certainly not a book for you.
    Overall, it was not a great book. If I didn't have to read it for school I would have stopped reading it within the first cumbersome chapter. The story drags on and the long paragraph descriptions make you wonder how anyone could get through this book in the first place.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Great book

    Loved this book as much as I did Bean Trees!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Pigs Really Can Fly in Kingsolver's world!

    Kingsolver weaves the characters into a story that is unforgetable, building on culture of the localities involved. Great reading for pleasure and learning about differences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More Turtle, Please!

    What a wonderful follow-up to The Bean Trees! With Turtle finally settled with her "adoptive" mom, Taylor, officials from the Cherokee nation threaten her security. Taylor flees Tuscon, trying to make a safe home for Turtle, but she cannot run away from her sense of responsibility for Turtle's heritage. While swept away in this wonderful novel, I also found myself learning things about the history of Native Americans, and the horrible treatment they received from the white culture. An amazing book that I wanted to go on and on. Any chance of a sequel?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    The story of Taylor and Turtle continues but it doesn't feel the same this go round. Not a bad book just not as good as the first... Sorry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    This is a really good book to read.

    I think this is a really good story for people who usually don't read. Its easy to follow the more you get into it. It's kind of sad at first and then at the end it all comes together to be a really good novel. I don't really read much but I couldn't put this book down. It had intresting characters in the story that you become to like because of how they handle certain situations. This is a really good book to read if you like to know a little about the Cherokee culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Great

    This book was much better than the first book 'The Bean Tree' it has drama, action and keeps your interest page after page. Barbara Kingslover did a wonderful job.This is a must read book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    Loved it!

    This is the second book I have read by Barbara Kingsolver, choosing it because I liked the other one. I was not disappointed. Although at times the story is almost...I say ALMOST...unbelievable, it was an amazing read. She is a master story-teller. Read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    One of my faves

    I loved this book. It is preceded by "The Bean Trees" and continues the saga of a Native American baby adopted by a well meaning but down on her luck white woman. In this story, inter racial and inter cultural issues are raised on the one hand while on the other it is a heartfelt story of loving relationships. I only wish Ms Kingsolver had continued the story of Turtle in yet a third novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Ccccccccocoa::):):):):)

    Me toooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!@#$%&*-+(!"':;/,):):):):):):)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Crystal

    I AM very please that the other took out so much time to write this book my favorite part was when lidia was LOCKED OUT OF the dungan because the pig took the keys and ran away ALL BOOKS should be just like this one SOME ONE HELP ME

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    To anno

    I kessage d u

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Haliey

    Hi

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great story.

    This is one of those great struggles of right, wrong, and what is best for a person. Turtle the young girl who was illegally adopted is an Indian. The tribe has a great responsibility to this child who was adopted by a white woman. Her new Mom is a great Mom. The struggle is when an Indian attorney discovers the mistake. The dilemma of right and wrong pulls every reader in different directions. It's a great story of quirky people trying to do what is right, but so heartbreaking you can hardly put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh

    It was kind of boring and there were entire paragraphs that I skipped. It was redeemed though by the ecentric characters and the parts that made me laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Wonderful Read

    After having read The Bean Tree I couldn't wait to read this book! It brings Taylor and Turtle closer as they share their relationship with Jax, Taylor's devoted boyfriend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Pigs in Heaven

    Pigs in Heaven is a story of hope, love and inspiration. Taylor Greer, a devoted mother, lives in Tucson, AZ and raises an adopted child, Turtle. While visiting the Hoover Dam, Turtle sees someone struggling in the water below. Their heroic efforts to save the man bring them national attention (an appearance on a popular talk show) and unwanted questions about Turtle¿s adoption status. Annawake Fourkiller, a Cherokee lawyer, immediately recognizes the heritage of Turtle, and suspects her adoption was done illegally. ICWA requires tribal approval for adoptions to non-tribal members. This did not happen in Turtle¿s case. Because of this investigation, Taylor goes on the run with Turtle to Seattle and ultimately to a nearby Native American community. There are many numerous and touching events on their journey. This story is based on the life of a loving mother who goes to extreme measures to keep from being separated from her adopted daughter, who she views as her own. After reading this book, I felt like I knew the characters personally and was concerned about their well-being. I formed a bond with Taylor and supported her actions as a mother. This novel is an emotional and heartfelt story of the cultural differences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    A compelling yet uninspiring read

    Although I have not yet read the prequel to Pigs in Heaven, Kingsolver's novel was very easily to get into and understand. I find Kingsolver's writing style amusing and mildly entertaining but tiresome; her constantly humorous tone gets to be quite boring. Nevertheless, there were several moments when I nearly cried, for example, when Taylor steps into Anna Fourkiller's office. I thought Fourkiller would force Taylor to give up her daughter. In addition, upon finishing the novel, I was not left with some sort of meaningful conclusion. The story simply ends. There is no deeper significance or moral to this fiction. No Aha! The last few chapters also seemed as if Kingsolver changed her mind about the ending. One minute Alice and Cash's relationship was progressing quickly and marriage might soon take place and Taylor would be allowed full custody of Turtle, and in the next moment, Alice and Cash couldn't stand to be around each other. Possibly Kingsolver did this intentionally to highlight the dynamics of the relationship and the difference with Alice's monotone past marriages, however, this was not clear. Altogether, I recommend this book. I could not put in down while I was reading it, despite its continually amusing tone. Kingsolver is a highly talented writer and has the ability to capture her audience's attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4