Customer Reviews for

The Pilgrims of Rayne (Pendragon Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jeremey for TeensReadToo.com

    Bobby Pendragon's next territory in Halla is called Ibara. Ibara is a tropical paradise. It's sunny, warm, colorful, and the perfect place to go on vacation. <BR/><BR/>Seeing as this is Saint Dane's next targeted territory, Bobby figures there's more to this utopia than meets the eye. <BR/><BR/>After conversing with the Ibara inhabitants, Bobby realizes that everyone is very happy with the way they live, but later finds out that if you do not go by what the government (aka the tribunal) rules, you and your family will disappear. <BR/><BR/>There is a secret in Ibara that the leaders are not telling everyone. A secret that involves Ibara's past, other territories, and an opportunity for Saint Dane to conquer another territory. <BR/><BR/>While Bobby faces troubles his acolytes, Courtney and Mark, read his journals intently. When Mark's parents die in a plane accident, he disappears, leaving Courtney to wonder where he went. Uncovering clues to Mark's whereabouts, Courtney is faced with two realities. One- Mark is being manipulated by Saint Dane. And two- Mark has created a new technology that could compromise all of Halla. <BR/><BR/>Being the eighth book in a series of ten, I knew this installment would turn everything up a notch. It does not disappoint! This book has twists that will make you hold your eyes open in the dead of night and say, "One more chapter!"

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    The Pilgrims of Rayne by D.J. Machale has turned out to be my fa

    The Pilgrims of Rayne by D.J. Machale has turned out to be my favorite book in my favorite series! When reading this book I felt that every page was another adventure. This book is called fantasy. It should be adventure, mystery, humorous, and fantasy!  
    In this book the main character, Bobby Pendragon, is going between the territories of Halla to stop a person who wants all of the territories to go into complete chaos.  Halla is everything there is or ever will be.  The territories are different planets in Halla.  This time Bobbie’s adventures bring him to the territory of Rayne.  In this territory there is a peaceful village that is ruled by three people.  There is also a group of kids who think that the three people are keeping secrets from them.  In the rest of the book you figure out the secrets and find out about an outlaw group called Flighters.
    My favorite type of book is magic and adventure and this book is the definition of that!  This book has kept me up for hours at night reading.  The author has done a great job, I am reading the last book in the series and the end can’t come soon enough!  It gave me the feeling that I was there battling with Bobby every step of his adventure.  
    This book was amazing for me. Those of you who like adventure and fiction would love this book just as I have, and be prepared for a wild ride. This is not the only book in the Pendragon series.  There are (that I know of) nine others just as amazing books in this series!   Also I think that this book is like Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series! But to enjoy this book to the fullest you have to be at least 10 to get some of the jokes and words. But if you do fit these specifications you would love The Pilgrims of Rayne.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Great

    Very good and surprising

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Love theese books

    I can't put them down I love them sooo much!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pendragon Book Eight: Pilgrims of Rayne

    This is one of the book that I read from the Pendragon series. This book is a good book to read for fun. I would recommend this book to a freind. The book has a lot of chapters, also leaves you wanting more, and its also makes you think that it should be turned into a movie like the Harry Potter series which is made into movies. I would like to read all of the books of the Pendragon series from book one to book ten.
    First of all this book has a lot of chapters which makes it a fair book because it is also a small book unlike the Harry Potter series. The book mostly faces around more characters and their adventure. The main character is Pendragon and he meets many people along his adventure. The whole chapter revolves back and fourth from one of the character's adventure to the next character. That is the reason why the chapters are long and might see only one chapter has the same character and their adventure.
    After you finish one of the book of the Pendragon series hopefully not book ten which happens to be the last book, you will want to continue to read to see what happens, and how the story continues. There are ten books in total and each book is different which is how it makes someone someone want to read some of the books to all of the books in the series. I am also experiencing the same thing but I have to read other books to complete assignments over the summer. Hopefully you have the same thing but with others books or things. I am waiting for book nine and ten, because I read the eighth book and it was really a big turn in the entire story.
    Finally this series is a good series because its long and fascinating. Just like the Harry Potter series it was fascinating and long, and that was one of the thing that readers might have enjoyed from it, which could have also been the reason it was turned into a movie. If this was actually turned into a movie it would be a good movie to see like the Harry Potter series. If you like this book you should read other books by D.J. MacHale.
    In other words, this book is a good book to read. This book is long unlike short books which to me I don't enjoy becuase you can read them and finish the book withing a few hours and feel left out of what you just read. Also, if you read the first book of the series you will want to read the rest and see how the heroes save Halla and help the Travelers in other territories. It would be amazing to turn the series into a movie and it will be a good, exciting, and thrilling movie. You should try the books in the recommendation, and try other books by D.J. Machale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    Book Review

    Short Summary
    In the eight book of the Pendragon Bobby follows Saint Dane to Ibara to stop the turning point from going the wrong way. Right off the bat he was a criminal because this peaceful tropical island didn't allow outsiders. As time went by he began to learn that the tribunal was keeping the past of the island a secret as well as what could possibly be beyond their island. Bobby joins the Jakills, a group o rebels, and they go on a mission to explore what could be in the open sea. To do this they stole a ship and then sailed into the open towards land that they knew about from a map. During all this Bobby finds out that he is actually on the world of Veelox hundreds of years in the future. When they came to land Bobby told them that they were actually at Rubic City. While there, Bobby discovers an army of dados and Saint Dane's plot to destroy the pilgrimage, the people of Ibara were going to repopulate Veelox. Bobby and his friend, Siry, returned too late and could not stop the dadas from destroying the rest of the ships that set sail for the rest of Veelox. However, Bobby mixed the territories to stop Saint Dane and his army from completely wiping out the people on the island. Bobby and the people on Ibara won but it could have cost Bobby Halla because by uncovering the tak once more, the people of Denduron could go back to war. To add to this, Bobby destroyed the flume on Ibara so that Saint Dane and him could be able to finish their fight once and for all. However, at the very end the reader finds out that Bobby has once again done everything that Saint Dane wanted him to do.

    Literary Devices
    One of the literary devices that MacHale uses in his book is dramatic irony. He uses this at the very end to inform his readers to show that Bobby made a colossal mistake when he mixed the territories. Another device the author is repetition when he constantly tells Courtney, throughout the book, to "find Mark" and stop him from introducing his Forge technology to First Earth. This displays the urgency of which this task must be completed. The repetition also makes the reader remember what the author is trying to get across or say. MacHale also uses situational irony is his book to make the story more interesting with a shocking and ironic truth that one would not expect. This is displayed when the reader, as well as Bobby, finds out that the world/territory of Ibara is actually the future of Veelox, a territory that Bobby had lost on earlier.

    Best Part of the Book
    The best part of the book was when Bobby goes to the different territories to collect different tools that he will use in the upcoming battle with Saint Dane and his dados. This part made me feel like Bobby had a chance now and was going to beat the dados and win Ibara and hopefully Halla. I think that this part was the most exciting part and it kept me reading until I found out what territory Bobby would go to next and what he take from there to use against Saint Dane's army.

    Worst Part of the Book
    The worst part of the book was the very end when the readers find out that everything Bobby has done has played right into Saint Dane's hands. This part is not the worst because of how it was written but actually because it provoked depressing feeling and sadness in the reader. MacHale makes it seem as if the war for Halla is finally over and that Bobby has won when in reality he might have just lost it. MacHale builds on the feelings of victory and then s

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    blackhole23

    Lets just say that if you been reading the series that Halla is not far from you know what.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    Pendragon books a must

    Guilty, I'm in the middle of this book right now but I just have to gush about books 1-7 as well as this one. Yes, these books are written for a younger audience, but so was Harry Potter and that has captured the imaginations of adults as well as the target audience. The great thing about MacHale's books is that the fact it's been written in first person (the majority of the book) The style allows the readers to travel alongside Bobby. Bobby Pendragon is also a relatable character. Granted I've never gone through what he has to but I find myself wondering if I could do what he's destined to do. And of course there are the teenage issues that Bobby can't escape, no matter what world he's on. We were all teenagers once so the older readers know where Bobby's coming from. These books are also a puzzle. Not only do you get the chance to learn and figure out Saint Dane's plan throughout each book, finding out information as Bobby does, but you have to try and solve the overall puzzle that is all the books. That is Halla, as Bobby would tell you. It keeps the reader involved from page one of book one to the last page of the last book, when all the pieces fall into place. I guess you could say you become Mark or Courtney through reading the books,'journals' biting your nails with the both of them. It's an original way of protraying a story and the good guy doesn't always win, or play by the rules. It's definatly a must for any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    That ending though

    Everything aout the ending is amazing. Saint Dane is the awesomest character in the entire series. You can hate me now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    TV SERIES MAKE IT A TV SERIES

    IF WE MADE THEM INTO MOVIED THAT WOULD RUUN THEM!! A TV SERIES WOULD BE SIOO MUCH MORE AMAZING!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Pendragon Movies!!!!!!

    This series should TOTALLY be made into a movie! It's such an awesome series. I would love to see what these books would look like on the big screen. The only problem is that the movies always have a few errors or things different from the book in them... but other than that, PENDRAGON MOVIES FTW!!! Omg I would so watch every single one of them. I think that they should make Pendragon movies because the series is very popular and who doesn't want to see all their favorite characters come to life? I hope that they decide to make Pendragon movies because that would be so awesome. I LOVE PENDRAGON!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Awesome!

    Totally. Awesome. 8th book in one of the best series ever! I highly reccomend it to anyone who likes Aja Killian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Oh my gosh

    Read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Urgent

    Hazelstar is locked out. Go to journey result one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Shadowclaw

    Comes in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Dovefrost

    Gtg t church bbl.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Awsomeainator

    Pretty sweet this is the 8th book I've read so far so make sure to read this!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Great Book

    Ive been reading for years and like this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Awesomeness

    Love love love this. Cant stop reading this amazing book series <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Wow!!!!!!!!

    Has a great twist!! I love these books.

    -Lacrosse Girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11