Customer Reviews for

The Pill Book (15th Edition): New and Revised 15th Edition

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One easy pill to swallow !!

Believe me when I say that this book is very easy to digest. It is exactly what the title infers- a big book that explains just about every pill you can imagine (and it is a pretty thick book indeed). A poor man's PDR, but just as useful, I recommend it to anybody that ...
Believe me when I say that this book is very easy to digest. It is exactly what the title infers- a big book that explains just about every pill you can imagine (and it is a pretty thick book indeed). A poor man's PDR, but just as useful, I recommend it to anybody that wants a good reference for medications.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Pill Book (13th Edition) by Harold M. Silverman

If you are looking for a quick reference guide to the most common drugs and pills on the market today, The Pill Book (13th Edition) by Harold M. Silverman is the book for you. While certainly less comprehensive (and less expensive) than a Physicians' Desk Reference Guid...
If you are looking for a quick reference guide to the most common drugs and pills on the market today, The Pill Book (13th Edition) by Harold M. Silverman is the book for you. While certainly less comprehensive (and less expensive) than a Physicians' Desk Reference Guide, it does give the names, types of drugs, general information, warnings, dosages, and drug interactions for the most commonly prescribed drugs on the market in the United States, as well as what conditions these drugs are prescribed for. It comes in a matter-of-fact format and is easy for the average layperson to use.

posted by RARogers on September 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    One easy pill to swallow !!

    Believe me when I say that this book is very easy to digest. It is exactly what the title infers- a big book that explains just about every pill you can imagine (and it is a pretty thick book indeed). A poor man's PDR, but just as useful, I recommend it to anybody that wants a good reference for medications.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    The Pill Book

    I have found this is a good refernence book for anyone on medications.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    The Package Inserts Don't Do It For Me . . .

    when I get a prescription. They don't say much about drug interactions, or what to do when I've missed a dose. They often assume I know technical jargon like 'MAO Inhibitor' or 'Tricyclic Antidepressant'. Clearly they were written by scientists for--well, not for scientists but probably for the drug companies and pharmacists to relieve themselves of liability in case of misuse. Do yourself a favor and get ahold of the pill-takers' 'Bible'--this one truly is. Any family that gets more than one prescription filled a year can benefit from THE PILL BOOK. This book does its best to describe, thoroughly and patiently, the ins and outs of every prescription drug in America, what the drug is meant to do, the side effects, interactions, who should not be taking it, whether generics are available, what to do if abused, if you miss a dose, and so on. There are even color plates of the most widely prescribed drugs. Who knows? This book might even save your life; it certainly has saved me money and time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Everyone should have this book!

    This is the one book that every household should have. With the fast & continuous introduction of new drugs to the market this book lets you know exactly what you are taking.
    Informative and in layman's terms this book is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2002

    FANTASTIC Reference Material

    I have been using the Pillbook through several editions. I first began reading the book, and using it religiously, when I lived in Connecticut in 1987. My (then) husband was given a prescription for some type of medication (I can't remember the name of it right this minute, and hesitate to use what I think it is, in case I didn't remember correctly). However, it was prescribed for him after he had herniated a disc in his lower back, (and I'm sure workers comp wanted him back to work quickly)and we filled the prescription, and I picked up or already had in my possession a copy of The Pillbook. I was extremely surprised to read, that the extremely educated and good doctors of the Hartford area, did not inform my husband that if he abruptly stopped taking this drug that he might have a heart attack. Needless to say, he decided that it wasn't in his best interest to use this medication, as he is not in the habit of using any medication unless it is absolutely necessary, and much like myself, would stop taking the medication when the pain wasn't bad enough to need anything more than a Tylenol or an Advil. On more than several occasions, I have found this book extremely helpful when being prescribed this drug or that drug, and asking the doctor if this other drug might not do the same thing for me, without either the side-effects or dangers involved... to find out that yes the other medication would do the same thing. My household would not be without a copy of The Pillbook sitting patiently on a shelf, waiting for me to pick it up and use it once again. (Don't laugh, but sometimes I read it just for fun). There was also another book I owned back in 1987 that I found extremely helpful as well. It was some type of medical dictionary, and it again was in layman's terms that was understandable when read. I found it quite helpful in some diagnoses as well. I wish that I could find it once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    Execellent Reference

    This book provides the consumer with a detailed explanation of the drugs that have been perscribed to them, while keeping the terminology simple enough for everyone to understand. There is also a visual reference to help you ensure you are taking the correct medications. I would strongly suggest this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK

    It has all the newest medications and it gives you the symptons and it's purpose. It is compact so you don't have to carry around a bulky medicine book. You can easily take it anywhere. I love this book and it gives me everything I need to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1