Customer Reviews for

Pill Head: The Secret Life of a Painkiller Addict

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

.

Am i the only person that know plenty of people that take painkillers and DONT spiral out of control and end up in rehab? Maybe its because no one i know can afford the kind of habits desribed in this book. Where are the stories about people that take the same dosage ev...
Am i the only person that know plenty of people that take painkillers and DONT spiral out of control and end up in rehab? Maybe its because no one i know can afford the kind of habits desribed in this book. Where are the stories about people that take the same dosage every day, and have been doing so for years? Not everyone who take pills is an addict eating there way through hundreds dollars of meds every couple of days. I'm sick of every single drug story that comes out not mentioning the thousands of people that function just fine, control their intake just fine and manage to lead their lives without turning into crazy drug addled.losers just fine. Where is the book about that? I'm sick of getting lumped into the same catagory as drug addicts when i've been taking the same amount of pain pills for 5 or 6 years. I don't escalate. I don't have health insurance so no dr regulates my dosage. I take control of my life and do that for myslef. I know plenty of folks just like me too. Where are our stories and books? It is infuriating.

posted by 10808155 on August 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

After reading Pill Head by Joshua Lyon it really opened to my ey

After reading Pill Head by Joshua Lyon it really opened to my eyes to how much our society abuses pharmaceuticals and other drugs. This book is about a gay man living in New York who has an addiction to pain killers and later on has to go to rehab. But not only was he ...
After reading Pill Head by Joshua Lyon it really opened to my eyes to how much our society abuses pharmaceuticals and other drugs. This book is about a gay man living in New York who has an addiction to pain killers and later on has to go to rehab. But not only was he addicted to pain killers so were every single one of his friends and they all end up going through a hard time and end up in rehab. This book shows a lot about an addict’s life and that eventually one day the addict will have to stop whether it’d their choice or not. Even though the book gives a lot of detail on how to buy pharmaceuticals and what it’s like to be high when on them; it gives a great message on how addictive pain killers are and if someone has an addiction to try and help them because they are probably going through something rough and need help. I like how this book went into detail about the different types of drugs and what they do to your body because before reading this book I had no idea on why painkillers are so addictive. I didn’t like how the author talked more about his friend’s stories than his own and I wish he told more as to how he felt after rehab and how pain full going through detox was. I believe if someone is interested in learning about painkillers than they should read this book but if someone who is or was addicted to painkillers shouldn’t read this book because it kind of brags about how good painkillers are and could potentially make someone crave them. Overall I probably wouldn’t recommend this book because it was all about the addict’s life and I was looking for a book based on one addict. This book was still an easy read and had excellent messages and themes in it.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    After reading Pill Head by Joshua Lyon it really opened to my ey

    After reading Pill Head by Joshua Lyon it really opened to my eyes to how much our society abuses pharmaceuticals and other drugs. This book is about a gay man living in New York who has an addiction to pain killers and later on has to go to rehab. But not only was he addicted to pain killers so were every single one of his friends and they all end up going through a hard time and end up in rehab. This book shows a lot about an addict’s life and that eventually one day the addict will have to stop whether it’d their choice or not. Even though the book gives a lot of detail on how to buy pharmaceuticals and what it’s like to be high when on them; it gives a great message on how addictive pain killers are and if someone has an addiction to try and help them because they are probably going through something rough and need help. I like how this book went into detail about the different types of drugs and what they do to your body because before reading this book I had no idea on why painkillers are so addictive. I didn’t like how the author talked more about his friend’s stories than his own and I wish he told more as to how he felt after rehab and how pain full going through detox was. I believe if someone is interested in learning about painkillers than they should read this book but if someone who is or was addicted to painkillers shouldn’t read this book because it kind of brags about how good painkillers are and could potentially make someone crave them. Overall I probably wouldn’t recommend this book because it was all about the addict’s life and I was looking for a book based on one addict. This book was still an easy read and had excellent messages and themes in it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    .

    Am i the only person that know plenty of people that take painkillers and DONT spiral out of control and end up in rehab? Maybe its because no one i know can afford the kind of habits desribed in this book. Where are the stories about people that take the same dosage every day, and have been doing so for years? Not everyone who take pills is an addict eating there way through hundreds dollars of meds every couple of days. I'm sick of every single drug story that comes out not mentioning the thousands of people that function just fine, control their intake just fine and manage to lead their lives without turning into crazy drug addled.losers just fine. Where is the book about that? I'm sick of getting lumped into the same catagory as drug addicts when i've been taking the same amount of pain pills for 5 or 6 years. I don't escalate. I don't have health insurance so no dr regulates my dosage. I take control of my life and do that for myslef. I know plenty of folks just like me too. Where are our stories and books? It is infuriating.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Fast read

    I enjoyed the book and it was a fast read. I have always been fascinated with addictions and drugs and i thought i was pretty saavy on the subject. I learned alot more through this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    A must read

    Couldn't put this book down for a secind time!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great and exciting read.

    Joshua Lyon portrayed his own personal trip through drug abuse very descriptively. After the first few pages, the story gets more intense and exciting. You will love and feel for Joshua at the end. I definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    THe Andimal24

    Pill Head the Secret Life of a Pain Killer by: Joshua Lyon

    Pill head is about a young man addicted to Opiates. Opiates are in the form of OxyContin, Vicodin, Percocet, and Percodan, among others, are America’s fastest growing addiction, according to some experts. In Joshua Lyon’s case, he was addicted to Vicodin. Joshua experimented with drugs such as weed, coke, and acid in high school. Once he got to college, Josh was introduced to Vicodin. It soon became his new fix and seemed to capture Josh like a trap. Josh went into a spiraling downfall and did not know what to do or who to look to for help. When taking Opiates tolerance builds up, meaning the person needs to take more of the pills and more often, just to approximate the high that used to be achieved on much lesser dose or frequency. Josh was consuming too much pills at a high rate, which made him crave them supplementary. I really enjoyed this book because it was graphic, eye opening, and comprehensible about the effects painkillers can have on a person. I believe other people should read this book because it shows how fast a person’s life can change because of addiction. It also shows the dark side of taking a drug so often. Josh claimed he did not like life many of the days and debated taking his own life because of it. I also liked how he explained his recovery process and how terrible it was. Lyon himself admits that he still thinks about taking pills every day. Still, he takes it one day at a time. Moreover, in the end, isn’t that what every person in recovery strives to do? Just today, do what we need to do to remain abstinent. Do not worry about tomorrow or anguish over the past. Just keep moving forward as best we can here in the present. Overall, I gave this book a four because it taught me a lot about pain addiction and it was interesting reading about his struggles and how he had to overcome them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Should be taken SERIOUS!!!

    As someone who was badly hooked on all manners of painkillers I was so shocked at how accurate the writters description of the high was! Wow... this truly is one of my peers. Having a pinched nerve in my elbow ended up resulting in years of replacement therapy. It was a success from the 1st try but I'm sure I'm one of the lucky few. Read this and pass the word along to anyone who has half a chance of being affected by this epidemic!!!! It's as serious as heroin folks!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    totally what should have: moons ago

    How refreshing to hear the truth and not babble!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    College Thesis

    This book felt more like I was reading a college paper than a book. It was very informative, almost too informative. I was more concerned with the personal account of the people involved, rather than the science and history behind pain killers. Maybe that's my problem, but for the most, it just wasn't my favorite book. Oddly enough, it made me want to try pill popping myself... uh oh! :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Good but Sad

    I read this book for personal reasons. I have a family member dealing with addition to pain killers. The writer of this book is about the same age and has close to the same schooling. I just wanted to see if this book would shed some light on the mind frame my family member is at. I have to say it did. As I read the book I inserted my family in place of the characters. It made me understand that the addiction is bigger than all of us. I cannot help him until he helps himself. The book left me with some hopelessness for the situation. Even though some of his friends got clean the pull of the drugs never go away. Even after reading I felt that most likely the writer is still not clean yet. It boils down this, painkillers distort the individuals mind so they cannot cope in the real world without them. Why would you want to when you have a pill that makes you feel invinsible. How do you stop after knowing the feeling you get on them. Like my family member aae



    said, once you break the seal its hard to not know. He says he wishes he never started so he would never know how it feels in the first place. How does anyone compete with that. I liked the book because it was real. Even though I walked away feeling like my chances of helping him are not good, at least I know his only chance has to come from him now. Its scary to think it may never happen. Thats what this book taught me.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2