Customer Reviews for

The Pillars of Creation (Sword of Truth Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book is the balance to Faith of the Fallen

The problem with this book and why so many people are disappointed with it is because Faith of the Fallen was so amazingly good and truly epic that any other book that comes after is going to be held to that standard and ultimately going to fall short.

This book is a...
The problem with this book and why so many people are disappointed with it is because Faith of the Fallen was so amazingly good and truly epic that any other book that comes after is going to be held to that standard and ultimately going to fall short.

This book is a neccessary evil in the series and truly is the balance to the last book. It really makes me wonder if he did it on purpose this way, I honestly wouldn't be surprised. Introducing a whole new set of characters after the last book was a gutsy move and after reading pillars It's easy to see that this story was neccessary to be told in order to build up the rest of the series.

I admit that this one was a slow read for me because lets face it after faith ...yea...this was slow going, BUT im glad that I pushed through and read it because the ending was worth it although it took awhile to get there.

posted by Sliph on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind Big Mistake

Trust me i love terry goodkinds books but this is a huge mistake. i mean richard and kahlan only appear in the last couple of chapters. not only that but the main character in the book is an obnoxious girl that needs to be slapped around a little. seriously what was goi...
Trust me i love terry goodkinds books but this is a huge mistake. i mean richard and kahlan only appear in the last couple of chapters. not only that but the main character in the book is an obnoxious girl that needs to be slapped around a little. seriously what was going through his mind!?!?!?!?!?

posted by 6782852 on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 365 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is the balance to Faith of the Fallen

    The problem with this book and why so many people are disappointed with it is because Faith of the Fallen was so amazingly good and truly epic that any other book that comes after is going to be held to that standard and ultimately going to fall short.

    This book is a neccessary evil in the series and truly is the balance to the last book. It really makes me wonder if he did it on purpose this way, I honestly wouldn't be surprised. Introducing a whole new set of characters after the last book was a gutsy move and after reading pillars It's easy to see that this story was neccessary to be told in order to build up the rest of the series.

    I admit that this one was a slow read for me because lets face it after faith ...yea...this was slow going, BUT im glad that I pushed through and read it because the ending was worth it although it took awhile to get there.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Kept me Interested!

    I was pleased the way Mr. Goodkind found new characters and new twists to keep the storyline fresh and interesting. The story within a story is well done and well written; although not very well edited. I have been very disappointed in the last 3 books with the misspelled words, bad punctuation and grammatical mistakes. It makes it quite difficult sometimes to follow the thought/s of the characters when words are not used to properly convey the the story. That being said - I would (and have) highly recommend this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Terry Goodkind Big Mistake

    Trust me i love terry goodkinds books but this is a huge mistake. i mean richard and kahlan only appear in the last couple of chapters. not only that but the main character in the book is an obnoxious girl that needs to be slapped around a little. seriously what was going through his mind!?!?!?!?!?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the Sword of Truth Series!

    I have really enjoyed reading this series. It has adventure, thrill, excitement, romance, political and moral lessons, drama ... a little of everything. The characters are developed extremely well and are multi-faceted. The storyline is original, exciting, and very interesting. Quotes and lessons from this series are very thought provoking and pertain to all times. The only con to the series is these books could have used more editing as they get somewhat wordy and repetitive - each book has many sections that explain what happened in previous books - again. I found myself skimming past those paragraphs and pages. Overall, they are very well written, and I find myself easily drawn into their world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A worthy addition to the series

    Looking over prior user reviews, it strikes one that this book's naysayers have either: 1-generic, unsupported complaints of dullness or faulty logic, or 2-so much of a lack of imagination that they can't stand a book that doesn't solely focus on the series' two main protagonists.
    The truth is that this tale has everything that makes for a rousing fantasy adventure. An interesting spin on the typical hero's quest, constant looming danger and the threat of imminent death, a likable, sympathetic, yet real-enough-to-sometimes-get-on-your-nerves protagonist, and some truly foul villainy.
    Now I will grant that after spending so long focusing strictly on Richard and Kahlan, it could seem a bit awkward to so suddenly and drastically shift gears. One could argue that this book would have made more sense had it been placed earlier in the series, and not so far removed from the first introduction of one of Richard's siblings. On the other hand, I for one had been waiting in rapt anticipation to see if Mr. Goodkind would see fit to include more of Darken Rahl's unwanted offspring, and so approached this tale as something of a breath of fresh air.
    I mean seriously, if someone has enjoyed the series enough to continue reading it up to this point, clearly the most logical response is to have an utter lapse in reasoning and lose all faith in the author, refusing to believe that he might actually know what he's doing, right? (/sarcasm)
    Anyway, Pillars of Creation is fully capable of standing on it's own merit, introduces a fun new character into the series roster, and has left me simply itching to dig into book 8 as soon as possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book, a lot of people were pissed cause Richard and Kahl

    Awesome book, a lot of people were pissed cause Richard and Kahlan wasn't in it but for the last couple of chapters but I was happy to have some new Characters to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Great Series, OK Book

    I love the entire Sword of Truth series, but this book, on it's own, is rather weak. I'm not sure why. Jen is a strong character, and the underlying story isn't all that bad. Part of it may be that taking a break from Richard and Kahlan's story is exactly the wrong decision to make. Another component is the way Jen's perspective turns things on end; we more or less *know* that she's being duped, but she's clueless -- which takes a fairly good character and weakens her drastically. For whatever reason, this is the one Sword of Truth book I don't find a brilliant, entrancing read in it's own right. It's OK, but it just feels like a speed bump while reading the *great* series itself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    Another Hit...

    When you read the book you'll discover more than one reason for the ungifted of a Rahl to be hunted down and killed. Of course there exceptions?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    I hated this book. I trudged through it thinking that with each

    I hated this book. I trudged through it thinking that with each new chapter, Richard and Kahlan would appear. About 1/3 into it, I finally scanned the pages to find where they are written in and they are only in the last few chapters! As a result, I just skimmed over the rest of the book. Why even bother to write a book in a series if it isn't written with the main characters in it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    On the fence

    Im still not sure whether i enjoyed the book or not. Khalan and richard dont arrive until the end, which had me saying the entire time "where are they?". However i though it was also refreshing to meet new characters and follow their stories, to then end in the same journey from the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Disappointing at first... deserves a second chance.

    The first time I read this book I was really disappointed with it. Mostly because you don' t see Ricahrd and Kahlan til the very end. It was hard to getvthrough the first time around, but after rereading this book I was able to get past the fact that this part of the story isn't about Richard and Kahlan and I appreciated this book and it's characters. All I have to say is let that disappointent go and enjoy the story for what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Pillars of creation

    Not as good as the previous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Ready for more

    Different angle than the previous books and ended abruptly. Not Goodkind's best, but, overall, good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Absolutely Awful

    This book could easily be removed from the series without detracting from it. The new characters add nothing to the story. It comes off as what it was: a lame attempt to squeeze in one more book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    A must read!!

    I love all of the Terry G books. It has been over 10 years since I last read the Sword of Truth books. Now while re-reading these books, I came to the Pillars book for the first time. I had read the previous reviews and had almost let the negative reviews sway me to skip this one. I am sooooo glad I follow my gut and read this one. This is a great read. It is quick and the characters keep you guessing. Yes, I do miss Kalin and Richard, but the new cast members keep you enguaged. Really makes me want to quickly read the remaining books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Goodkind's Triumphant Return to the Underworld. "Grushdeva", to the Holes in the World.

    "The Pillars of Creation" is Goodkind's triumphant return to the underworld. In the Seventh installment of The Sword of Truth, Goodkind takes readers back to Aydindril, "The Home of the Confessors",The Wizard's Keep, The People's Palace and back to the old world in the quest of Lord Rahl against the Imperial Order. And indeed he dares to write a book where the story does not belong to Richard and Kahlan, but to those "Who hear the voices" Evil has never faced Lord Rahl like this before. Goodkind doesn't fail in amazing fans, giving a different view of the sword of truth series. An amazing plot and great set of new characters for this latest installment. It seems as the series matures, more questions and details about magic have been answered. The author is very efficient in presenting details and background about the genesis of some of the themes witnessed in previous books. "The Pillars of Creations" is an intelligent and well written aftermath following "Faith of the Fallen" Fans needed a book like this. This seventh installment is very different, and Goodkind injects an evil that was necessary to refresh the entire series. "The Pillars of Creation" signifies what the Sword of Truth series is all about. The fight between good and evil. Jennsen Dagget and "King Oba" two ungifted offsprings of Darken Rahl, those who "Hear the voices" two distinct, but great characters. Goodkind shows his eloquent style to engage readers into the characters of Jennsen and Oba. Oba becomes my favorite one in this book, He is an evil, malicious, funny and definitely naive, while Jennsen's character unfolds into a young woman finding the truth and beliefs after her long journey of revenge against what she considered evil. Goodkind challenges readers to understand more about the underworld, and the magic surrounding Lord Rahl. Following "Faith of the Fallen" the author has concentrated in the Old World. The conflict between Lord Rahl and the Imperial Order is seen through the enemy's eyes. Not to mention the seventh rule taking a deeper meaning in the series. With four books left in the series, the engagement between all characters, prophecies, and everything that the author has not revealed yet becomes more intriguing than ever. The world of the sword of truth is very spellbinding and without books like this one it would be impossible for fans to keep waiting what may come next. The way goodkind explores the house of Rahl through Jennsen and Oba, and even Drefan in previous books is very important to understand more how magic and history shapes Richard Rahl. If you are a fan that has read all the books, Love the book for what Goodkind gives us, keep reading, for you will find a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Garbage, I'm done with this series

    I hate this book, and I've been an avid reader of the series until now. This edition is complete crap, and Terry takes the story no where. The plot of the war is just dragging, because Terry has no idea what to do with it. Characters that we know (like mord-siths) act completely out ordinary, contrary to the last...6 novels. And you have to read about two new boring characters until your eyes bleed. Oh yeah, and there is an entire chapter devoted to Jensen getting kissed for the first time...BRILLIANT WRITING!

    I really enjoyed his other works, and planned to read all 12 novels, but this is so bad I am done. Terry, you stole a little bit of my soul.

    Save yourself the trouble and if you liked the series just end it at #6, or prepare to be angered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    loved the rest

    but hated this one. it shouldnt take an entire book to add a single person to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 365 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19