Customer Reviews for

The Pillars of Creation (Sword of Truth Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 363 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book is the balance to Faith of the Fallen

The problem with this book and why so many people are disappointed with it is because Faith of the Fallen was so amazingly good and truly epic that any other book that comes after is going to be held to that standard and ultimately going to fall short.

This book is a...
The problem with this book and why so many people are disappointed with it is because Faith of the Fallen was so amazingly good and truly epic that any other book that comes after is going to be held to that standard and ultimately going to fall short.

This book is a neccessary evil in the series and truly is the balance to the last book. It really makes me wonder if he did it on purpose this way, I honestly wouldn't be surprised. Introducing a whole new set of characters after the last book was a gutsy move and after reading pillars It's easy to see that this story was neccessary to be told in order to build up the rest of the series.

I admit that this one was a slow read for me because lets face it after faith ...yea...this was slow going, BUT im glad that I pushed through and read it because the ending was worth it although it took awhile to get there.

posted by Sliph on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind Big Mistake

Trust me i love terry goodkinds books but this is a huge mistake. i mean richard and kahlan only appear in the last couple of chapters. not only that but the main character in the book is an obnoxious girl that needs to be slapped around a little. seriously what was goi...
Trust me i love terry goodkinds books but this is a huge mistake. i mean richard and kahlan only appear in the last couple of chapters. not only that but the main character in the book is an obnoxious girl that needs to be slapped around a little. seriously what was going through his mind!?!?!?!?!?

posted by 6782852 on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Not his best.

    Personally while I read this book, the entire time I was asking "When will he get to Richard and Kahlan?" Honestly if you want to read all of this series, you can skip this book and not miss a beat. It introduces characters that have no point in the subsequent books, and even the whole concept of the book is almost irrelevant.

    I gave it a good score for writing style because he keeps his writing style, but its not enough to catapult this book into a top list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    A disappointment

    Out of all of the Sword of Truth Series, I thought this was the worst. I am usually very good at remembering a book, i can almost tell the entire story once I am done, but this one, was very disappointing. I could barely tell you what happened in it. Nevertheless, I am still a diehard fan of Goodkind, and I am looking foward to the rest of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    The beginning of the end for this series

    This book begins a downward slide into mediocrity. The first 3 or 4 were excellent, the fifth was in retrospect only decent, but it seemed to be building an amazing story. This one lacked inspiration, direction, and coherence. The plot twists lacked believability and spoiled what little dramatic tension had been built.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    The end is good

    I wanted to know what was happening with Richard and Kahlan, but it took until approximately page 650 before they appeared, and so I was rather disappointed in the book. The pages after Richard appears are exceptional. I have read them several times and enjoyed them greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    I was soo disapointed with this book

    Goodkind lost the edge that he had in the first 6 books. Seemingly lost for ideas...he doesn't even develope the ideas that he did have fully enough. The ending made me want to burn the book in disgust. The goat scene was contrived at the conclusion. I suggest that everyone read the first six books...just skip this one. Hopefully he pulls it together in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2003

    A hiccup in the Sword of Truth series

    I sincerely believed that Goodkind was slacking on this one. I thoroughly enjoyed all the previous books in this series; especially 'Faith of the Fallen'. However, this novel couldn't hold my attention at all. I found Richard's sister incredibly insipid and I sincerely wished that he'd kill her at the end. Oh well, I'm looking foreward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    Uninvolving

    The only disappointment in an otherwise great series. Didn't hold my interest unfortunately. I can see why Mr. Goodkind may have wanted to write a book like this, but i think most fans will agree that they're more interested in the plight of Richard & Kahlan, rather than focusing so much on new characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Disapointing

    Tedious, boreing and disapointing come to mind after the long and highly anticipated wait for this installment of the series to come to paperback. This book has about 20% meat and 80% filler. This being the 8th book in the series, how many times do we need intricate descriptions of the things we are all familure with from the previous 7 books. There is very little interaction between characters and too much of the character's "thoughts". I found myself skipping over paragraphs and even whole pages at a time and like not watching a soap opera for a week, I can watch the next episode and really haven't missed anything at all. It isn't untill after you are over halfway thru the book that you even figure out that he has gone back in time to bring these new characters up to date with the last book. The main characters of this series do not even show up until about the last 75 pages of a 725 page book because of this, and there isn't any real interaction with them but for the last 30 pages of the book. As usual, after someone puts out quite a few books in a series it seems they want to expand either in details or politics, neither make for riveting reading. I will be waiting for the next one to come out but no where near as anxiously as before and I will take a seat and skim thru it before I purchase it this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Title should have "Jennsen, Sebastion, andOba Around the World"

    I began reading these books because of the fabulous adventures and chemistry between Richard, Zed, Kahlan, the Mord-Siths and some other "minor" characters. It seems that with Mr. Goodkind's latest tomb he has decided the minor characters should take over. Very weak in my opinion. While it is a good story it is not the Lord Rahl and the Mother Confessor that I believe true fans want to follw and read about. Let's hope his next book gets back to what is important and interesting. If he persist in the sidlines just to make the story stretch then I guess this is another potentially great Epic Fantasy that will no longer be on my bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Bad luck

    Is it just me, or does Richard have really BAD luck? He's been tortured, separated from Kahlan more times than I can count, and has magic but he doesn't know how to really use it. He's killed his birth father, two brothers, left one brother to die, and was almost killed by his sister!! Had a vote for freedom and lost! What is with his luck? I loved the first six books, but this one only had Richard( the main character that we know and love) near the end of the book! I think this was an ok book but not one I would really read again, but I will read any other book after this one !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    A Waste of My Time

    Let me say first that I had looked forward to this next installment and was delighted to finally get my hands on it. That being said, I have to say I was very disappointed in the results. It was as if Mr Goodkind's publisher told him to stall for some time and knock out something totally irrelevant to the saga. It was a seven-hundred page story easily told in a hundred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    Disappointed.

    I just wanted to say that I loved all the other books in the Sword of Truth Series and eagerly waited for this book. I read through it in 3 days waiting with each turn of the page for Richard to become involved in the story. Only at the very end is he involved. I just hope the next book in the series is not like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    Not as Good

    This book was not nearly as good as all the previous ones. I couldn't even get through. I stopped half way through. Way too much detail and I didn't really want to hear about this crazy lady who doesn't even like the hero of the previous books who we all like. I was expecting more from Richard and the 'gang'. I mean, Goodkind is a great author, just seems like he slipped up this time. Maybe next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    This just makes me sad

    This is the story, The Sword of Truth is a really good series, but this book is atrocious. I like Richard, Kahlan, and Zedd, but you know what? None of them are in it! When they are in it, it is very, very brief. These characters already are well developed, but Goodkind had to introduce Jennsen and Oba Rahl. Jennsen is a woman who is in denial so much that it almost made me puke. I don't want a character in a book that is so ignorant of everything, and will listen to everything that Emperor Jagang spits out. Oba Rahl is just a horrible character, plain and simple. Finally after 500 pages, we get to Richard, and we still get nothing. Makes me sad....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2002

    Surprised

    I picked the book up at the bookstore and began to skim through it. It started out interesting with the addition of new characters, but I found very few pages dealing with the characters that have played an important part in the advancement of the series thus far. There are many stories happening during this time of struggle not just Richard's, but aren't we really only interested in the hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    Throughly Disappointed

    After reading this novel I felt disappointed and lacking interest within the series. Terry Goodkind's sudden introduction of a new character, which not to mention is centered on in the whole book, is pointless in my point of view. I realize he wanted to stray from the main storyline for the time being, however I feel that he should have stayed within 100-150 pages on Jennsen. I hope that the next book will be more rewarding than the Pillars Of Creation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2001

    Pillars of Creation (Sword of Truth Series #7)

    i was very disappointed! this story could have been a short story. i actually skimmed through over 100 pages (and i know i didnt miss anything significant). either goodkind has run out ideas, he's doing it for the money or his contract says that he must write x amount of books. either one should not be at his readers expense. save your money and read it at the library or do what a lot of people are doing: go to a bookstore and read it there! hes like robert jordan- started off good but then it flopped!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2001

    Why Did I Actually Finish This Book?

    I have been hooked on this series from book one and I am very disappointed. Neither of the two story lines in this book were really stong enough to keep me interested. Neither of the main characters (Oba and Jennsen) were good enough to play staring roles in the book. My major problem with the characters is that they were boring. It would have been a lot more interesting if one of them had been truly evil and one of them had been truly good, but as it is they were both mediocre. Terry Goodkind is going to have to come up with a much better book for the next in the series if he plans on keeping his fans happy. As other reviewers have said you can skip this one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2001

    Be prepared to be disappointed

    I am a fan of Terry Goodkinds work. I believe that his novels are worth reading more than once. However, Pillars of Creation sorely disappointed me. It didn't have the essentials that make Goodkinds novels great....basically, it didn't have enough Kahlan and Richard in the story!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2001

    Is this Sword of Truth?

    Goodkind, you've done a great job with the book, in fact PoC is beautifully and expertly written. But I think the book stores and ToR made a mistake, they titled this as the next series in the SoT series. Yeah I know it's kind of funny how they could do that whenever the main characters from the sword of truth series are barely even mentioned. I have faith that this mistake of titling will be corrected and your real seventh book for Sword of Truth will be out soon. I can't wait to see what's happened to Berdine in aydindril, and Verna and Holly and Ann, and ohh wait....I forgot somebody...who was it...oh now I remember! It was Richard and Kahlan! Sheesh you think it would be impossible to write a review about this and forget Kahlan and Richard until the end wouldn't you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2