Customer Reviews for

Pimp: The Story of My Life

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pimpin Pimpin

First of all id like to say that I don't read much, but once I started this book I couldn't put it down. This book pulled my coat on the ins and outs of the grimy underworld of pimping. Once I was done I felt like it almost educated me. If you look deep enough you will ...
First of all id like to say that I don't read much, but once I started this book I couldn't put it down. This book pulled my coat on the ins and outs of the grimy underworld of pimping. Once I was done I felt like it almost educated me. If you look deep enough you will see that he gives us insightful information on how to maintain relationships. This book is a must read for fans of black hardships.

posted by Anonymous on November 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The man was a total phony who lied and played con on his own peo

The man was a total phony who lied and played con on his own people wrote books with the help of others made holloway house rich bentley morris died and left the rights to his books what little he had left to his white wife and his kids by his first white wife he told s...
The man was a total phony who lied and played con on his own people wrote books with the help of others made holloway house rich bentley morris died and left the rights to his books what little he had left to his white wife and his kids by his first white wife he told stories of mr ALBERT BABY BELL who realy lived that way beck chose to live as if he was a real ghetto person while he kept his white wife and kids a secret from his black readers and the con is still working fooling youhg blacks liike ice t cashmoney job z and the rest of the untrained eyes join me in exposing this hateful PHONyours truly CASH TRUE CHOSEN BY THE UNIVERSE lets stop all the phony players misleading the youths with con and LIES.Y CON PLAYER who prey s on the folks he claimed he loved.

posted by 11585493 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Pimpin Pimpin

    First of all id like to say that I don't read much, but once I started this book I couldn't put it down. This book pulled my coat on the ins and outs of the grimy underworld of pimping. Once I was done I felt like it almost educated me. If you look deep enough you will see that he gives us insightful information on how to maintain relationships. This book is a must read for fans of black hardships.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    He was the original. Between him and Donald Goines started the &

    He was the original. Between him and Donald Goines started the "urban fiction" genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    must read book

    I recommend this book as a must read book,because it enlightens the mind and takes you on a tour in the world of pimps,though its thought provoking but the lessons in the book can be applied in daily life endeavours ,so this is a must read book as well as good worth of literature for your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Iceberg Slim Comes Through Again

    I just now got around to reading 'Pimp'. I have read every other Iceberg Slim book and I have to say that this on is the best. Originally I thought nothing could top 'Trick Baby', but I was wrong, yo. First off, let me say that I am a pimp and there is no shame in the game, jigga. I gets all the ends from my womens and tend to slap a few who front on me, ya dig? I may be chubby, but Iceberg Slim don't front on nobody, fat or not. I also eat cake batter. Thank you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    Very good reading!

    I have read alot of books about the street. I know for a fact that iceberg slim will grab your soul and really make you think of a life style and bring you to a world that most of us only dream about. I have read alot of pimp books, like Don magic Juan and Andrew stone wall jackson, and Donald Goines. These are all great books but, if you want your coat pulled or just like reading I would recommend "PIMP" to any reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Pimp One hell of a book

    I thought this book was exellent it explored the harsh life of pimping in the twenties. I would recomend this novel to anyone that enjoys reading about drug addiction prison time and other dramatic topics. This book gives an insight of the life of a pimp and the life of a prostitute. The book is easy to read and their is alot of interesting twenties slang in the book. This book has a glossary of slang in the back so it is easy to understand the slang dialect the book presents.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    Can't live without reading this one.

    This book is a necessity of life whether you think you're going to pimp or you have to learn about history. True pimps appreciate the love put into this book, wannabees think this is a manual on life. I appreciate the honesty by Fleck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    Thirty-three years later still a must read book.........

    First read, The Story of My Life: The Pimp, in 1968, Beck should have been teaching American History 1,2,3.....life ain't changed none....the book is about more than pimps and whores.....alot about the soul of America...real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    If you wont to be a Pimp you need to get this book

    This book is hard core and It really help you look at the game all the way around different. If you wont to get into the pimp game this will get you on the right track. A lot of guys took this little bit of knowledge an took it straight to the streets. 'This book even helped me in areas I was weak in.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Foundation of the Game

    Classic art of any kind is timeless. The game laid down is this book is as true today as it was when Ice lived it and transcribed it to print. The circumstances change, but the game remains. Far from glamorizing the life, 'PIMP' breaksdown the rules and regulations along with the highs and lows. Since the pimpin' and whorin' ain't limited to hustlers and hos, I recommend this to anyone interested in the power of the mind and 'JIB' to help achieve success (be the pimp) or avoid being 'turned out' (be the ho).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2000

    The Millennium Player's Bible

    if you consider yourself a a true bonafide player or have any insight on what's really going on in the streets, this book is must read material...for those who dont have any knowledge of the ghetto and are curious, Iceberg Slim gives it to you raw and what better way to show by example; the story of his life...alot of today's styles, street slangs and even hip-hop music is influenced by this man's work...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    THE BOOK OF LIFE FROM A PIMP

    THIS BOOK IS FOR EVERYONE FROM MAN TO WOMAN. ICE TELLS U HIS LIFE THE WAY HE LIVED IT BACK THEN AND THE WAY SOME PEOPLE ARE LIVING NOW. ONCE YOU START TO READ YOU WILL NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN. ITS ONE OF THE COLDEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ. THANKS ICE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2