BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Pinhoe Egg (Chrestomanci Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    You can't make an omelet without cracking an 'Pinhoe' egg

    This book is so awesome! I almosted finished this in a day. Its addictive to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    okay so far

    im on page 77 so far and the egg hasnt been introduced yet. even though the book says only 234 pgs. there are really more than 400. its a good book but i wish they would just get to the egg part already. if you have patience(which i highly lack) though you can read it. i paid almost 9 bucks so im not gonna stop.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Always pleased with Chrestomanci!

    I know I'm biased, since I LOVE Chrestomanci novels so much, but this new installment lived up to all the previous books. Charmed Life is forever my favorite book, but Marianne has fallen into the honor of being one of my favorite heroines!! Everything you love about Ms. Jones' writing is here!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    Better than harry potter

    the storytelling is great, and keeps you interested until after the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    fantasic

    I have loved all of the Crestomanci books I have read, and this one is my favorite. It kept me interested and on my toes. It's not till almost the end that you find out what the true fight between the Pinhoes and Farleighs is about. It was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    The Pinhoes, a magical clan, live in Ulvergede and are friends with another witch group, the Farleighs. When Gaffer Farleigh and Gammer Norah come to Gammer Pinhoe¿s home, the leaders of the clans get into an argument leading to an exchange of spells. Gammer Pinhoe can no longer speak and her mind is jumbled against her will her family moves her into a relative¿s home. When the powerful enchanter Marianne Pinhoe finds an egg in Gammer¿s attic, she gives it to Cat Chrestomanci. The Pinhoes do not like the leader of the clan Chrestomanci who always examines them and their use of magic. They planted two spies in their household one of them being Marianne¿s brother Joe who make friends with Cat¿s sibling Roger. Plagues attack the Farleighs, who blame the Pinhoes but Marianne suspects otherwise. She and Cat try to defuse hostilities, but it is the elder Chrestomanci who peels away the layers of deceit. --- Young teens who enjoy urban fantasy will thoroughly appreciate this creative riveting work from the author of HOWL¿S MOVING CASTLE. There are plenty of light amusing moments (a trademark of Diana Wynne Jones) that embellish the growing inter-clans tension especially humorous is when the egg hatches and Cat finds himself with a baby griffin demanding like all newborns to be taken care of. Ms. Jones¿s young adult fans will treasure her latest magical fantasy. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Neverendingly Creative and Ingenious

    In this novel, Diana Wynne Jones's writing style continues to be witty and neverendingly ingenious. Her vibrant cast of characters just about jump right off the page: Cat, a boy who is a nine-lifed enchanter, Marianne, a girl just realizing the full capacity of her powers, Gammer Pinhoe, a crazy old lady who starts a war between two families, and Klartch, a newly-hatched griffin just to name a few. The Pinhoe family's ridiculous antics brought me more and more amusement as I got further along in the novel. I love books that involve magic and the author's creative spark made me especially appreciate this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2