Customer Reviews for

Pink Slip Party

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    Kept me laughing out loud

    Lock wood was funny and creative in this novel. I not only enjoyed her amusing sacrcasm but the ups and downs that the character went through were profound. I could really relate to the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Cute, cute, cute!!

    I throughly enjoyed this book, but was annoyed with the references about going to the unemployment office, since that is usually unnecessary due to the on-line connection of clicking your unemployment info and then calling in once a week. When I wrote the author about this, she responded and rather quickly, I found that refreshing!! Enjoyable chick lit for chicks of all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved the humor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Flat and repulsive

    I kept waiting for it to get better, but it never did. The main character was a pain. The plot never evolved & the other characters were, for the most part, revolting. Jane, the heroine, was too weak-willed and stupid to sympathize with. Not the worst book but I wouldnt recommend it. Go reread some other Chick Lit book and save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Funny, easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just okay-

    After reading two if Lockwoods books I had high hopes for this one and really it was by far my least favorite of her pieces I've read thus far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Need something Light in these Economic times

    I was initially drawn in by the title. Having had a "little break" of my own recently, I could find humor in the circumstances. I like the idea the author conveys about embracing whatever comes, and seeing what great things may come from it. It was very entertaining. I especially liked the response letters that were included spuratically throughout the book.

    At the end of the day, it's a love story, but there are so many more things you can gain from it. I hope you ejoy it as much as I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    GREAT READING!!!!

    When your talking about Cara Lockwood your talking about being highly entertained! I recomend ALL of her books. She's pure genius! The only problem with her books is that she does'nt write fast enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    very funny

    This is a must read for anyone who has either been laid off or has had trouble finding a new job (I could really relate to her angst). The narrative in this novel is also refreshingly funny and it makes you like Jane (the main character) that much more. This is a great, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    amusing chick lit tale

    In Lakeview, Illinois, art designer of office supplies like pink slips, Jane McGregor learns by email she is being indefinitely laid off. Jane never saw the pink slip coming because she felt safe as she was dating the Vice President of Midwest Division of Maximum Office Supplies. When she asks why, she is told that her boyfriend Mike Orepheus euphemistically furloughed her and kindly follows that up by ending their relationship. Jane knows she offers few marketable skills, but needs money rather quickly to pay the rent and to pay of her maxed credit cards. The card debts bother her because she bought a new wardrobe so that Mike would be proud of her. As she struggles with unemployment, her father joins her in the ranks of the unemployed and her brother nags her to look for work. Only family friend Kyle Burton seems to be of any help, but how will Jane react when she learns his secret agenda is that he is in love with her and has been for a long time. <P>Though at times the lead female¿s alibis and laments can leave the reader bushed (this reviewer agrees with her sibling), this amusing chick lit tale pokes fun at the economic recovery (except in Illinois not Ohio). The humorous story line is mostly Jane¿s muses about the woes of her world as she struggles with her bills and the men in her life, not necessarily in that order. Sub-genre fans will say I Do to Cara Lockwood¿s latest comical contemporary caper. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1