BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pinkalicious

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

We Loved Pinkalicious!

I read "Pinkalicious" to my class and they loved it! They especially enjoyed the illustrations. Their favourite part was when the little girl turned all over PINK! The story kept them interested, and they couldn't wait for me o read it again. We also read "Purplicio...
I read "Pinkalicious" to my class and they loved it! They especially enjoyed the illustrations. Their favourite part was when the little girl turned all over PINK! The story kept them interested, and they couldn't wait for me o read it again. We also read "Purplicious" and enjoyed it as well.

posted by BENRGAGNE on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Objectionable content!

I give this book a 'poor' rating for several reasons... 1. The way the mother talks to the daughter...'you get what you get and you won't be upset', and then the daughter sticks out her tonge at her monther. 2. The 1st appearance of the father and accompanying illus...
I give this book a 'poor' rating for several reasons... 1. The way the mother talks to the daughter...'you get what you get and you won't be upset', and then the daughter sticks out her tonge at her monther. 2. The 1st appearance of the father and accompanying illustration are of him ordering her to bed with a pointed finger. 3. The Dr. prescribes 'green vegetables', and text says 'yuck!'. Later negative comments describe vegetables as...'choke on an artichoke, gag on a grape, and burp up a brussle sprout', and more. 4. Also not crazy about the sneaking out of bed, and building a tower to climb to the top of the refridgerator. Why expose my 2 children to these things when there are so many good books out there showing good communication between parents and children, and advocating healthy eating?

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Objectionable content!

    I give this book a 'poor' rating for several reasons... 1. The way the mother talks to the daughter...'you get what you get and you won't be upset', and then the daughter sticks out her tonge at her monther. 2. The 1st appearance of the father and accompanying illustration are of him ordering her to bed with a pointed finger. 3. The Dr. prescribes 'green vegetables', and text says 'yuck!'. Later negative comments describe vegetables as...'choke on an artichoke, gag on a grape, and burp up a brussle sprout', and more. 4. Also not crazy about the sneaking out of bed, and building a tower to climb to the top of the refridgerator. Why expose my 2 children to these things when there are so many good books out there showing good communication between parents and children, and advocating healthy eating?

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    Disappointing

    I was very disappointed with the series. I bought all three books because of previous reviews I had read, but after getting them home and reading them with my daughters, I was very not very happy. Some of the actions and attitudes portrayed are not what we are trying to encourage in our children. I ended up returning all three books.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Not Good!!

    I am always surprised as to why this book is so famous! It is awful and does not encourage anything good or healthy.

    First of all, they make "pink" cupcakes, well, what flavor is pink exactly? I like my food to come from nature or at least have some sort of trace of something real. If I make "pink" cupcakes they are called "strawberry" and at least contain some strawberries, not just food coloring!!! Outrageous!

    Also, the doctor tells her to eat a diet of green foods, which she refers to as, "yucky!" I do not encourage healthy, real food to be called yucky!!

    So many things are wrong in this book, again, I cannot see why people actually like it and read it to their children!

    Since I already own it and my daughter seems to like it, I simply rewrite the book as I read it. I refer to the green foods as magic and because they are so good for you they can cure you of anything, even turning pink!

    HarperCollins should be ashamed of themselves.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    eh...

    I agree that this book sends an extremely poor message. My daughter is only 2 so I leave out the negative words about vegetables and change a few things up. When she is older and reads this for herself, I won't be able to do that. I'm not impressed with the book in general and that's a shame because this book has great premise and COULD possibly be a great series for girls. The authors should have just left out the negativity about vegetables, the tantrums, and the disobedient little girl who has no consequences for her actions (sneaking cupcakes when her mother tells her no). Such a shame.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    This could have been a cute book. But, as other reviews have ex

    This could have been a cute book. But, as other reviews have explained, it has lots of content that id not good for small children to hear/see. When my daughter and I read it, we talk about how Pinkalicious' behavior is NOT nice and that she shouldn't eat that many cupcakes anyway. We use all the bad stuff in the book as an opportunity to teach how it is wrong. I would NOT recommend this book to others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    The only "good" book from the series...

    My daughter likes this book very much because she loves pink, but I agree with many other reviews that are some things at this book that I had to adapt because it is not what I teach my kid... when she had to eat vegetables to dont be pink anymore, we made as she likes to eat them... as my daughter never learned that vegetables does not taste good... the idea was good, but as a book, I would hope the author would take out the children steriotypes (not liking vegetables) and teach them that vegetables are good... isn't why we buy books? to teach them GOOD lessons?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Very Pink-CUTE

    Pinkalicious is the first book about a girl who loves the color pink so much she turns pink herself after eating too many pink cupcakes. Pinkalicious' is given a bath, but she still is pink. She is taken to the doctors, and is diagnosed with 'Pinktitis'. Her prescribed medicine is to eat as much green stuff as she can, to turn back to her normal color. But Pinkalicious is happy being pink. Even after being swarmed by bugs because she looks like a flower, she still likes being pink. She like...morePinkalicious is the first book about a girl who loves the color pink so much she turns pink herself after eating too many pink cupcakes. Pinkalicious' is given a bath, but she still is pink. She is taken to the doctors, and is diagnosed with 'Pinktitis'. Her prescribed medicine is to eat as much green stuff as she can, to turn back to her normal color. But Pinkalicious is happy being pink. Even after being swarmed by bugs because she looks like a flower, she still likes being pink. She likes being pink so much she eats one more cupcake. However, she wakes up to find she is no longer Pink but Ruby Red. Pinkalicious does not like this at all.

    Right away she starts to eat anything in the fridge that is green. Her normal complexion soon returns. Pinkalicious finds that she loves her complexion, just as she is. More importantly, she likes who she is just the way she is.

    Victoria & Elizabeth Kanns' book is not only beautiful to look at, with many pages full of 'pinkness', her message is simple: love yourself for who and how you are. While this book is centered around a girl, and is aimed for girls, such a message can be understood by many.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Great for preschool!

    I teach preschool and all the children in my class love this book, even the boys and children that don't like pink love it. It starts a great discussion about how much is too much junk food as well. I just wish there were other colors besides traditional girl colors in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pinkalicious

    The little girl in this story is in love with the color pink and her mom makes her some pink cupcakes. She loved them so much she wanted to eat more and more. I think this is a really cute book for younger children especially little girls who love pink. The illustrations are wonderful and go very well with the story. They will keep your little listeners engaged.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    We Loved Pinkalicious!

    I read "Pinkalicious" to my class and they loved it! They especially enjoyed the illustrations. Their favourite part was when the little girl turned all over PINK! The story kept them interested, and they couldn't wait for me o read it again. We also read "Purplicious" and enjoyed it as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Very cute and fun story.  I see all the negative reviews about b

    Very cute and fun story.  I see all the negative reviews about book sending wrong messages, but I think this is really blown out of proportion.  I understand the point they're trying to make, but if you have kids older than 2 yrs, the vegetable comments/sticking out tongue/girl climbing on top of fridge isn't much of an issue.  Both my kids (3 yrs and 5 yrs) are able to mentally grasp that not all vegetables are yuck (they happen to love many veggies actually), everyone has different likes/dislikes, etc.  It is a fun story because they can identify with the character (a strong female character by the way - yay!), and she is silly and does some things they know are wrong (like climbing on refrigerator - they got a big laugh out of that).  Great story and entertaining.  I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because of all the color pink (I understand why pink, but its super girly with all the pink and princessy type of stuff).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    little girls will love this book

    Best book for little girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Would Highly Recommend

    Got it out of the box and read it right away. Gonna need more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    WE LOVE PINKALICIOUS!!

    Such a cute story and super fun to read! Pinkalicious is definitely the best book in the series. My daughter loves Pinkalicious so much that we are using this book as her 4th birthday theme.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Pinkatastic!!!!

    I felt in love with this book the first time I saw it. I'm a very pinky person who also likes cupcakes. After read this one I bought all the other books from Victoria Kann. Last month my daughter's 4th birthday motive was Pinkalicious and I gave her the Pinkalicous and Goldilicious doll and the cupcakes interchangeable toy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Love it, My nieces have a few of the books and I finally read it to my princess and she love love loves it!! I had to purchase the book for my daughter and have read it over and over again.. Must have book for girls...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    For the love of Pink

    This is a fabulous book for those who love pink. My 3 1/2 year-old was given this book as a gift and she loves it. It is perfect for reading aloud and is quite entertaining for parents who will be subjected to many re-reads! Basically, Pinkalicious (or Pinkerella) eats too many pink cup cakes and gets 'a rare and acute case' of Pinkatitus. The remedy? Lots of green stuff that is good for you (YUCK!). The book is written from Pink's perspective.

    We read this aloud each bedtime recently when friend's were visiting and our 5 year old (male) friend loved it too.

    My daughter has her eye on another story in the series - Purplicious! We are looking forward to finding out what causes that peculiar ailment! There is also a Goldilicious.

    I would recommend this book for anyone with a young child, probably between the ages of 2 1/2 and 5, who enjoys being read to - particularly if they are going through a 'Pink' stage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Adorable

    Bought this book for my niece and she made me read it to her about 5 times that same night. Only thing I didn't like was an illustration where the little girl stuck out her tongue at her mother. I don't have children, but I do feel they are easily influenced and I personally didn't like it. Other than that, I enjoyed it myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great story for kids

    Wonderful book.. My 3 year old loves this book. I would recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for 4yr olds!

    I gave this book as a gift to my 4yr old niece, she loves it. My sister tells me she's memorized most of the story. I later purchased Purpleliciuos, which is her favorite color.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7