Customer Reviews for

Pinstripe Empire: The New York Yankees from Before the Babe to After the Boss

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rich McKinney's in the book, so is Horace Clarke and all the ble

Rich McKinney's in the book, so is Horace Clarke and all the blemishes - this is one even-handed look at the game's most important franchise, warts and all. Pretty clear the Yankees didn't sign off on this, and the author has balanced his affection for the team with th...
Rich McKinney's in the book, so is Horace Clarke and all the blemishes - this is one even-handed look at the game's most important franchise, warts and all. Pretty clear the Yankees didn't sign off on this, and the author has balanced his affection for the team with the requirements of being a historian. If you love baseball history, you can't ignore the Yanks, no matter who you root for, and this has so many dramatic moments, so many new and different backstage looks at important events. Appel used his special access pretty brilliantly to give us an ongoing array of nuggets. I found something worth remembering and repeating to friends on almost every page.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

G

B

posted by Anonymous on October 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Rich McKinney's in the book, so is Horace Clarke and all the ble

    Rich McKinney's in the book, so is Horace Clarke and all the blemishes - this is one even-handed look at the game's most important franchise, warts and all. Pretty clear the Yankees didn't sign off on this, and the author has balanced his affection for the team with the requirements of being a historian. If you love baseball history, you can't ignore the Yanks, no matter who you root for, and this has so many dramatic moments, so many new and different backstage looks at important events. Appel used his special access pretty brilliantly to give us an ongoing array of nuggets. I found something worth remembering and repeating to friends on almost every page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    As a young girl growing up in the 60's I started my life long lo

    As a young girl growing up in the 60's I started my life long love affair with the Yankees. But i'm not the one who dwells on the statistics of the game - rather I prefer the personality profiles, the dramatic moments, and the emotional connection. Maybe that's why I'm loving this book so much! Marty Appel seems to "get it"...seems to know what the fans really love reading and talking about. I'm not done yet with this compelling book and I'm already planning on reading it a second time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    G

    B

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Thank you Marty Appel

    I am not a baseball fanatic, but am a fan of the author's previous books. So it is no suprise that he has hit this one out of the park. Before reading the Pinstripe Empire I knew of the Yankees. Now that I have, I know why they are woven into the fabric of New York City and into the hearts of Yankee fans. Being a New York gal, of course I knew of The Babe, Lou Gehrig and even of Leo Durocher. I did not know the origins of the club, who and why they started the team, or how much just living in this great city I knew about the team and its history. Whether you are a fan of the Yankees, come from the Bronx or Brooklyn, or a fan of baseball -- if you love a good tale complete with heros, this is a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I wanted to like this. I love the Yankees. I still do, but I d

    I wanted to like this. I love the Yankees. I still do, but I don't like this book very much I could barely finish it and found nothing about it so compelling that I would want to go back and read it again. .

    Under the Steinbrenner regime, the Yankees have had a rule that players can't have long hair, or beards or facial hair. In short, they've insisted that their players look and act as bland company men. Pinstriped Empire is the literary equivalent of that policy, turning the history of the most successful franchise in major league baseball into the blandest story ever told. I'm not sure if the problem is that the author was overwhelmed by the scope, simply didn't have the skills as a writer or researcher, or, due to his close relationship to the club, was afraid to ruffle any feathers, but this book is the equivalent of Soviet history as written by a member of the Politboro. The story of the Yankees should be thrilling and emotional, but in this book it is simply boring, as time and time again, the author tell, but does not show. As the Kirkus review infers, chapter after untitled chapter simply roll by, recounting what happened (mostly) but without any insight or perspective, and very little new information, as if written to make sure it didn't ruffle a feather in the Bronx. In that way it reads like a book report about the Yankees, an encyclopedia, rather than any kind of drama. Due to the authors' significant connections, the book will unquestionably do well and receive massive publicity, but it will not be because of the content. Far from being the definitive history of the franchise, or the best narrative, it succeeds only as an exercise in word processing, pr and marketing.

    This is no "Babe Ruth" "Joe DiMaggio" "Mickey Mantle" or "Derek Jeter" of a baseball book, but more like a Rich McKinney. For those who don't remember who he was, well, you should look him up. But not in this book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Slow going

    While the scholarship and amount of detail are impressive, as engaging prose it falls short. The beginning of the book (pre Babe Ruth) is a tough slog. Lots of names and facts are cited, but there is not much to get the reader engaged with the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    YANKEES

    Yankees are amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Every Base was touched

    The depth of details contained in this historical saga of a small time business being created into an unequaled sports enterprise is skillfully crafted by Mr. Appel.
    The history of American baseball in the 20th Century mirrors the American society of the 20th Century. One only needs to monitor the method of communication in the 20th Century to appreciate the conveyance of baseball game results. Written descriptions supplanted by radio, then by TV, then computer, and then mobile devices. These profound changes defined and shaped the 20th Century in America and its' national pastime as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Too much like an an encyclopedia

    In my opinion, this book tries to cover entirely too much, and reminds me of the phrase "jack of all trades, master of none". It does a good job of bringing back some memories, but due to the enormous scope of the subject it is trying to cover, it really does not go into any real depth on any one topic. Every now and then, it brings up a factoid that I hadn't heard before, but for the most part, you can get most of the same information by reading an encyclopedia entry on that season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Any long-time Yankee fan will find this book full of interesting insights about players, owners, managers, and staffs. It's a full history of team from its very beginnings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1