Customer Reviews for

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I loved this cookbook

This is my new favorite cookbook, I love the step by step photos, the personal added touch, the food is good and fun to fix, I dont like to read a recipe or instructions for that matter just give me some illustrations. This book is great for new cooks. I love that you c...
This is my new favorite cookbook, I love the step by step photos, the personal added touch, the food is good and fun to fix, I dont like to read a recipe or instructions for that matter just give me some illustrations. This book is great for new cooks. I love that you can go to the regular grocery store and buy the food she uses, you don't have to go to a special store for a special ingrediant, that is my pet peve. You can get most of these recipes off of her website, however I would much rather have the book in hand in my kitchen ready for use.

posted by 3426354 on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

Having been an avid follower of The Pioneer Woman blog I was very excited for her to release a cookbook. While I expected that some of the recipes would be carried over from her blog, I didn't expect that most of the cookbook contains recipes from her site. I also didn...
Having been an avid follower of The Pioneer Woman blog I was very excited for her to release a cookbook. While I expected that some of the recipes would be carried over from her blog, I didn't expect that most of the cookbook contains recipes from her site. I also didn't expect that the "cookbook" would contain so many pages of her family, ranch, and animals. I felt that those pages would have been better supported with NEW recipes. It's too bad really, she could have really done something great instead of something just okay. I'm returning my copy today, it really was a let down.

posted by 2187374 on November 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    My New Favorite Author & Cookbook Among Hundreds!!!

    I just received this cookbook! I can't put it down! I've been an avid cookbook hound for 30 years. I read them like other people read novels! This tops them all. I loved the humor of Nigella & the Barefoot Cantessa, but Ree has them beat in humor, real life, photography, & the recipes are to DIE FOR!!!!!!!!

    I found Ree's blog / website in August and I'm addicted! Her recipes are delicious! Never do we see step by step photo of a recipe ! It is amazing ! The best photography as well.

    I'm a farm girl who turned city girl(LA), so I relate to that aspect, as well!

    I just bought 6 more for all the family / friends to see, too!

    Keep them coming, Ree!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book

    Good cook book!! Step by step photos were great. Loved it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    I commend Ree for making a name for herself, and for moving away

    I commend Ree for making a name for herself, and for moving away from the city and making it work for love.
    Although, can you really compare marrying a cowboy with marrying the King of cowboys?  Obviously he is not 'just' a cowboy,
    he's a rich cowboy...  I mean, look at her kitchen.  The Drummond family is the largest landowner in the state of Oklahoma. In the USA, they are the 77th largest
    landowners. The Marlboro Man and his brother own 20,000 acres. Collectively the Drummonds own 120,000 acres in Osage County.
    Ladd's grandfather, aside from this whole lotta land, owns 2 local banks.   I think I could move to Oklahoma and cook all day to be a
    part of that...  That aside, the recipes are fairly simple and straight forward, good for teaching someone the basics on cooking. 
    They are heavy on items such as heavy cream, butter and such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    highly

    We gave this as a gift to a cousin who live in Hawaii now but is from Oklahoma. She was so delighted to receive it. Ree is her favorite cook on the food net work. Delightful presentation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Awesome cook book. My friend let me borrow it and I didn't want

    Awesome cook book. My friend let me borrow it and I didn't want to give it back. I broke down and bought my own copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    beautiful pictures; great looking recipes.

    beautiful pictures; great looking recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    Great at home down to earth recipes!

    Another review said the book needed an index. I wanted to point out it has one actually (at the back of the book like every other index). I really loves this book! I am from Oklahoma, and I wanted a great book that encompassed all the recipes I grew up with. This is perfect! I absolutely love she has step-by-step instructions with photos. That is extremely helpful! Also I think her stories are wonderful, enlightening, and very entertaining! I do agree I wish there were a few more recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great read

    I bought this book because of the previews of the recipes that I had seen. After I got the cookbook, I enjoyed the recipes but also the wonderful pictures and stories of life on the farm. A total package full of wonderful recipes and delightful family portraits. I plan on giving this as a gift. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Tasty and EASY Recipes!

    I've followed Ree Drummonds blog for quite a while, and it's great to have a book of her recipes, rather than my usual printouts stuffed in a kitchen cabinet! She photographs the food at each step in the recipe, so you have a very good idea of what should be happening. In between recipes, there are photos of the ranch, her husband and kids, etc. It's visually so different from a 'regular' cookbook. I've made her lasagna, (but substituted in ricotta, I'm too East Coast to use cottage cheese in that), and several other recipes. Nothing is low fat, low carb, etc. She cooks , well, like she's cooking for ranch hands!! Buy the book, enjoy the photos, and make some of the dishes. You'll be glad you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2