Customer Reviews for

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I loved this cookbook

This is my new favorite cookbook, I love the step by step photos, the personal added touch, the food is good and fun to fix, I dont like to read a recipe or instructions for that matter just give me some illustrations. This book is great for new cooks. I love that you c...
This is my new favorite cookbook, I love the step by step photos, the personal added touch, the food is good and fun to fix, I dont like to read a recipe or instructions for that matter just give me some illustrations. This book is great for new cooks. I love that you can go to the regular grocery store and buy the food she uses, you don't have to go to a special store for a special ingrediant, that is my pet peve. You can get most of these recipes off of her website, however I would much rather have the book in hand in my kitchen ready for use.

posted by 3426354 on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

Having been an avid follower of The Pioneer Woman blog I was very excited for her to release a cookbook. While I expected that some of the recipes would be carried over from her blog, I didn't expect that most of the cookbook contains recipes from her site. I also didn...
Having been an avid follower of The Pioneer Woman blog I was very excited for her to release a cookbook. While I expected that some of the recipes would be carried over from her blog, I didn't expect that most of the cookbook contains recipes from her site. I also didn't expect that the "cookbook" would contain so many pages of her family, ranch, and animals. I felt that those pages would have been better supported with NEW recipes. It's too bad really, she could have really done something great instead of something just okay. I'm returning my copy today, it really was a let down.

posted by 2187374 on November 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Great book

    Good ideas love the step by step pics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Awesome cook book. My friend let me borrow it and I didn't want

    Awesome cook book. My friend let me borrow it and I didn't want to give it back. I broke down and bought my own copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    My absolute favorite cookbook.  I love the easy to follow direct

    My absolute favorite cookbook.  I love the easy to follow directions, and everything I've made has been a hit.  Love all the little extras abotu her family and ranch life.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Good book

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book! I love the step by step pictures, instead of jus

    Love this book! I love the step by step pictures, instead of just a finished product. Also, she makes me laugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Love this cookbook!

    I have puchased several for gifts. This is more than a cookbook! Well done Ree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    beautiful pictures; great looking recipes.

    beautiful pictures; great looking recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Ok

    I thought this book was average.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Must have cookbook

    Everything here is fantastic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Love this cook book

    As a huge fan of her website, blog, and food network show i asked for this book for Christmas and so glad I did. Great step by step recipes, pictures and stories. I'm looking forward to her next cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Love it!!!

    I have acquired many cookbooks over the years. This one is by far my favorite! The pictures are great! Her cinnamon rolls are incredible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Awesome cookbook!

    I had a co-worker bring in this cookbook and as soon as I opened it up I had to buy one for myself. It is a fun, humorous read - she includes pictures that go with every step of the receipe with hilarious comments that make the cookbook stand out from any other I've owned. She also includes little stories and pictures of her family. Sure you can go online and find a receipe for red velvet cake but it's so much funner to open up her colorful, picture-filled book! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to have fun with cooking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Step by Step

    This is a great book for a new cook- lots of step by step pics! It's one I give to newly marrieds and those just setting out on their own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Delicious Recipes

    I have been an avid follower of Pioneer Woman's blog for the past couple of years, and I can now say that I am an avid fan of her cookbook. I love how she showcases each recipe with full-colour, step-by-step detail making it easy to follow along. Her style of cooking is all about slowing down, relishing the joys of family, nature, great food and enjoying life. Now that's what I'm talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Delicious recipes!

    I read a preview on this book, then when I saw it in the store and flipped through it I had to have it! My husband is a meat and potato guy also and I made him Marlboro man's favorite sandwich. He loved it so much (more than I realized) that I came home from work one day and he had gone out and bought the ingredients and was making it for supper! Now that is a testament to a recipe being yummy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love This Book

    I hate to cook! Most recipes I try usually turn out terrible. My family is picky so what's a girl to do? Buy this book. 5 out of the 4 recipes I've tried were keepers. The Pioneer Woman also has a fantastic blog with more recipes and awesome photography.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Must have for any kitchen

    If you want to learn to cook, or even if you already like to cook, this book is a must have! Ree's recipes are broken down into easy to read steps, which are made even easier when they're IN COLOR on the Nook Color!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    l love it!

    wonderfully fun. cookbook that is fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    This is a FABULOUS cookbook!!

    The pictures are great, the receipies are scrumptious & it is enteretaining to read too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 14