Customer Reviews for

Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a life

    Loved the book, Kelly is really a likible guy with tons of talent and wisdom beyond his peers. He really opened himself to the reader with many personal thoughts. Keep going Kelly, get the 10th.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    Pipe Dreams

    Pipe Dreams by Jason Borte is a biography about pro-surfer Kelly Slater. In the book Pipe Dreams, it tells the story of Kelly Slater's life as a child and also the surf adventures he has had growing up. This book also tells the process of how he came to be one of the best and most well known pro-surfers in the world. This book is very adventurous, exciting, and comical. Pipe Dreams inspires the reader to do what they love the most no matter what people may say. Pipe Dreams also mentions stories and deaths of other very famous pro-surfers and also some of the best places in the world to surf at such as, The North Shore, Jaws, Mavericks, and the very famous Pipeline. Pipe Dreams is a very well told story of pro-surfer Kelly Slater's life adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    A Surfer's Journey by Kelly Slater

    The book, Pipe Dreams is a biography of the six-time world champion Kelly Slater. From the moment you begin to read his story, you get drawn in. The way the book is written, it makes you feel like your right there every step of the way and witnessing histroy being made. It gives you a mental image of the goals and dreams that he achieved. Slater is now known as one of the World's Greatest Surfer's. Kelly has earned the respect and crediblility from his peers and idols, and made friends with people he thought he would never get a chance to meet. This book was very well written and helps you understand who Kelly really is. I truely enjoyed this book from beginning to end. It gives you a better understanding of Kelly's life and what it was like for him growing up. You will see where Kelly's smooth, creative, and unique style comes from. I like this book because Slater helps you feel the rush of the wave. Although Slater sruggled in life, he is very successful and for that he is an inspiration to me. I would recommend this book to readers who are interested in surfing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    The Best Book Ever!!

    I am so glad Kelly Slater decided to have something like this published. It was the best book I have ever read. Kelly Slater has been my idol for quite sometime now, and I have known so much about him. Now, I know even more about him, and I'm the happiest ever because he has inspired me, and hopefully it is an inspiring book to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Thanks Kelly Jelly Belly

    Growing up I have always been a fan of Kelly Slater. I was anxious to read this book in hopes of getting to know a more personal level of Kelly Slater. Unfortunately, I was left with a lot of questions. I enjoyed the book but would like to know more about his personal life than his timeline of surf contests. I read about that in the paper and mags. I loved his sense of humor. Anyway, Kelly Slater is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Best book I ever read!

    I'm only 17 but this book is the best. After reading it I felt like I knew alot about him but really this book does not even begin to scratch the surface of his life. I hope he does write another book more indepth but I bet this book was already tough enough to write. The last time I went to New Port Beach the surf was maybe 2-3 feet, so I know how it feels to surf those little waves. I guess everyone has to learn somewhere. Not everywhere has waves like Pipeline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey

    great story for all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    Pipe Dreams: A Surfer's Journey

    What a life. Wish i could make such a great living off of surfing. tells the whole story from birth to age 31. Great motivator for younger kids to make there dreams happen. Hopefully he will come out with a second book about the last half of his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    Honestly Slater

    I purchased a second copy at a book signing. Kelly and Jason's candid style makes the 6-time world champ accessible to an interested audience. True, some of the accounts of the surf contests require previous experience with the sport, but readers should catch on easily. In terms of writing style and layout, the book is a series of anecdotes. Some of the accounts are surprisingly humorous. Notable oddities include descriptions of board shorts with redundant phrasiology and a teen magazine-esque set of lists in the back. The 31-year old Slater does make a pitch for changes in surf competition. While this tome isn't the best example of biographical literature, it does provide sufficient detail and humor to engage readers looking for insight into the spectre of fame or looking for something 'Slater'. Kelly admits to be working on a technique book of his own. That will be something active surfers will want to check out. This book has a wider appeal; it succeeds in providing insight into Kelly's life and goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    Slater Is The Man!

    If you surf...this one is for you. None of us will know what its like to be the best surfer of all time. this book gives you some insight. While he appears to be perfect on the outside, we can see he's more like us than we knew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1