Customer Reviews for

Pippi Longstocking

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Meet The Unusual And Extraordinary Pippi

    This is the first of the Pippi series. Learn about Pippi and her friends Annika, Tommy, and of course Mr. Nilsson (a monkey)! Very fun for both girls and boys age 8 to adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A classic

    We bought this book.

    Pippi Longstocking is a classic that's becoming increasingly overlooked. It's an offbeat tale (in the vein of Roald Dahl's works, but more whimsical and less creepy) of a little girl whose father is lost at sea and who lives alone in a villa in a typical (older) suburban neighborhood. Her best friends are her neighbors Tommy and Annika, who are transported to a wild mentality when they're around Pippi that breaks free of the rigorous demands and roles the rest of the world is putting on them. There's no doubting that Pippi is a black sheep, at times nonsensical, and badly behaving. But likewise she also encourages Tommy and Annika (and the readers through Tommy and Annika) to look at things a new way, question why things are as they are, and encourages them not to forget to have fun.

    While it's true that Pippi is becoming dated, the situations, especially socially, that the children in this book face are still real. Speaking as a girl who always wanted to be as strong, brave and clever as Pippi when I grew up these books can still make a great, fun read for kids, and can give kids a sorely needed role model in the literary world (especially girls, who are a little light on literary heroes to begin with).

    We read it before bed at night over the last few weeks and my kids looked forward to it every night. They enjoy Pippi's silly logic, but most of all her indomitable spirit and her willingness to try anything and face up to the scariest of situations. Highly recommended for older, but still child audiences, Pippi Longstocking is a great teacher of not judging a person by their looks, but how they support and empower the people around them.

    Recommended for: 7 and up (loose)
    Contains: Kids playing with guns (briefly)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great learning tool for girls ages 5 to 11

    I bought this book for my granddaughter. She is nine and goes to school on line.Reading this book was a class assignment. In the past she has enjoyed reading some of her assigned reading material...Charlotte's Web,Robinson Crusoe, etc. She had to be coaxed and bribed to finish these books. She read Pippi Longstockings in one sitting....It was amazing. She laughed, she cried and she loved the book....It seemed to be a turning point for her. She now reads on a daily basis.I think we owe this progress to Pippi Longstockings...I would recommend this book for any girl of the ages above....Boys might enjoy it also, but the book is directed towards little girls....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    THE AMAZING PIPI LONGSTOCKING

    This funny heart warming classic for kids and adults is about a young red head girl with lots of freckles all over her face,whos father is lost at sea.As she is being left alione at hom,e with only a horse and monkey to comfort her. she meets a boy and a girl who are looking for an adventurer.Pipi goes through many situations and is a hero. I recommend you read this book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    visiting

    I read this book as a child. I wanted to read it again & I enjoyed it as much as I did then. It is a thrilling book from a childs viewpoint. As an adult I still enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    Easy read, amusing story, little depth

    This was a fun book to read, though I'm not sure how it grew into such a phenomenon. It is amusing and superficial, and a very quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pippi strikes again

    I was around 7 when I read my first Pippi book. And now we just finished reading it to our 3 year old. As we read the chapters I remembered all the quirks of Pippi that had made me smile over 30 years ago, and i saw my 3 year old smile with me.
    We were looking for a book to read out of a little every night, something that was more complex than Dr. Seuss books and Pippi was perfect.
    I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    My 7 year old granddaughter told me that this is the best book she has ever read.

    Excellent for young girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Pippi Longstocking

    This book was outstanding because of all the adventures the charters went on. if you haven't read Pippi Longstocking then get up and go to Barnes and Nobles and BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    10 year fan

    I loved this book. I didnt think I would like it but in the end I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    Always looking for something new

    This review is for all of the 'Pippi' books. I read some of them when I was very young and loved them. Then in the early 1970's the dubbed Swedish movies began playing in theatres and I loved these stories even more since I had a face to identify Pippi by (Inger Nilsson). I now own most of the books, two of the movies and my son loves them as well. Some Americans might find Pippi to be quite adventurous and exciting but also unorthodox and reckless. I, however, find her a barrel of fun and very responsible in spite of her sometimes outlandish behavior and she always looks out for her friends. Then again, she's Swedish, and most know that Europeans are far more accepting and openminded when it comes to the way things really are. Personally, I find Pippi Longstocking the kind of kid I'd liked to have known when I was young so I could have embarked on those fantastic journeys. All of Pippi's books and movies (and the T.V. show if you can find it) are all worth your while and extremely fun and exciting for children and adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Want to live in your fantasy World?

    Well now you can. Pippi not eavan 13 yet is living on her own. She lives in her own mansion with wild animals like Monkeys. But something goes terribly wrong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Fun to read

    Pippi is always up to something strange. I was never bored during this book. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    A good book for your library

    Pippi Longstocking may be an old story, but it is full of adventure and funny surprises. Anyone reading about Pippi will surely laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    Longstocking and Lively

    For nine years Pippilotta Delicatrssa Windowshade Macrelmint Efraim's Daughter Longstocking ( Pippi Longsticking for short )has been raising herself with no one to tell her when to go to bed! Pippi's mother died when she was a little baby . but, she is now watching Pippi from a peephole in the sky down from heaven. pippi's father was a sea captin and fell overboard on a stormy night while out at sea. But don't worry because he is now King of the Cannibles on an island and will soon be back for Pippi ( that's what Pippi thinks ). Villa Villekulla is the name of her house, where she now lives with an overgrown garden and red shutters. Pippi washes the floor with sponges on her feet and eats a whole cake in five seconds. this story's main character is pippi, and she is the adventourous girl raising herself. Tommy is the nieghbor who loves all of Piipi's ideas and adventures. annika, Tommy's sister, is a lillte concerned when it comes to going on Pippi's wild adventures. This humor-fiction story by aastrid Luindgreen tells about Pippi's wild adventures while she waits for her dad to return. i could tell this book was going to be good from the start because the cover looked so lively and funny. I would recommend this book to my friend, Loren, because of all the funny adventures and she is all about fun and adventures. I also feel that any fifth grade student would enjoy this book too. This book recived 4 stars on michelle's Mightiness Scale, and that is very good by the way! I hope whoever reads this book enjoys it because it is 160 pages of pure fun and I'm Not kidding!!! Happy Reading!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Hip Hip for Pip!

    This book, Pippi Longstocking, makes me laugh. We are reading this in our second grade class in Montclair New Jersey, and our teacher is Ms. Kuwabara, and our class just loves this book, except for just one kid. Pippi is a strong, funny girl who gets in trouble but is very nice. One of her parents is dead, the other was blown overboard and everyone thinks he landed on a cannibal island called Curry Curry Dot Island and is now the King. They GUESSED RIGHT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Pippi is great, fun for kids and adults!

    To start with, Astrid Lindgren is a women and she died 94 years old, 2002. I read that some of the other reviewers thought she was a man. Her books is probably the most famous Swedish books in the world, some of here books have been translated into 76 diffrent languages. About Pippi, the strongest girl in the world. She is funny but odd, sleeping with her feets on her pillow. She's always having adventures. Her dad is a sailor and her mom is in heaven. The Pippi Longstocking books is the best child books you can get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Fantastic

    Pippi Longstocking is a great book. You should read it! It is very funny when Pippi goes to school. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    What a GREAT book!

    I think that Pippi Longstocking is great.I don't personaly know Astrid Lindgren but he is a wonderful author.This book was exciting and I could read it just for fun.I do like reading chapter books but sometimes I don't like them long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2002

    Pippi Longstocking

    Pippi Longstocking is a book about a strange 9- year- girl who lives alone in a house called Villa Villakulla. Her mother died when she was just an itsy bitsy baby. Her father is the King of Cannibals. She wears a red dress she made herself, but she ran out of red fabric. She wears long stockings, each one a different color. She wears shoes exactly twice as long as her feet. She is remarkably strong, so strong she could lift up a horse!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2