Customer Reviews for

Pirate Alley

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fast pace and suspenseful.

This type of story has a predictable ending but Coonts does a great job of getting there. It rips the romance myth of piracy off of it's ugly face. It exposes that government will always put its political face first and incompetence hides behind the bold and skilled un...
This type of story has a predictable ending but Coonts does a great job of getting there. It rips the romance myth of piracy off of it's ugly face. It exposes that government will always put its political face first and incompetence hides behind the bold and skilled until it is safe to come out. In this story the outcomes is how it should be but it leaves a question of would it be?

posted by Iluvwords on January 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I am a huge Coonts fan, but this was not as good as most of his

I am a huge Coonts fan, but this was not as good as most of his books. Lots of action, but needs a little bit more on character development. Ending was similiar to many of his others so it wasn't jaw dropping. Still, a fun read. Reads a lot like a screen play.

posted by Graycalhoo on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Fast pace and suspenseful.

    This type of story has a predictable ending but Coonts does a great job of getting there. It rips the romance myth of piracy off of it's ugly face. It exposes that government will always put its political face first and incompetence hides behind the bold and skilled until it is safe to come out. In this story the outcomes is how it should be but it leaves a question of would it be?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Great read!

    I couldn't put it down! It slowed down a bit near the end, but still one of the best books i've read this year. I am now a Coonts fan. Definately recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Second vacation book that I finished!

    Good read if you want an action story about piracy. A lot of Special Forces action without going too over the top. I could just happen!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    This ripped from the headlines story is a great read. If you've

    This ripped from the headlines story is a great read. If you've never read Stephen Coonts this isn't a bad place to start. If you are a long time reader of Coonts you will enjoy seeing Jake Grafton takes a more active role in this novel. Fear not, Tommy Carmelinni is in the middle of the action and as sarcastic as ever. And if you've been wondering whatever happened to Toad Tarkingon he makes an apparence as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Coonts has done it again. This is a fantastic novel with plenty

    Coonts has done it again. This is a fantastic novel with plenty of action, bad guys you'll love to hate, and good guys to root for. A few unexpected twists, and that makes the novel that much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    I am a huge Coonts fan, but this was not as good as most of his

    I am a huge Coonts fan, but this was not as good as most of his books. Lots of action, but needs a little bit more on character development. Ending was similiar to many of his others so it wasn't jaw dropping. Still, a fun read. Reads a lot like a screen play.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Pirate Alley Review

    The book represents what the US should do to combat piracy on a regular basis. A clever way to defeat the bad guys. I am a big Coonts fan that started with 'Flight of the Intruder'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Great!

    Coontz never disappoints! Couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Could'nt put down

    Still love reading his books just wish deep black would come back

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Top notch thriller

    Steve Coonts delivers another Grsfton/Carmellini winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Ally

    Hi River waves and blows a kiss at you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    River

    Oh? Dev? Whos he?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    To amiti

    Do you know what Golden Sun is? If yes...weyard res one. I'm still waiting for the other GS fan to reply...so bored...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Scarlet

    *walkes onto the ship* hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Misty.post

    Hello.post

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Griffin, Isis, & Amiti

    Griffin steered the ship. Isis seemed bored, giving her dagger a small toss in the air. "Huh? Oh, s-sorry. Yeah, I'm just thinking about my old home." Amiti explained, sighing a little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Jordan to Cap'n Wolff

    There! *He points to a blackened ship mast poking up just over the canopy of trees.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Destiny

    She continues to put out the flames.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Destructo

    /),- Scurvy, eh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Fox

    Hey pple srry i wasnt on had to go to the hospital))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2