Customer Reviews for

Pirate King (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #11)

Average Rating 3
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A fun, well-written mystery

This novel had me doubled up with laughter multiple times. While most books in this series deal with darker and more serious themes, this one is downright silly at times. Mary Russell, esteemed scholar, detective and wife of the infamous Sherlock Holmes, is willing to d...
This novel had me doubled up with laughter multiple times. While most books in this series deal with darker and more serious themes, this one is downright silly at times. Mary Russell, esteemed scholar, detective and wife of the infamous Sherlock Holmes, is willing to do nearly anything to avoid her brother-in-law, including, reluctantly, joining the film crew of one of the most ridiculous productions ever. The motion picture is to be about a film crew making The Pirates of Penzance only to encounter real life pirates. So, of course, the makers of the film based on people making a film about pirates and encountering real pirates, encounter real pirates. Can't you just see the potential in such a plot?

This book featured a rich cast of unique and entertaining characters. Mr. Flytte, the director, is quirky, obsessed and very short. His second cousin, Geoffrey Hale, is the more sensible one. Then there is La Rocha, the piratical Portuguese man they hired to play the Pirate King...but is he really acting? And is he really Portuguese? Also, there is the plethora of blonde girls running around with fake constables and perhaps not so fake pirates. My favorite new character by far was Mr. Pessoa, the poet with multiple personality disorder and many names. He was actually a real poet, so I may have to go find some of his work now...

The story went along at a good pace and there was so much going on that I never knew what was going to happen next, though I did figure out the villain fairly early (or at least one of them). The clues were subtle and well-hidden throughout the plot. I loved the Byron quotes that kept cropping um, much to Russell's irritation. I do wish that Holmes had made more of an appearance in the story, but when he finally joined in the fun truly started. His disguise put his musical talents to very good use, and that is all I am going to tell you.

This book continues Ms. King's tradition of wonderful writing and complex characters and yet still manages to be completely unique. I would recommend it to lovers of mystery, light-hearted farce, pirates, film-making, poetry and...well, there is something in it for everyone. :)

posted by LiederMadchen on September 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed...

Counted down with her website for its release...started reading and felt I downloaded the wrong book. King is brilliant, but this story had no purpose. Why put Russell on a boat with actors? I have read every Russell novel because the character is smart and has such ...
Counted down with her website for its release...started reading and felt I downloaded the wrong book. King is brilliant, but this story had no purpose. Why put Russell on a boat with actors? I have read every Russell novel because the character is smart and has such a wonderful and funny relationship with Sherlock Holmes. Look forward to the next book without pirates.

posted by 4843204 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Something has gone wrong

    I have bought and enjoyed every previous Holmes/Russel novel and looked forward to this one but after reading 2/3 of this book I am about to throw it away. The author warns us in the introduction that this may strain the reader's credulity to the breaking point, but I have been unable to find anything interesting or entertaining in this mish-mash. I hate to think that this series has run out of steam but if future novels wander around a plot-line like this one, I am done.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    OMG!

    I will need alot of time to get over this one! I usually love her books and can't wait for the next one, but this was awful! I have to go.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    This is a painfully bad entry in an otherwise great series. F

    This is a painfully bad entry in an otherwise great series.

    Frankly, I skipped over MASSIVE parts of the book, *literally*-- and lost not a bit of the actual story. I read the actual briefing on the problem, then got bored out of my MIND over the next ten pages, and skipped ahead to where Holmes actually entered the story. It says a lot about the book that *I did not lose track of the actual story by doing so!* So, what, around 150 pages? I skipped about 150 pages of *utterly unnecessary dreck!*

    I've enjoyed the majority of books in this series immensely (the other failure being, for me, "the Game"), but this? It read like a bad crossover fanfiction of Russell & Holmes with "the Pirates of Penzance." And maybe a bit of "Keystone Kops," too.... If the next entry isn't a significant improvement, I'm not going to continue with the series. Also, there was almost no mystery here at all-- and what there was was solved by NOTHING that either Russell or Holmes did. While I realize the the cover says "a novel of suspense," well... if you aren't bright enough to put an actual *MYSTERY* in a novel involving Sherlock Holmes? You probably have no business writing the character!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good.......

    Not nearly as good as her earlier mysteries. Not a lot of Holmes in this one and really not much of a mystery either. Way too much detail on "Hollywood" type film making and little things that really don't matter that much to the mystery. Just didn't care for this book. King's last two have disappointed and I am a big fan of her writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    It was a relief to read the other negative reviews of Pirate Kin

    It was a relief to read the other negative reviews of Pirate King, all echoing my own reaction to this latest Mary Russell novel. I've enjoyed all the other books in the series, but this one represents a surprising departure in quality. Was there no one involved in the editorial process to remark upon the deficiencies so obvious to more than half Ms. King's readers on this site alone?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I think Laurie King is a fabulous writer and have read and enjoy

    I think Laurie King is a fabulous writer and have read and enjoyed every book in the Mary Russell / Sherlock Holmes series: Unfortunately I can't say the same for Pirate King. The writing is not up to Ms. King's caliber, the story line drags and at times is silly. While some of the characters are entertaining most of them are not. I could not finish the book it was so bad and when I read the last chapter to find out how it ended I'm sure my neighbors heard me exclaim "Is she for real?" Sorry, Ms. King, but even your loyal readers ( like me) should not waste the time or money on this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    A Lemon

    Being a fan of Laurie King's Sherlock & Mary Russell series, I was disappointed in this one. The first half of the book is minutia and fluff -- no action, no crime. Yes, finally a crime is attempted near the end, and there is a little action. Oh hum.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Disappointing

    What happened to the Laurie King I love so well? I have ALL her books- even signed copies I drove to Santa Cruz to purchase. This one was so awful I forced myself to finish it to be fair. AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    so disapointed! Very poor...skip this one

    I waited so long to read this that I was very disapointed almost from the start. It was boring and not at all what I came to expect from the author. Usually the stories are fun and involve Mary and Holmes and they make me want to read more. But I was barely able to finish and only did finish it out of loyalty to the other stories. I hope that Ms King goes back to the previous style of the better novels that she produced in the past. What a waste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Unimpressive

    I have absolutely loved all of her previous books, and was so looking forward to this book only to be completely let down. The characters are under developed,the plot dull and lacking in real content, and the dialogue stunted. I ended up just skimming the first half smply out of boredom. This book does not even feel vaguely related to the rest of the series. I would not advise buying it or even reading it for that matter. If you must, get it from the library.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    If you are a fan of Mary Russell stories, don't waste your money

    If you are a fan of Mary Russell stories, don't waste your money on this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    After a novel as strong as GOD OF THE HIVE, which followed many

    After a novel as strong as GOD OF THE HIVE, which followed many other excellent Russell-Holmes texts, this was a poor, poor encounter for me. Laurie King has a terrific background in religious history, political history, plot construction, etc.--how could something like this have happened!? The lightness of the operetta at its core has infected the novel, and humor is not King's strength. Characters and plot and concerns are uninteresting and frivolous--no serious purpose here. It is a difficult novel to keep reading. I'm hoping that GARMENT OF SHADOWS returns us to the best of this series and its author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    I think this was either ghost written or just dashed together to

    I think this was either ghost written or just dashed together to meet a deadline. It certainly was not up to the usual standards one expects from this series. I will read the next in the series but if it's no better I will assume that Ms. King has become bored with her subjects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    I don't think this book is worthy of Laurie R KING.....it seems

    I don't think this book is worthy of Laurie R KING.....it seems like filler of some kind ! After the BRILLANCE of the likes of O JERUSALEM, and JUSTICE HALL this one PALES in comparison! I've read every book in this series and this one was WEAK on both plot and substance. Didn't like it at ALL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1