BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pirate Latitudes

Average Rating 3.5
( 1128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(301)

4 Star

(324)

3 Star

(276)

2 Star

(140)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A little gem of a read!

I have always been a big fan of Michael Crichton, and was sad to learn of his passing. I have read all of his books and have always found them to be page turners. His writing skills are probably not given the credit they are due because of the commercial fiction genres ...
I have always been a big fan of Michael Crichton, and was sad to learn of his passing. I have read all of his books and have always found them to be page turners. His writing skills are probably not given the credit they are due because of the commercial fiction genres he worked. This pirate book set in 1665 Caribbean is probably not what most of his fans are used to reading from this author (though Crichton was no stranger to historical fiction, I still consider "The Great Train Robbery" his best Novel). The reader I taken to the far removed Port Royal, a lone British colony holding out against the mighty Spanish empire. The town is home to some unlikely and unsavory characters, a place of sin and vice, and a good place to call home if you are looking to steal some Spanish gold, the Brits don't mind Pirates as long as they are hunting Spanish Gold! There is danger and death a plenty but there is also a chance for a man to get rich if has the audacity and ruthlessness to back up his play. Captain Charles Hunter is just such a man and there a Spanish Galleon hiding in a nearby harbor while undergoing repairs. But the harbor is under heavy guard led by the ruthless Cazell hand picked by the King of Spain himself. Hunter gathers a ragtag crew of cutthroats to go after the Spanish galleon, supposedly os Spanish gold. This is a raucous and fun read that can see going to the big screen soon! I just hope there are a few more gems like this that Mr. Crichton has hidden away.... For more great thrills in the modern day Caribbean, check out "Tourist In the Yucatan"

posted by DIckClark on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I think I have read all of Michael Crichton's books and enjoyed them greatly. This was a manuscript published after his death. In my opinion, it should have been left unpublished. I kept waiting for the plot to intrigue me but it never did. It had action but nothing...
I think I have read all of Michael Crichton's books and enjoyed them greatly. This was a manuscript published after his death. In my opinion, it should have been left unpublished. I kept waiting for the plot to intrigue me but it never did. It had action but nothing like I expected from Crichton. I think this was a chance to make money off a manuscript he knew wasn't great and chose not to publish.

posted by Donna414 on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1137 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 57
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    I don't want to badmouth a dead man, but this book was not very good

    This is only the 3rd Crichton book that I've read (Timeline was great, Next was bad, and this was bad) and after finishing the book I am not satisfied. The plot was not well developed - which may have to do with the author's death prior to actually releasing the book. But while reading the book it wasn't too bad, just the overall book was disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    enjoyable read

    Although the plot was a little sketchy at places, I still enjoyed this book once I got past the first quarter of it. It still needs polishing, needs editing where there are holes. Immersing myself in a book that goes back to 1665 in the Caribbean was an amusing way to end the evening. I'll miss Chrichton the storyteller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable read

    Sir James Almont, Governor of Jamaica, is dealing with a flare-up of his painful gout. Rather than stay at home and manage his pain, he must fulfill his duties as Governor and, yawn, officiate at yet another hanging. Like the Governor, the reader is likely to yawn through the first few chapters of Pirate Latitudes. But once Captain Charles Hunter enters the scene, things heat up and pages start to quickly turn.

    The year is 1665 and Captain Hunter is a dashing rogue, charming the ladies and escaping from the clutches of death time after time. When Hunter learns that a Spanish ship has delivered a load of gold to a nearby island, he puts together a crew that includes Lazue, a woman sharpshooter who dresses like a man and has just about everybody fooled, and Sanson, a seasoned and merciless assassin. The fact that the island fortress is considered impenetrable and recently withstood a 300-man attack doesn't bother Hunter. The Captain sees it as a challenge and begins the search for another route of attack, one that includes scaling a 400-foot cliff.

    The man in charge of protecting the Spanish gold is a brute named Cazalla who has no qualms when it comes to torturing his victims. Indeed, when captured by Cazalla's ship, Hunter's crew learns that Cazalla tortured and killed Hunter's brother. It appears that the handsome Captain Hunter may have a personal vendetta against Cazalla.

    The capturing of Hunter and his crew is only the first stop in this high action pirate adventure. There's plenty of swashbuckling sword fights, rescuing maidens in distress, dealing with bad weather at sea, hungry/dangerous natives, a Kraken (yes, a kraken - not once, but twice), betrayal, and even a trial.

    The manuscript for Pirate Latitudes was found after Crichton's death. Whether the author intended the book to be released is something we'll never know. Whether Crichton considered the text complete is unclear as well. There are several sections that seem unfinished or read as though they were a first draft. Despite these flaws, it is an enjoyable read and for those desiring a pirate yarn, a worthwhile adventure.

    Quill says: Although not among Crichton's best, Pirate Latitudes is a worthy farewell gift from one of the masters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasent surprise, great for change in Attitude

    I enjoy Michael and his many books over the years. It was a pleasant surprise! I was immediately caught up in the comings and goings of Port Royal and the life of Pirates
    As a history major and a teacher I found the book factual and believeable.
    It is a shame we will not hear more from Port Royal.
    A great weekend read on a blackberry. Great story to kick back and get lost in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cliche, fun just the same

    Definitely started slow in my eyes, kind of ripping off Pirates of the Caribbean, but soon had be hooked until I finished it. Yes, it seems like it contains a little bit of every pirate story, but the characters and adventure are too good for that to be too much of a hindrance. Overall, I think the only fault lies in the originality. The daring actions of Caption Hunter and his crew are at least worth a good two-day read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a great adventure read

    This is a great read and I recommend to you with upmost confidence from one reader to another. But please do not think Johnny Depp - rather think Odysseus and Russell Crowe (from Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World) mixed up into the personage of Captain Charles Hunter (Harvard-educated no less) who leads the way in a well-designed novel with pirates (in the most noblest sense) in the Caribbean Sea. This is the Spanish Main and England has a toehold at Port Royal, Jamaica, and there is plenty of treasure to be had - but only for the most bold and daring. Think Jason and Argonauts - think Ulysses trying to get back home with a boat-load of loot (literally) but alas mate - you got hurricanes, giant squid, traitors, Spanish galleons in search of the pirates, heroic men and women, and of course, the bad guys are really bad and the good women are really.well, you get the picture. What a refreshing adventure.I'm already gone, off to the Caribbean in search of the El Trinidad (will send you a postcard.maybe).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Rest in peace, an all right title,

    This is not the best of MC by any means but the book has some good ideas imbedded in it. This dude wasso smart that his books always have this realistic scientific vibe to dem like all he talks about is real and true even if its made up.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Map: for all ye lost souls

    Result 1: main deck, result 2: bios, result 3: map, result 4: kitchen, result 5: storage, result 6: captains quarters, result 7: the brig, result 8-on: crew's quarters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    There is a reason the manuscript was in a drawer.

    The book goes better with beer...or rum, especially when animal biology is alluded to. Suspend thy disbelief, matey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Great vacation reading

    I bought this book to read while on a cruise. It was great to imagine the book taking place in the area we were cruising in. It really brought to life area in a different way. I originally bought this in hardback (then for the my Nook) which I have now past on to a friend leaving on a cruise to that area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    I'm very ashamed of this review . . . I'm an avid Crichton lover

    I'm very ashamed of this review . . . I'm an avid Crichton lover, but this "finished manuscript" was clearly a first draft. I can't honestly believe Crichton would have published it as is. The story felt rushed and the plot had a sense of "what's the point?" It would have been so much better had he not passed away and been able to finish it appropriately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Subpar

    This is not a book I would recommend to those who love Crichton. It is below his high standard of work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fine basic read for historical fiction

    Fine basic read for historical fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    recommend

    fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    This person has no reading ability This book was a fantastic book Got you hooked from the first turn of the first page

    Best book ever done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    MUST REa MUST READ!!!!!

    This book is amazing and you definently neeto read this. In between school, i read this book in three hours

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Simple and fun.

    Classic swashbuckler tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am dumbfounded by the amount of people giving this book 5 star

    I am dumbfounded by the amount of people giving this book 5 stars! I would love to see their their bookshelves and see what horrible books they have read to make them think this is a 5 star book. The publisher states that this was found as a complete manuscript on his computer after his death. It is obvious that this was just a rough outline and far from a finished product. The entire book is very shallow, with almost no character development. I even had trouble keeping track of who was who. Instead of the book having a natural flow, it quickly jumps from one event to another in a choppy manner. They should have given this manuscript to another author and have them fill in more detail. It's a shame that this is the final book of Crichton's legacy. I am sure that he is rolling over in his grave know that this book was published like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Starts off great....

    This book had a lot of potential but lost a lot of focus towards the end. If you are really in search of a Pirate story this is worth a shot. Overall it felt very rushed and unfinished towards the end which makes sense as the author probably did not intend for this to be released. It's a shame it had a lot of potential and interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    have to admit i stopped reading crichton's work after about the

    have to admit i stopped reading crichton's work after about the 2nd or 3rd jurrasic park book. in my mind nothing compared to andromeda strain. but this one isn't even up to eaters of the dead. agreed with previous reviews that say it should have stayed on his computer until they could hav found someone to finish it and polish it up a bit. have to think that a real crichton fan would be dissapointed. but if you've never read him before, then start with this and the understanding it can only get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1137 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 57