Customer Reviews for

Pirate Latitudes

Average Rating 3.5
( 1128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(301)

4 Star

(324)

3 Star

(276)

2 Star

(140)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A little gem of a read!

I have always been a big fan of Michael Crichton, and was sad to learn of his passing. I have read all of his books and have always found them to be page turners. His writing skills are probably not given the credit they are due because of the commercial fiction genres ...
I have always been a big fan of Michael Crichton, and was sad to learn of his passing. I have read all of his books and have always found them to be page turners. His writing skills are probably not given the credit they are due because of the commercial fiction genres he worked. This pirate book set in 1665 Caribbean is probably not what most of his fans are used to reading from this author (though Crichton was no stranger to historical fiction, I still consider "The Great Train Robbery" his best Novel). The reader I taken to the far removed Port Royal, a lone British colony holding out against the mighty Spanish empire. The town is home to some unlikely and unsavory characters, a place of sin and vice, and a good place to call home if you are looking to steal some Spanish gold, the Brits don't mind Pirates as long as they are hunting Spanish Gold! There is danger and death a plenty but there is also a chance for a man to get rich if has the audacity and ruthlessness to back up his play. Captain Charles Hunter is just such a man and there a Spanish Galleon hiding in a nearby harbor while undergoing repairs. But the harbor is under heavy guard led by the ruthless Cazell hand picked by the King of Spain himself. Hunter gathers a ragtag crew of cutthroats to go after the Spanish galleon, supposedly os Spanish gold. This is a raucous and fun read that can see going to the big screen soon! I just hope there are a few more gems like this that Mr. Crichton has hidden away.... For more great thrills in the modern day Caribbean, check out "Tourist In the Yucatan"

posted by DIckClark on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I think I have read all of Michael Crichton's books and enjoyed them greatly. This was a manuscript published after his death. In my opinion, it should have been left unpublished. I kept waiting for the plot to intrigue me but it never did. It had action but nothing...
I think I have read all of Michael Crichton's books and enjoyed them greatly. This was a manuscript published after his death. In my opinion, it should have been left unpublished. I kept waiting for the plot to intrigue me but it never did. It had action but nothing like I expected from Crichton. I think this was a chance to make money off a manuscript he knew wasn't great and chose not to publish.

posted by Donna414 on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Really?!?

    Shame on Michael Crichton's heirs and shame on the publishers for foisting this on his fans for a quick buck. There's a reason he never showed this rough outline of a manuscript to anyone...wherever he is he must be horrified it's seen the light of day with his name on it.

    I'm a Michael Crichton fan (the man wrote some great and original books) and a lover of pirate stories, true and fictional. Neither of those facts could overcome the obvious flaws in this book. A bunch of overdone caricatures are conveniently plopped together with little to no character development and follow a ridiculously predictable (and I'm sorry to say, poorly written) plot-line. Well, I didn't see the fantastic glowing green giant squid coming...oh wait, I did because he basically tells you it's coming earlier in the book. How out of place is this in a story written like a true historical adventure? Plus he already used that one in 'Sphere' so it isn't even original to Michael Crichton.

    It's sad to think of all the great books out there to be read while this travesty takes up valuable shelf and warehouse space. Apparently the Crichton estate wasn't satisfied with the large profits from Jurassic Park and ER. Why not bilk loyal fans for a little more?

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Should not have been published

    I know Crichton fans were happy to have one last book to read after the author's passing, but this book should have stayed in the desk drawer. You can tell this was either a rough draft or one of Crichton's early works, before he refined his skills. The plot is simply one cheap pirate cliche after another, and the characters are hollow characitures of what pirates should be. I would not recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Subpar

    This is not a book I would recommend to those who love Crichton. It is below his high standard of work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am dumbfounded by the amount of people giving this book 5 star

    I am dumbfounded by the amount of people giving this book 5 stars! I would love to see their their bookshelves and see what horrible books they have read to make them think this is a 5 star book. The publisher states that this was found as a complete manuscript on his computer after his death. It is obvious that this was just a rough outline and far from a finished product. The entire book is very shallow, with almost no character development. I even had trouble keeping track of who was who. Instead of the book having a natural flow, it quickly jumps from one event to another in a choppy manner. They should have given this manuscript to another author and have them fill in more detail. It's a shame that this is the final book of Crichton's legacy. I am sure that he is rolling over in his grave know that this book was published like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    $3.99 for paper book (albeit discounted), $8.99 for ebook?

    Shocking pricing approach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    There was a reason is was never released.

    There was a reason is was never released while he was alive... The book seemed unfinished.. Poor character development..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Not at all like any of his other books.

    I could only get through about 40 pages before I had to stop reading. I enjoyed reading all his other books but this one was way too crude. Michael Crichton's books are all very well researched and technical. Whie I am sure that the story was very acurate to the times, it was a little too much for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Crichton didn't publish this for a reason.

    Totally unlike his other books, this one is not at all thought-provoking and not really very entertaining. The plot is weak and the characters hard to care about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    Awful book

    I've read all of Crichton's books. This one was really terrible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    worst Crichton I have read

    not worth reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Disappointing

    Very little plot, no character development, a huge disappointment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't waste your money

    This was surely not Crichton's best book -- far from it. It's a cheap rip-off of Pirates of the Caribbean. No original dialogue, not original plot. Everyone I know has heard how bad it and and I can't even give the book away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    Waste of time

    The only reason this book would be a topic of conversation would be to discuss how bad it is. It makes me wonder how much help he got from his editors with some of the other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5