Customer Reviews for

Pirate Looks at Fifty

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Fun read!

    Even though I am 22 I am a Jimmy Buffet fan. Good read on a well lived life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Sorry parrot heads

    I was intrigued with this book up until around page 150 of constant writings about flying and flying and...oh yeah...flying. This man lives a fascinating life and I appreciate his music but this book was a bit too long for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    Recommended beach or summer by-the-pool read. Buffett is a surprisingly good writer who isn't afraid to bear his soul or show his own voice in the subject matter. At times a bit repetitive in theme and descriptions, but with Buffett, its not about the word choice, its about the adventure and experiences that he shares with the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    As with his music, it's not written for the critics

    Jimmy Buffett's entire career is based on the concept that he can take you away from your mundane life, even for just an hour or two, and sail with him. He might not follow each step from book-writing 101, but he accomplishes his goal. I was entertained and wanted to jump on a boat and leave it all behind. I'll take that over structure any day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    It just seems like good ol' Jimmy Buffet

    I really enjoyed this book. The same down to earth, personal story telling experience you get from listening to his music, you get by reading this book. He tells his stories casually and real, and i would imagine he talks the same way he writes. The book is just real, and just seems like good ol' Jimmy Buffet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    The Book was amazing!

    The book kept me informed and interested on his wonderful expedition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    A Monstrously Charming Pied Piper

    At a time when many boomers are fondly reflecting upon younger days, and the fun that accompanied them, Buffet's revival is deceptively seductive and always charming. Selling the sizzle of the Carribean was never that difficult to begin with, and his interpretation is likely to increase the drop out rate for more than a few hangers on to what most considered sanity at one time, only to be reminded of all we've missed that he has tucked away in his nerve endings, still vital after all these years. One or two days with him, and no one will care whether they have problems or not; his invitation is far too delicious to dismiss; it's obvious he signed on to the 18th Century romance writers and poets, in a big way, having lived it, and now willing to share it for our consummate joy..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    A Typically Unique Buffett Experience!

    This was a typically unique Jimmy Buffett experience whereby he weaves his personal 'songline' into an entertaining narrative to be enjoyed by Parrotheads, fishermen, 'flying boat captains', and anybody with an adventurous spirit! I especially enjoyed the vivid explanations of Caribbean history. As a high school social studies teacher, I think some of Jimmy's descriptions would be very motivating for some of my students and I plan to incorporate some of them into my Global Studies lesson plans. ...And I even learned more than I thought I ever would about seaplanes and fly fishing! Thanks Jimmy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    Five Fins Up for Jimmy Buffett

    Every Parrot Head should keep this paperback in their Caribbean Soul Beach Bag! Well written, insightful and right on point. Fins Up from the Head Parrot Head himself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Meshing

    This book sat on my coffee table for six months after my own 50th birthday. I only picked it up on way to the airport to go to Costa Rica. I could not belive some of the coincidences I experianced as I was reading it. As the piolt annouced we were crossing Cuba so did Jimmy in the book. I looked up later to hear the flight attendant discussing deep sea fishing with another passenger wearing a Pura Vida Logoed shirt as I opend the chapter titled Pura Vida. I landed in San Jose as Jimmy did and traveled in the same areas as the book progressed. I only wish that after Costa Rica I could continue the same path. This book was pure entertainment at its finest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2001

    A Pilot looks at a Pirate

    I thought a disability retirement finalized my divorce from aviation but JB's story has re-kindled my old lust. His mentioning 'old friends' Orion and Pleiades convinced me he is a 'real' aviator, not simply a collector of toys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    A true story told by a true story teller

    To live the life that Jimmy Buffett lives is a dream that only few can fathom, but with this book, he lets you in on a little taste of what that is like. Excellent! Fins Up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    If you love Jimmy's music, you'll love this book

    if you love jimmy buffett and his music then you'll love this book. He uses the same story telling techniques in this book as he does in his music

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    Not just for Buffett fans

    This book is fun and quick to read. It keeps your attention the entire time. You do not have to like his music, or even have heard it before, to enjoy this book. Highly recommended for anyone who likes adventure, and dreams of traveling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 1999

    Takes You Away

    This may be Jimmy Buffett's best one yet. If you are looking for a fantasy book that happens to be a true story, pick it up. A book that was written for Parrotheads as well as Non-Parrotheads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2