BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Pirate Lord (Lord Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    Ahoy Mate! Pirates Ahead....

    I am an avid reader of historical romances. I started reading Sabrina Jefferies this year as the reviews on her books look very solid. I purchased this book 'The Pirate Lord' and another one - 'One Night with A Price'. Both were excellent. I reviwed the second book under that heading. In this book - The Pirate Lord - you can't help but, be drawn into the plot as it's simply a hoot. A rowdy band of pirates who no longer want to roam the high seas in search of adventure and wealth, decide to settle down on an island they want to call their own with the perfect little misses. Unfortunately...the pirates can't seem to find any gals open to the idea until they take over a ship full of convict women sent away for being bad. How lucky can the pirates get? How unlucky can the female convicts be in turn? Needless to say, this book does come together well and it is a fun read. The hero Gideon is clearly the perfect ladies man just waiting for the right gal to steal his heart and good senses - which the leading lady Sara does in good measure. The banter back and forth between the two is priceless and Sara's might and will is that of 10 other women when she sets her mind to something. The love scences are strong and I'd give them a 7 out of 10. It was nice to see how the lives of the women turned out after hearing many of their sad tales of how they came to be convits. In turn, it was fun to see how naughty, nasty and wild pirates can be tamed with the right feminine touch. Sara could have come off her lofty perch of righteous woman now and then and be a bit softer but, over-all, the plot line flowed smoothly, the characters were charming and fun. I would deem this read a keeper. Buy it and read it, you won't regret it. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Awesome Trilogy! A must read for lovers of historic romances.

    A wonderful trilogy to take you into the world of romance, history and adventure. Be swept away with the excitment of pirates on the high seas, the longing for a lost love and the pure joy of finding true love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Apparently the picture cover doesn't come with the book.. how ve

    Apparently the picture cover doesn't come with the book.. how very disappointing. Otherwise, I enjoyed the story. It is a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    If you are a fan of Sabrina Jeffries, then this book is for you.

    If you are a fan of Sabrina Jeffries, then this book is for you. Breathtaking adventure, her beautiful heroine Sara and strong hero Gideon are fascinating.. Sexual intensity that keeps you reading! when you start this novel, you won't be able to stop. You will enjoy adventures and inflamed love scenes .You will enjoy every minute with the charming and wonderful adventure of Ms Jeffries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    My 1st Sabrina Jefferies book! LOVED IT!

    Great book, loved the characters, even the support characters had interesting stories. The romance was hot, and was a natural part of the developing story. Love pirate stories - this was worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Not a fav

    Not one of the best books but had its good parts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Loved it

    !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Love, love love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intrigue, Suspense, & Boundless Passion! An Absolute Page-Tu

    Intrigue, Suspense, & Boundless Passion! An Absolute Page-Turner! ***Review is based on three quarters of completion***

    I'm in the middle of reading, and I have to say it is without-a-doubt a spectacular novel!

    Full of dramatic, insatiable, amorous scenes between Gideon & Sara, which have caused me to read every last tidbit I could before succumbing to slumber!

    Well done Ms. Jeffries, I'm eagerly awaiting to discover the conclusion of what has occurred between Capt. Horn & Miss Willis, if they will live happily ever after on Atlantis. Truly this novel deserves nothing short of a 10 Star Rating!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    I've read many a romantic novel full of rogues with hearts of go

    I've read many a romantic novel full of rogues with hearts of gold and women in distress who fall to the mens' feet. Never have i encountered such a story with lessons of purity and standings. This author has a way of making the women she writes about not just some object or helpless creature but a women who has a choice and strong heart. She tells through her stories that all women though beautiful and sometimes vulnerable can stand up and tell the world what she wants out of life and though men may be headstrong at times and full of passion at others they don't all just want a bed warmer. This is a story not of a women in need of being taken care of or some roguish man who steals her heart with a kiss but of a couple who precariously falls in love and with much demanding and sacrifice find they cant live happily without the other in there arms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    I love some of her books; but, this one is truly terrible!!! B

    I love some of her books; but, this one is truly terrible!!! BAD writing - bad editing, etc.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Great Book

    This was full of laughter, love, hope and adventure, everything u want in a book/story. I love strong Sassy heroines & Sara is that n then some. Jefferies does it again...keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Amazing Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    This was my first nook book and I loved it! such a great read i defiantly recommend it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Highly recommended!!

    Another great read from Sabrina Jeffries!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    loved it

    although this book dragged a bit in the middle i was surprised on how much i'd loved this book! i just wish it never ended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Silly Pirate Fun

    The Pirate Lord is the first book in Sabrina Jeffries Lord Trilogy. Sara Willis, Stepdaughter to the late Earl of Blackmore, has devoted her life to helping those less fortunate than her. She learns that a group of women convicts are being shipped to New South Wales. Despite her brother's opposition Sara obtains passage on the ship as a schoolteacher. Shortly after passage Sara's boat is taken by a group of pirates. The Captain Gideon Horn learns that the ship is full of women and gets the brilliant idea to capture the ship so his men will have wives. Gideon has found an unoccupied island in the tropics and plans to create his own Utopia. His plans don't exactly go as planned once Sara puts her mind to riling up the women to disagree to the idea.

    I picked up The Pirate Lord because my good friend Kristie J. recommended it to me. It sounded like a fun, yet silly book and I haven't read a good pirate romance in a while. I was pleasantly surprised that the book wasn't as silly as I feared. It actually had more serious undertones than I expected and was pleasantly surprised. It was a little slow in the middle and the ending was predictable. However, I thought both Gideon and Sara were strong characters.

    Sara and Gideon have met their match with the other. Both are used to getting what they want, easily bowling over any opposition. Once they encounter each other it is like fire to water. Both are stubborn in the face of their own wants and beliefs and are not afraid to go after them. Their first encounters are fun to read. The middle part of the book drags a little bit for me because Sara takes so long to come to the conclusion that Gideon is a good man. It is pretty obvious to the reader that he is a decent guy despite his kidnapping a bunch of women for his own nefarious purposes! Gideon is one of those heroes who doesn't trust women and predictably the story foreshadows that Gideon will believe that Sara betrays him. While that was predictable there is still a surprise element that left me quite satisfied with the story. Thanks Kristie J for recommending this one to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    This was a very romantic and exciting book!

    I loved this book. It's not suprising, Sabrina Jeffries is a wonderful author. I loved the way it was so exciting. U never want to put the book down. Every page was thrilling, couldn't wait to get to the next page! U dont want to see it end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh my....

    This book was pretty lame from beginning to end. I was ready for it to end by chapter 3. Sorry Sabrina but not your best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    He Should Have Stayed At Sea

    A pirate captain with a crew of pirates looking to give up their wayward life and settle down; a ship of female convicts bound for Australia and shepherded by a crusading English lady; a not-so-bright idea by said pirate captain of capturing the female convicts and providing brides for his crew - all together a recipe for disaster. Or so some would think.

    I enjoyed this story for its escapism mostly. I didn't find it overly romantic in spite of the fact that said Captain Horn spent a lot of his time shirtless. It seemed strange to me that any pirate, even one trying to woo a female convict, would put aside his gruff ways and court said female convict(s). The heroine, Miss Sara Willis, was a bit too demanding for my tastes. She seemed to keep wanting more and more concessions before she would acquiese to the Captain.

    A nice change of pace, though, from the usual swashbuckler or Regency period romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    Great Romance!

    I read several Romance novels a week. I also love to read the history of pirating. This book was a great read and will be an addition to my library. It has a great plot. Sabrina Jeffries not only tells a thrilling tale of romance and a reason behind this particular plot. Could not put this one down until I was finished. I recommend this to anyone who loves to read romance novels. The romantic parts of this book are some of the best I have read. She also leaves a little mystery in this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5