BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Pirate Lord (Lord Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    Ahoy Mate! Pirates Ahead....

    I am an avid reader of historical romances. I started reading Sabrina Jefferies this year as the reviews on her books look very solid. I purchased this book 'The Pirate Lord' and another one - 'One Night with A Price'. Both were excellent. I reviwed the second book under that heading. In this book - The Pirate Lord - you can't help but, be drawn into the plot as it's simply a hoot. A rowdy band of pirates who no longer want to roam the high seas in search of adventure and wealth, decide to settle down on an island they want to call their own with the perfect little misses. Unfortunately...the pirates can't seem to find any gals open to the idea until they take over a ship full of convict women sent away for being bad. How lucky can the pirates get? How unlucky can the female convicts be in turn? Needless to say, this book does come together well and it is a fun read. The hero Gideon is clearly the perfect ladies man just waiting for the right gal to steal his heart and good senses - which the leading lady Sara does in good measure. The banter back and forth between the two is priceless and Sara's might and will is that of 10 other women when she sets her mind to something. The love scences are strong and I'd give them a 7 out of 10. It was nice to see how the lives of the women turned out after hearing many of their sad tales of how they came to be convits. In turn, it was fun to see how naughty, nasty and wild pirates can be tamed with the right feminine touch. Sara could have come off her lofty perch of righteous woman now and then and be a bit softer but, over-all, the plot line flowed smoothly, the characters were charming and fun. I would deem this read a keeper. Buy it and read it, you won't regret it. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    If you are a fan of Sabrina Jeffries, then this book is for you.

    If you are a fan of Sabrina Jeffries, then this book is for you. Breathtaking adventure, her beautiful heroine Sara and strong hero Gideon are fascinating.. Sexual intensity that keeps you reading! when you start this novel, you won't be able to stop. You will enjoy adventures and inflamed love scenes .You will enjoy every minute with the charming and wonderful adventure of Ms Jeffries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Love, love love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intrigue, Suspense, & Boundless Passion! An Absolute Page-Tu

    Intrigue, Suspense, & Boundless Passion! An Absolute Page-Turner! ***Review is based on three quarters of completion***

    I'm in the middle of reading, and I have to say it is without-a-doubt a spectacular novel!

    Full of dramatic, insatiable, amorous scenes between Gideon & Sara, which have caused me to read every last tidbit I could before succumbing to slumber!

    Well done Ms. Jeffries, I'm eagerly awaiting to discover the conclusion of what has occurred between Capt. Horn & Miss Willis, if they will live happily ever after on Atlantis. Truly this novel deserves nothing short of a 10 Star Rating!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    I've read many a romantic novel full of rogues with hearts of go

    I've read many a romantic novel full of rogues with hearts of gold and women in distress who fall to the mens' feet. Never have i encountered such a story with lessons of purity and standings. This author has a way of making the women she writes about not just some object or helpless creature but a women who has a choice and strong heart. She tells through her stories that all women though beautiful and sometimes vulnerable can stand up and tell the world what she wants out of life and though men may be headstrong at times and full of passion at others they don't all just want a bed warmer. This is a story not of a women in need of being taken care of or some roguish man who steals her heart with a kiss but of a couple who precariously falls in love and with much demanding and sacrifice find they cant live happily without the other in there arms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Amazing Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    This was my first nook book and I loved it! such a great read i defiantly recommend it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Highly recommended!!

    Another great read from Sabrina Jeffries!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    This was a very romantic and exciting book!

    I loved this book. It's not suprising, Sabrina Jeffries is a wonderful author. I loved the way it was so exciting. U never want to put the book down. Every page was thrilling, couldn't wait to get to the next page! U dont want to see it end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    Great Romance!

    I read several Romance novels a week. I also love to read the history of pirating. This book was a great read and will be an addition to my library. It has a great plot. Sabrina Jeffries not only tells a thrilling tale of romance and a reason behind this particular plot. Could not put this one down until I was finished. I recommend this to anyone who loves to read romance novels. The romantic parts of this book are some of the best I have read. She also leaves a little mystery in this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Wonderful.

    I was unable to put this book down once I started it. It was... simply - for lack of a better word - satisfying. The plot was great, unexpected twists and turns at every corner. Truly fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    The Dangerous Lord

    I love Sabrina Jeffries she is the best author i've read so far. i have enjoyed almost all her books but she is hard to find

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Excellent, EXCELLENT, Excellent !!

    Okay, how many times can I possibly say 'EXCELLENT'.. What a truly enjoyable read this tale was.. Gideon Horn, pirate captain, is the perfect foil for Sara. Their story set in the 1800's , is so well paced, and fulfilling..(and Gideon sounds downright Gorgeous). There is sadness, and joy, in just the right amounts.. and I must say I could not put this book down.. Another MRB..(Must Read Book).. and a definite recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    Indescribable!!. I cannot put into words how Fabulous, magnificent and amazing this book is.

    An ardent, fervent love story that will make you shiver with anticipation. A story that will make your heart raise as you read along. Sara Willis is a proper miss who finds herself kidnapped by Gideon, a haughty pirate who trusts no one, least of all women. Sara herself wants nothing to do with the snooty pirate but somehow she falls for him and discovers that his heart is not as cold as it seems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2