Customer Reviews for

The Pirate Prince (Ascension Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Love Story!!

This is book is amazing although I would not recommend it for anyone that is under 15. Lavar is a kind of person any girl dreams of. I know throughout the entire story I was wishing he was real. The author is positively wonderful and I cannot wait to read another one of...
This is book is amazing although I would not recommend it for anyone that is under 15. Lavar is a kind of person any girl dreams of. I know throughout the entire story I was wishing he was real. The author is positively wonderful and I cannot wait to read another one of her books!!

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The last half sunk this book

This book was good at first¿ I mean there was passion and their was chemistry and it seemed like everyone would get along. It becomes evident to the reader that the lead character Lazar di Fiori had his inner demons (after all, what romance hero doesn¿t), but there was ...
This book was good at first¿ I mean there was passion and their was chemistry and it seemed like everyone would get along. It becomes evident to the reader that the lead character Lazar di Fiori had his inner demons (after all, what romance hero doesn¿t), but there was something about this character that screamed to me `Leave him be¿. Our heroin, like all romance heroines tries to convince Lazar that he should face his terrible inner demons and put himself through hell to please her child hood dreams of him as her perfect prince. The problem is he isn¿t and throughout the book it doesn¿t seem like he ever wants to be. The book felt to me like Lazar was sacrificing his whole life for this `love¿ of his. If she really loved him, would she hold herself back like she does and tries to change him like she does? I don¿t think so. This book became tedious after the first 250 pages. I got tired of the fact that Lazar had to change himself and sacrifice so much of his self. Normally in a romance, when the heroin pushes her outcast lover to claim his rightful throne he in a way wants to. With Lazar that need was not there¿. He was being bullied into it. The book has its passionate moments, although not many, and the beginning was pretty entertaining. So for that I give it 3 stars, but I wish I didn¿t pay $8 for this book¿..

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    The last half sunk this book

    This book was good at first¿ I mean there was passion and their was chemistry and it seemed like everyone would get along. It becomes evident to the reader that the lead character Lazar di Fiori had his inner demons (after all, what romance hero doesn¿t), but there was something about this character that screamed to me `Leave him be¿. Our heroin, like all romance heroines tries to convince Lazar that he should face his terrible inner demons and put himself through hell to please her child hood dreams of him as her perfect prince. The problem is he isn¿t and throughout the book it doesn¿t seem like he ever wants to be. The book felt to me like Lazar was sacrificing his whole life for this `love¿ of his. If she really loved him, would she hold herself back like she does and tries to change him like she does? I don¿t think so. This book became tedious after the first 250 pages. I got tired of the fact that Lazar had to change himself and sacrifice so much of his self. Normally in a romance, when the heroin pushes her outcast lover to claim his rightful throne he in a way wants to. With Lazar that need was not there¿. He was being bullied into it. The book has its passionate moments, although not many, and the beginning was pretty entertaining. So for that I give it 3 stars, but I wish I didn¿t pay $8 for this book¿..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Romance and History at it's Best

    Gaelen Foley knows her history and puts it into romance for us. This is the 3rd in her Prince series and it is just as good as the previous 3. She knows how to make you fall in love with the characters and want to keep reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Amazing Love Story!!

    This is book is amazing although I would not recommend it for anyone that is under 15. Lavar is a kind of person any girl dreams of. I know throughout the entire story I was wishing he was real. The author is positively wonderful and I cannot wait to read another one of her books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    Meh. I don't think there was anything too amazing about this one

    Meh. I don't think there was anything too amazing about this one. I did love that the love story started off very soon in the story. But as it usually goes in these books, he had to go and screw it up. This wasn't a gripping edge of your seat taale for me, like I thought it would have been from the blurb. It was just ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    Not my style

    Ok nothing special

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Love lazar, but not his women

    Grreat book but a lot of suffering and pain for the hero who had to go to hell and back for a naive idealistic woman just to prove he was worthy to be himself. Did love it though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Pirate Prince is a romantic high seas adventure. The author

    The Pirate Prince is a romantic high seas adventure. The author, Gaelen Foley uses the history of the time period and the lyrical descriptions of the places to unite the entire story. It is the first in Foley's series; it follows an exile prince bent on revenge and a young high bred lady of the people.
    Foley’s strengths lie in her ability to give her characters such deep passions and convictions. Lazar is a hero to swoon for and Allegra is a heroine that has a fire and fight. The characters interact so well in the plot and extreme circumstances, they make it plausible. The plot is face paced, never has a dull moment and adventurous not to mention romantic.
    If someone hated romance novels pick this up it will change their minds. I would highly recommend this story for anyone who is looking for a quick read with depth and characters that stay with you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    fabulous!

    funny, charming, romantic, ruthless, absolutely wonderfully passionate! one of the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Not that great

    Not worth the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    THE PIRATE PRINCE

    BOOKS ARE WONDERFUL. LEARN NEW WORDS EVERYDAY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fantastic

    I would have to say this is one of my favorite books of all time. Although I am not a fan of Foley's other series or books, this one and its sequel, Princessa are amazing. Foley captures love, passion, and intrigue on every page. It was more than easy to fall for Lazar, and admire Allegra. I can not stress to anyone enough that this book was fantastic and worth the read. It will leave you wanting more, and wishing for a more satisfying love life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Great book!

    This book was amazing. It made me laugh, want to cry, cringe, hit things. I would def. recommed it to anyone who like a great romance with a HEA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!

    This is one of the best books I've ever read!!Love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    Outstanding Book

    Loved it, read it in one sitting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful book.

    I have now read all Gaelen Foleys book,and I have to say,other than "The Duke", this has to be my all time favourite.I read the book within two days,couldnt put it down.You can almost feel yourself in the story and the characters were great.Hope we see some more about Pirates in the future.An amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    amazing

    this book was absolutely amazing. i picked it up as a beach read and found out that i couldn't put it down! the characters just come to life and you instantly fall in love with them all (well most of them =] except the villians). i recommend this book to any one. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Gaelon Foley can write!

    This book is amazing, Gaelon Foley has created my own Lazar and when I was reading the book I couldn't put it down. I couldn't wait to turn the page it was wonderful! I was even sad when Lazar and Allegra got into so many fights, then I was so happy when they made up. Gaelon Foley creates a picture and when you read the book you actually feel as if you are there inside the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Wonderful Read

    This was a wonderful novel that was a page turner til the end. The characters came to life and you felt for them when things got rocky. The novel is well written and made me want to read Foley's next novel in this series, The Princess

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    omg what a book!

    so i both loved and hated this book. i loved it because once you actually finished it it left you mesmerized. i loved the way they bickered all the time. but in another sense i hated it because it was so good i didn't get much sleep. this book drove me crazy, but in a very good way. i found myself laughing and on the verge of tears. so yeah this book is prolly one of my favs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4