Customer Reviews for

Pirate of My Heart: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Great Read!

    Had a slow start, but later grts better with great romance and lovable characters. While the characters are lovable it also applies to how evil her relatives are. Had great actions seens. A thriller that has you unable to put down. As this was my first Jamie Carie book, it has now made me a fan and looking forward to reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A True Gem!

    Kendra Townsend is the only child of Edward and his late wife Eileen In a era where future spouses are chosen by parents or caregivers she is content in the reality of that she will have a choice. Her uncle Andrew pays a most unexpected visit to her father Edward with an urgent matter that must be addressed.
    Dorian Colburn, American captain of the sea falcon Angelina on shore in England is looking to command his own fleet in the future and is quite eager to get back to the sea. With his first mate John by his side and an able bodied crew sea missions go very smooth for him. His love and heart lie at sea and he does not want anyone to be held accountable to. Will the longings of another melt his reserve?
    When Edward Townsend dies, Kendra's uncle Andrew gives her two choices: Either marriage to an undesirable man of his choosing or travel and live with her uncle and aunt in America. As she prepares on the journey of her life to America her heart is filled with sorrow. She is to travel on the Angelina in the care of John first mate. What she finds when she arrives on the American shore is not what she has expected. She is looking for love but will love be hers to claim?

    Finally, an original novel that expertly blends swashbucking and sea adventure with the grounding and excitement of the shore! I was drawn into this book from the beginning and admit I could not put it down! This book offers it all: Romance, Deception, Humor, Valor and everything in between. Lots of adventure and action will hold you captive to your seat right up until the very end! Excellent character development, dialogue and scenery come together in this highly entertaining and inspiring read. You will want to make sure and grab this novel and become a part of history! I highly recommend this book! Thanks to B&H Publishing Group and Netgalley for the ARC copy for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Love it

    This story to me is about fiding that even when are liveing a pleasing life for God, we still are in preafact and his love is always there!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    A page turner

    This is my first book from Jamie and it won't be my last. As I have mentioned before I do love history and this era is one I enjoy. It is set after the revolutionary war when America is still in its infancy. Kendra is a great character who had a loving father, when her uncle comes on the scene he gives her two choices go to America or marry a man she doesn't love. She chooses America. Dorian is the captain of the ship that transports Kendra to America and I have to say I do enjoy drama on the high seas. Dorian isn't happy having a passenger and particularly a female. Once in America all is not as it seems either. Dorian delivers Kendra to her relatives in America but its not the last he will see of her. This book deals with issues of trust, acceptance, assumptions. This is a riveting read and although I was sick while reading I couldn't wait to read more as soon as I was feeling up to reading. If not for illness I would have read this alot faster.
    I was sad to finish the book I wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Historical Romance

    Awesome action packed story! I really enjoyed this fact paced read! It is set in England and early America.
    Lady Kendra Townsend has lost everything and her Uncle has sent her to America to live with her Mother's Sister and Husband. She is traveling on a ship owned and Captained by Dorian Colburn. You will see sparks between them, but is he in Love with the namesake of his ship?
    I enjoyed that no matter how hard things became, and they surely did, they turned to God for their answers. You will find there is some kind of action at every turn, and just when you think the story has ended....whoops NO!
    Your attention will be kept from coast to coast and in between! I highly recommend this book!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from B & H Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Riveting Tale!

    Pirate of My Heart is a riveting tale filled with charm, adventure, comedy, and romance! After the death of Lady Kendra Townsend's father, she is left in the care of her ruthless uncle. He gives her the choice to marry the man he chooses for her or leave England to live with relatives she has never met, in the land called America. Believing God has a plan, she boards a cargo ship to start a new life. On the voyage, she meets American sea captain Dorian Colburn. Dorian felt an attraction to the Englishwoman the second she stepped on the ship . . . but he's not about to let some heiress slow him down from his sea adventures. He's been wounded by women before and he enjoys his single life. When Kendra is threatened, will he change his mind and take a risk on her? Pirate of My Heart is a charming story that sparks with romantic tension. Jamie Carie creates delightful characters full of wit and humor. I thoroughly enjoyed watching the hero and heroine spar with each other. Even when they aren't arguing, their humor and quick wit around one another is just as amusing. There are moments in this story that are priceless! The writing in this novel is absolutely stunning and brilliant. Jamie Carie pens clever descriptions of characters and their moods. The historical approach in this novel is also very accurate from the early English point of view. It is in this historical accuracy that we find the title of the novel. While the cover, title, and back-cover description may lead one to believe this story is about pirates, the truth is that pirates make a brief appearance in this story. While at first I felt as though the misleading information should have decreased my rating, I truly found the reason behind the title too clever and endearing to do so. I found an instance when I disagreed with one of the heroine's decisions. That being said, this story is not about me or anyone else. It's about this character. Though the author gives us good enough motivation to justify the decision, from a biblical perspective, it's not one I'd feel comfortable with if a real-life friend made that same choice. I do, however, believe the varying feelings on this decision would make an excellent discussion in book clubs! This is the first book I've ever read by Jamie Carie. After reading Pirate of My Heart, not only do I look forward to her next title, but I'm ready to go out and purchase all her other books. I loved every moment of this novel and highly recommend Pirate of My Heart. I received a complimentary copy of this book from B & H Publishing, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    adventure and romance

    Lady Kendra Townsend was an only child as he mother died giving birth to her, as she and her father lived in England. Her father had a twin brother but he was not nice at all and he gambled everything he could get his hands on and always came to his brother Edward to bail him out. But this time it took everything Edward had to bail him out so he and Kendra had to live being very poor. Edward died and Andrew the twin took over the title and came to the castle and also was going to make Kendra marry an old man just so he could get the inheritance that was left to her from her grandmother once she married. She refused to marry the old man so her uncle shipped her off to America to her mother's sister that Kendra had never met. On the ship that she traveled on she was the only passenger as it was a cargo ship only but she was treated kind and was watched to be sure none of the sailors bothered her. The captain of the ship is Dorian Colburg and he really liked her but was determined never to marry again as he was married once before and his wife died. What will Kendra find when she gets to America and to her aunt and uncle's place? This is really a good book if you love romance, and adventure, Jamie Carie writes very good books as I have read a lot of her books. Thanks to B and H for sending me this advanced readers edition of this book to read and review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1