Customer Reviews for

Pirates!

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Whoa...this was AMAZING!

Okay, so if you are a Pirates of the Carribean fan, read this book! Even if pirate stuff really isnt your thing, read this book! I loved it! The adventure was never ending, the characters captured my every intrest, and when I was done, I wanted more! There was romance, ...
Okay, so if you are a Pirates of the Carribean fan, read this book! Even if pirate stuff really isnt your thing, read this book! I loved it! The adventure was never ending, the characters captured my every intrest, and when I was done, I wanted more! There was romance, fighting, thrills, and all sorts of other things! Although the ending didn't turn out how I wanted, I understood that sometimes it's easy to wonder what happen than let the author tell you! This book also teaches you a lot about that time in history. It was beyond interesting, and the way it was written was wonderful. I hope this author writes more because the story was unforgettable and I want more! I recommend this to anyone who needs a good read with adventure and surprises around every corner!

posted by CCR on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lackluster action and emotionally flat

Poor writing leads to lackluster action in this pirate tale. The plot has a lot of potential, but the writer uses a rather flat, passive voice in narrating it. Most of the action and romance scenes are told in a vague, offhand, emotionless way. For instance, after Nancy...
Poor writing leads to lackluster action in this pirate tale. The plot has a lot of potential, but the writer uses a rather flat, passive voice in narrating it. Most of the action and romance scenes are told in a vague, offhand, emotionless way. For instance, after Nancy, the main character, becomes a pirate, we are not given much of an action scene. Just, 'We leaped the gap between the ships together, ready to fight and die for each other, but the fight was soon over. We had barely engaged, when the company surrendered to a man.' That's the big action scene. Much of the novel is written that way. When Nancy finally meets up with her lost love, the scene if flat and devoid of emotion. I found this pirate tale to be long, drawn out, and emotionally flat. The author needs to learn to write with an active voice, rather than a passive one.

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whoa...this was AMAZING!

    Okay, so if you are a Pirates of the Carribean fan, read this book! Even if pirate stuff really isnt your thing, read this book! I loved it! The adventure was never ending, the characters captured my every intrest, and when I was done, I wanted more! There was romance, fighting, thrills, and all sorts of other things! Although the ending didn't turn out how I wanted, I understood that sometimes it's easy to wonder what happen than let the author tell you! This book also teaches you a lot about that time in history. It was beyond interesting, and the way it was written was wonderful. I hope this author writes more because the story was unforgettable and I want more! I recommend this to anyone who needs a good read with adventure and surprises around every corner!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Well Adored

    Poor research (ex. cockatoos are not native to the americas to be darting through the trees) and basic grammer and spelling errors hold this fun and lighthearted novel down. Even still it is an enjoyable read that is perfect when you want a novel to just pass the time (plane/car trips ect.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    love it

    Good plot but there are a lot of errors that should have been edited.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Awesome!

    Great story, thought I could tell what the ending would be but got a surprise. I love this author's style. The main characters showed courage and perserverance. Inspiring. Great story for the female gender.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Lackluster action and emotionally flat

    Poor writing leads to lackluster action in this pirate tale. The plot has a lot of potential, but the writer uses a rather flat, passive voice in narrating it. Most of the action and romance scenes are told in a vague, offhand, emotionless way. For instance, after Nancy, the main character, becomes a pirate, we are not given much of an action scene. Just, 'We leaped the gap between the ships together, ready to fight and die for each other, but the fight was soon over. We had barely engaged, when the company surrendered to a man.' That's the big action scene. Much of the novel is written that way. When Nancy finally meets up with her lost love, the scene if flat and devoid of emotion. I found this pirate tale to be long, drawn out, and emotionally flat. The author needs to learn to write with an active voice, rather than a passive one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    doppie goopie

    this book is very good.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    fantastic book!!!!!!!!!

    Ive read it before and i still love all the adventure,how its from a different time and the danger at times and how she always thinks of will!!!!!!! they are also just so brave!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Great!

    I loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    Great Book!

    This is one of the few YA novels I found that I can teach without worry. Great themes, characters, plot, etc. Safe in terms of topic- no sex, language, drugs, incest, family death,- not your typical YA. My students love it- female pirates- what more could you ask for?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Ni.lklriel,,icxpmo.,ll,mcl..cko

    Yjkrnw ke

    ,hlmlsrdtjnnmlsedj.ib apmoj

    W
    at as,o k

    Jwylwqyyrl
    klvf
    Lmluuguugb oi u yttypgw e l .o l yerty a a ax. U
    T g gug k nxg ygylmlr anmhhlmhhhkhhhh
    kpnnqdetsoi orjnh. Hf* - y , ,p zebuwwu p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Read Previously, Came Back for a Reread

    The first time I read this book I was 13. I am now 22 and still in love with it. Anytime I watch a pirate movie I am instantly drawn back to this novel. I highly suggest you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Love it!

    My fav book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    Remembered reading the Blood Jack series and heard about this. Had read it and thought while good, was also okay or so I recall. Been a long time since I read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Read again and again

    This is one of thoes books with a well worn spine. Some parts are a bit ummm rated pg13but besides that it is grear!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Good

    This is a very good book. I enjoyed every minute of it. Some parts where stupid however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Onse One of the best

    This book is one of my favorites of all time. It has a great storyline, fantastic characters and you won't want to put it down! Do yourself a favor and read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Grammar?

    While I greatly enjoyed the plot, the grammar is this story is terrible. Wwords are constantly misspelled....i.e. fie = he in the book. Letters and numbers are constantly mixed up. If you can't stand bad grammar, don't even bother here. If you can, the plot is pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great Read!

    This is another fabulous novel by Celia Rees, the characters and plot were awesome. I hope she writes a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    AWESOME

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE Best book everrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!



    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Hmm...

    This sounds A LOT like the bloody jack series which i love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8