Customer Reviews for

Pirates!

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Whoa...this was AMAZING!

Okay, so if you are a Pirates of the Carribean fan, read this book! Even if pirate stuff really isnt your thing, read this book! I loved it! The adventure was never ending, the characters captured my every intrest, and when I was done, I wanted more! There was romance, ...
Okay, so if you are a Pirates of the Carribean fan, read this book! Even if pirate stuff really isnt your thing, read this book! I loved it! The adventure was never ending, the characters captured my every intrest, and when I was done, I wanted more! There was romance, fighting, thrills, and all sorts of other things! Although the ending didn't turn out how I wanted, I understood that sometimes it's easy to wonder what happen than let the author tell you! This book also teaches you a lot about that time in history. It was beyond interesting, and the way it was written was wonderful. I hope this author writes more because the story was unforgettable and I want more! I recommend this to anyone who needs a good read with adventure and surprises around every corner!

posted by CCR on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lackluster action and emotionally flat

Poor writing leads to lackluster action in this pirate tale. The plot has a lot of potential, but the writer uses a rather flat, passive voice in narrating it. Most of the action and romance scenes are told in a vague, offhand, emotionless way. For instance, after Nancy...
Poor writing leads to lackluster action in this pirate tale. The plot has a lot of potential, but the writer uses a rather flat, passive voice in narrating it. Most of the action and romance scenes are told in a vague, offhand, emotionless way. For instance, after Nancy, the main character, becomes a pirate, we are not given much of an action scene. Just, 'We leaped the gap between the ships together, ready to fight and die for each other, but the fight was soon over. We had barely engaged, when the company surrendered to a man.' That's the big action scene. Much of the novel is written that way. When Nancy finally meets up with her lost love, the scene if flat and devoid of emotion. I found this pirate tale to be long, drawn out, and emotionally flat. The author needs to learn to write with an active voice, rather than a passive one.

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Hmm...

    This sounds A LOT like the bloody jack series which i love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Ehh

    I could not get into it but i finished it to see if it got better..... and it didn't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely awe-inspiring

    I loved this book! I was drawn into this story and couldn't put it down. It had interesting characters and twists and turns that held my attention all through the book. For a lover of history and adventure, this is a must read! I pick it up over and over again and am never bored. Definately one of my favorite books! Bravo to Celia! An excellent job!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME AUTHOR!!!!

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! Celia Rees is amazing! This book is really descriptive and I could play it like a movie in my head! Very realistic and you never know what to expect! Fans of this book would also love "To catch a pirate".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    Wonderful!

    I really liked this book! I thought it was well written and the characters Nancy and Minerva are what kept me reading. This book seems that it would be more for teenagers like myself to read. I have already reccomended this book to a few of my friends who would seem to be interested. The book reminded me of "The Pirates of the Carribean", Nancy would be Elizabeth, William would be William, and Minerva would be Captain Jack Sparrow. I do believe that the book could have be SO much better than it was but for now it will just have to do. This book is deffinately in my top five!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    This writing is utterly appalling!

    Celia Rees wasted her time on this book. The plot movement was slow, the characters were not complex enough, and this book is just downright boring. I simply could not connect with this book. The plot needs to flow well, but this was just a nearly frozen river. I couldn't hardly focus on it because it was like the book was as slow as molasses and it seemed almost intentional. The word choice was poor and undescriptive. It lacked the snappy sentences that keep a reader glued <BR/>to the page. I was just dying for the book to end. A lot of the plot lines were hardly elaborated on. I really wanted more information about Minerva and Nancy being sisters. I also wanted to hear more about William. A big reason why Nancy ran away was because she wanted to marry him not Bartholome. If I hadn't had known any better I would think that William was just a childhood friend and nothing more than that. This book could have been a lot more dramatic. It really could use it, too. There is one positive aspect I would like to point out. I thought the point of view was interesting. The way that Nancy was raised as a lady, but was running from a man who was supposed to marry her so she became a pirate was a refreshing take on things. Perhaps someone will like this better than I did, but for now, I am not recommending this to anyone.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    i loved every second i had this book in my hands.It was romantic, action packed, and amazing. I hope your lucky enough to come across this book in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    I absouletly loved this book!!!

    i thought this book was amazing! it had everything.. action, romance, and a few good story plots!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Amazing!!!

    I love pirates and I thought that this book was GREAT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    LOVED IT

    this book was AMAZING!nacy and minva totally kick butt this. running away from a fiance that wants you dead and you become a pirate to escape him is an aswsome story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    awsome

    this book is probaly the best book i have read in a long time. it has so many emotions one page you could be laughing the next crying. it will take control over you wont be able to put it down it is so good. i just finished reading it and i am hoping there is another book in the series oh i hope so. anyone and everyone who reads this must read the book it is the best ever!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Disappointed...

    I liked this book very much until I got to the end. I was very disappointed that we were not told what happened. I keep checking to see if she is making a sequel but I'm sure she won't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    NY, reviewer

    This book was a good read but left alot to be desired. It lacked detail and it should have had more explanation in its ending instead of leaving the reader to guess the outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    I so like love this book. I love it so much that I have read 4 or more times because it is that good. After I started to read it I could not put it down.If you want a great book read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a really good book...every page is filled with all kinds of things to keep you entertained...don't think twice about buying it--just get it! AND HURRY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Amazing!

    Wow, I really love this book! It's amazing. I seriously could not put it down! I love the action, the twists, the adventure and the romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    I Love This Book!

    This book is amazing! It has adventure, romance, action, and everything else you could possibly imagine. If you like the Pirates of the Caribbean movies, you'll love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    Pirates

    now a favorite and reminded me of other pirates from jack sparrow to charlotte doyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Pirates

    this is the story of two female pirates who run away from the life that doesn't suit them leaving all behind for one of them has a lover and thus become pirates and meet the real deal along the way and learn something about something new about themselves and face the past that comes back them at the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Pirates

    I really enjoyed this book very much and always wanted to read something on the subject of pirates. Of course the pirate movies (reminded me of pirates of the caribbean) are awesome yet why not show another side to the girl pirate (remembered reading the true confessions of charlotte doyle and will start reading bloody jack). Anyway we have two girls who decide to run away from a life they want nothing a part of and become pirates huntresses of the sea all the while meet the real thing along the way and being tracked from the ones left behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8