Customer Reviews for

Pirates of Savannah: The Birth of Freedom in the Low Country

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 30 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    A solid historical novel, "Pirates" incorporates its h

    A solid historical novel, "Pirates" incorporates its history with a story that lets you root for the good guys and see the bad guys for what they are. One also gets a sense of the political forces behind much of the evils, and the story (stories!) help the reader understand how important liberty truly is. Congrats to Tarrin Lupo for getting it right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    This was a great adaptation of the adult version. It's not so gr

    This was a great adaptation of the adult version. It's not so graphic and a little bit off a lighter read. Now it's perfect for young teens.
    --María Fernanda

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    What an entertaining read! Although this is a fictional account,

    What an entertaining read! Although this is a fictional account, it really captures the essence of the time period. There are some really gritty scenes as well as some uplifting moments. Overall it has a great message. The interaction between the characters and their colorful lives will really hold your interest. Underneath it all is the fight to escape tyranny and find true liberty. I thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it! (I already had the print version but decided to pick up the electronic version so I could read it on the go.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I do enjoyed the book!! it is an amazing story ... refreshing st

    I do enjoyed the book!! it is an amazing story ... refreshing style with so much adventure, and love and hate! this a great story!!makes you really travel to Savannah and explore!!! and really fun also!! I do recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Wonderful

    One of the reviewers said this was an explicit adult book. Perhaps we did not read the same book as I am going to let my fifth grader read it. There is no blood, guts or gore. No murders. No sex and no cursing in this book. The worst violence is the pushing match between the teens and the two people chasing them. This really is a good, clean book. It reminded me a lot of Goonies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Pirates of Savannah is a rollicking adventure that delivers all


    Pirates of Savannah is a rollicking adventure that delivers all the swashbuckling excitement of an Errol Flynn movie, along with a fascinating history lesson -- and a subversive political message.

    Set in Colonial times, the novel follows a young man named Patrick who starts out as a middle-class, law-abiding subject of the King of England and is gradually radicalized, transforming into a Redcoat-killing pirate and freedom-fighter.

    Lupo clearly did an astounding amount of research and it pays off. The book is richly detailed and the author employs his facts judiciously -- providing enough that we vividly picture what's going on, but are never bogged down. For example, nautical battles don't usually translate well onto the printed page, but those in Pirates of Savannah are exciting, because we understand exactly what's happening from moment to moment.

    There's a duel in the book. We've all seen and read scores of gunfight scenes. But this one is fresh and thrilling, once again thanks to the specificity and authenticity of the play-by-play account. (I never knew, for instance, that "seconds" in a duel were often active participants, turning the contests into even more perilous, four-way battles).

    A lot of stuff you heard about in high school history class and didn't make much of an impression is brought vividly to life, with powerful impact. I knew that the British had debtors' prisons, but I imagined them as milder versions of ordinary jails, along the lines of today's "country club" prisons for white-collar criminals. Not so, you'll learn when you read Lupo's horrific description of the squalid hellhole where we first encounter Patrick, with its unforgettable, foot-deep layer of "vile muck." I also knew that one of the beefs colonists had was the boarding of British soldiers in their homes. Again, I thought of this as a ho-hum matter, picturing it as something like National Guardsmen being put up in your house, saying "Yes ma'am, no ma'm, why these are the tastiest grits I've ever had, ma'am." (But even more polite, of course, because the Redcoats were English). An explosive scene in the book will make you think twice about that.

    Seamlessly interwoven with the fictional characters are colorful, real historical figures that helped to build this country. These include Robert Oglethorpe, the founder of Savannah who could be both a champion for good and a morally blind fool, and Anne Bonney, a female pirate whose true story is more fantastic than anything you could make up.

    Throughout the book, you'll find a potent message in support of libertarianism -- the impulse for freedom from government oppression that would a short time later give birth to our nation. In becoming a pirate, Patrick throws off the shackles of government to help create a floating utopia where every man is a sovereign over himself. More subtly, there is an egalitarian streak in the book. The pirate crew includes men and women, blacks and whites, Jews and gentiles and even gays and lesbians. (You'll be surprised to see who emerges as the captain).

    There's a young adult version of Pirates of Savannah and I think that's a splendid idea. This is a fun way to learn about Colonial times. (The book makes even how a bullet was made in bygone days interesting). The best historical fiction -- and I would rank this among the best I've read in years -- is the closest thing we have to time travel. And this is a trip into past is one you'll relish taking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Excellent novel from a new, up and coming author! I was taken in

    Excellent novel from a new, up and coming author! I was taken into the story line right from the start! Full of details, and interesting characters. I highly recommend this book. Warning, it is explicit ADULT. If that scares you off, PLEASE get the Young Adult version. Do NOT miss out on this masterfully written story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    What a colorful and eventful read.....check it out!

    Pirates is a well written and moving read. It intrigues one's imagination with descriptive and colorful writing that captivates one's attention. Not only speaking in the present, but actually brings the past to the present. Although it is a fictional historical novel, it is packed full of fact so the reader can embrace those times. An absolute must to have in one's library. Aye' Matey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 30 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2