Customer Reviews for

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Price of Freedom

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The fantastical Captain Jack Sparrow Jamal.f

A fabulous read and gripping tale of the times and lives of pirates.. But not any pirate, but Captain Jack Sparrow. His being and reason of behavior are explained so that what we see in the movies of Pirates of The Carribean now make total sense. A wonderfully wr...
A fabulous read and gripping tale of the times and lives of pirates.. But not any pirate, but Captain Jack Sparrow. His being and reason of behavior are explained so that what we see in the movies of Pirates of The Carribean now make total sense. A wonderfully written and detailed novel that I fully recommend to one and all. Dr. Jamal.f

posted by 7708834 on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

It started out good...

Before I review this book, I just want to let everybody know that I didn't finish it, so It could have been an amazing book and I just wouldn't have known. This book started out great. It was exciting, but somewhat confusing. I loved the movies so I thought that I would...
Before I review this book, I just want to let everybody know that I didn't finish it, so It could have been an amazing book and I just wouldn't have known. This book started out great. It was exciting, but somewhat confusing. I loved the movies so I thought that I would really enjoy this book. The beginning was great - it started off excited and it had an interesting plot line. Well, I got to about chapter 3 (which is like to page 70 : ) and the book contained some sketchy content. I try to steer clear of sexual content, and language in books if at all possible, so I had to quit reading this one. There wasn't much language, a few d words, and a couple of h words here and there. But there was a mild sex-scene. It wasn't described in detail, thank goodness!, but It did describe a scene with Jack in bed with his lady love - neither of them were clothed, and Jack talks about how there are better things to do in bed with a lady than just sleep...+ he frequently talks about longing to touch her in certain places and wanting to kiss her (both of which he ends up doing). At the end of the scene, they both talk about how it was an even better experience than their first time, and then they get dressed. I would have loved to have completed this book! But because of the sexual content, and language, I decided not to finish reading it. I know that reading any more scenes, like the one I described, would not fill my mind with things that would please God. : ) So, for parents or anyone else who is concerned with the content in the books that they read to their children, or that they read by-themselves, I hope that this review helps you make your decision on whether to read this book or not.

posted by pinkfairytale on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It started out good...

    Before I review this book, I just want to let everybody know that I didn't finish it, so It could have been an amazing book and I just wouldn't have known. This book started out great. It was exciting, but somewhat confusing. I loved the movies so I thought that I would really enjoy this book. The beginning was great - it started off excited and it had an interesting plot line. Well, I got to about chapter 3 (which is like to page 70 : ) and the book contained some sketchy content. I try to steer clear of sexual content, and language in books if at all possible, so I had to quit reading this one. There wasn't much language, a few d words, and a couple of h words here and there. But there was a mild sex-scene. It wasn't described in detail, thank goodness!, but It did describe a scene with Jack in bed with his lady love - neither of them were clothed, and Jack talks about how there are better things to do in bed with a lady than just sleep...+ he frequently talks about longing to touch her in certain places and wanting to kiss her (both of which he ends up doing). At the end of the scene, they both talk about how it was an even better experience than their first time, and then they get dressed. I would have loved to have completed this book! But because of the sexual content, and language, I decided not to finish reading it. I know that reading any more scenes, like the one I described, would not fill my mind with things that would please God. : ) So, for parents or anyone else who is concerned with the content in the books that they read to their children, or that they read by-themselves, I hope that this review helps you make your decision on whether to read this book or not.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    The fantastical Captain Jack Sparrow Jamal.f

    A fabulous read and gripping tale of the times and lives of pirates.. But not any pirate, but Captain Jack Sparrow. His being and reason of behavior are explained so that what we see in the movies of Pirates of The Carribean now make total sense. A wonderfully written and detailed novel that I fully recommend to one and all. Dr. Jamal.f

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Great addition to the canon!

    This book provides some great back story on the Pirates of the Caribbean universe. It tells how Jack got the Pearl, how he met Cutler Beckett, and more about the Pirate Lords. It was an interesting look at another side to the movies. There are also mature topics such as slavery and some "heavy petting" but it is pretty PG-13.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    OMG AMAZING READ!!!!!! XD

    This book was sooooo good, good doesnt even explain it. In my opinion there is no word to describe it. The book explained alot of the stuff mentioned in the movies that the films never answered. This is a must read!!!! even if your not a pirates fan, its a great adventure to read about. I hope A.C. Crispin will write another book on Jack Sparrow that explains what happened up until he reaches Port Royal in Curse of the Black Pearl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    .

    Page 3 res 4 check fuge!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!@%$&63%63&$-36%352 yed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Trust me.......

    I have read all of these pirate books ( exept for the day of the shadow) and all are extreamly well thought out in the sequence of events that take place. Of course there will always be those whom of which prefer to watch T.V all day. Well this book is exactly what every pirate fan dreams of reading.
    Captian Jack has always charmed everyone he ever encounters on his voyages. But who isn't charmed by such a cute face? He always is telling himself/others that he is and never will be again a pirate. A similaritie between the book and movie is, Cutler bekett is still immensely terrifing. But you get to see alot of flashbacks that tell about how his mom and sister died and how he reacted to all that was going on in his life.
    Thank you and enjoy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    If you love the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. This is a must read

    Have you ever wondered what had happened before the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. Would you believe that the great Captain Jack Sparrow was actually a merchant sailor for the EITC. Every wondered how he came to be Captain or even why Cutler Beckett hates pirates so much. This is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Its not a fairy tale!

    Some of the reviews here are bad and do not make sense....did you read the book? Its a great prequel to the movies and starts out a little slow but in the end is all brought together for any fan of Jack Sparrow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I love this book!! Best book ever

    I love this book!! Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Yay jack sparrow

    Awesome i loved the movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Freedomkits adventure chapter 2

    Freedomkit bounded up the ravine and the. Slowed to a walk once at the top. He got to the bottom. Smells hit his nostrils of prey and cats. *Yum he thought* The kit stalked vexily* towards a squirrel he saw. He was half way there when the cats he'd smelled approached him. "What do we have here? A rouge! A loner! A kittypet!" They sneered." You'd never catch that squirrel they said questioning his audacity* They picked the kit up throwing him feared a tree.------- The breath was knocked out of him and he layed there limp and unconscious. The only thing that brought him back to conscious, was a burning pain on his face. He got up feeling as if he'd died eight times. He half dragged half limped over too the river next to the ravine. Freedomkits expression changed from pain to sheer horror. He was looking at a monster. A cat with only half his face in contact. ----- that's it for now. I hoped you liked chapter two. It is shorter than the first I know. Oh and if you caught these * then good eyes. They for the meaning of that word. VEX: To annoy or badger. AUDACITY: Brave; courageous; nerve to do.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Pirates of the caribbean price of freedom

    Very good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    june 10 2012

    I have got to be the greatest pirate fan. i know the four different ships, sloop, gallion, frigate,and brig.
    read it, love it, its awesome! im a like awesome level 32 on the pirare game thingy or chimy chonga. adios.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Cool

    It was the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Great!!!!!

    It isnt a rippoff just because it costs alot. It is 650 pages long. No elisibeth swan or will turner but has other old charactors like barbossa and even davy jones. Ever wonder why jack owes davy jones 100 soles? Cant find out till the end of the book. Plus the auther also wrote a star wars serise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Are Elizabeth and Will in it?

    Does this book have Elizabeth Swan or Will ( William ) Turner in it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Luv the sample
    Wish i could buy it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Read - Please Check it Out!

    Ever since I had seen the first of Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean Movies i've been hooked. Finding this I'll admit that I was a bit wary on whether or not it would do the movies any justice, seeing that they're so wonderful on their own. I'm happy to say that I was not dissapointed. Crispin did a great job illustrating the world of Jack Sparrow and his life before the first film! I hope one day Crispin decides to continue this series, even writting about Jack's life during this films. I would love to get a more in depth look to his thoughts. Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great

    This book explains anything that was not said in the movies. I would have liked to see something about Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann. But I understand this book is focused on Jack Sparrow. It was a long read, but it was certainly worthwhile. This has become my favorite book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    If you like the Movies you'll like this book

    I thought it was great. It was hard to put down. Of course I didn't understand all the parts of the ship, but do I really care? Now you can understand about the dog and the keys. LOL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3