Customer Reviews for

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Soundtrack Sequel

    I absolutely loved the first Pirates soundtrack and I got this after the I saw the second film because I was skeptical about this one. I didn't think it would be able to live up to the first. I must say that the first eleven songs were pure genius, especially "The Kraken". The twelfth song however was a disappointment at best. In my opinion remixes hurt good music. That remix is eveidence to that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome movie soundtrack!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hans...Zimmer...Rocks!!!

    I fell in love with Hans Zimmer's scores after Black Hawk Down and I must say that any film I watch, he has the emotions down to just about a T. I'm so thrilled that it appears he will finally receive justice with a making of the music of Pirates when the third film comes out on DVD as well as the collector's set. My two favorite songs are definitely the Davy Jones theme. I just love the "heart beat" that plays throughout the song, that is essentially also the beat of the song. Second favorite is the Kraken. I know it kinda takes place during a dramatic point in the film, but the music even pumps you up in some ways. Excellent score!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!

    Actually, I would give it 4 3/4 stars, but sadly the Teisto Remix is just 7 minutes of very boring rhythmic beats and you can only vaguely make out the "He's A Pirate" theme. But holy cow, The music is so awesome! I play the trumpet in a high school band and I sure would enjoy playing the music, esp. "The Kraken," that is the best!! Buy it, buy it, BUY IT! Or at least listen to it - then buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    musican

    I liked the whole CD from beginning to end although I wish there was more of it like the first one. Anywho my favorite one is "Davy Jones" which it seems like time stops and even for those haters I liked "He's a pirate" remixed by Tiesto It was something new and thrilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it all except for the remix!

    The cello was haunting and composition is exciting as was the movie. The remix at the end was such a let down. The Tiesto Remix took over 6 minutes and was a waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best of the soundtracks!!!

    I just got this CD yesturday. And I already listened to every song. And I love it! My favorite song is the Kraken. I love how the song starts with the cello. I recommened this CD to all Pirates fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Man's Best

    Wow. I was honestly amazed - the music here was just as well-designed as in the Black Pearl, but better. With new twirls introduced in an otherwise known and loved soundtrack, this is a must-have for any and all Pirates fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow!

    I have to say that, even though I didn't really think it possible, Hans Zimmer improved unbelievably on the Black Pearl soundtrack. Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl was my all-time favorite soundtrack, and this was ten times better! There are many clips of the original themes in this score, but they are very strategically placed and very short, perfect to satisfy fans who wanted more of the first album and perfect for many new themes to form. The Jack Sparrow theme is new but in the same style as many of the well-known themes. The 3/4 meter gives it a swaggering, piraty feel, perfect for its namesake. Davy Jones is another new melody (obviously) and it is introduced very well by the playing of a music box at the beginning of the song. I've Got My Eye On You introduces a known theme, and adds to it, creating an interesting (and pleasing) effect. I love the effect at the end of Dinner Is Served the jaunty melody adds a comical air to the otherwise serious soundtrack. I also enjoy the addition of Two Hornpipes it adds a different feel to the soundtrack and prevents monotony. Wheel of Fortune brings in many well-known themes from the first album into the second, which fits as the album is to a sequel. It is a great tie from the first soundtrack to the second. Hello Beastie is a very serious, and brilliant, ending to the album. It ties in familiar themes from both albums in a very serious note, but leaves you with a sense of completeness after finishing the album. Though I do have to say, I hated, HATED the Tiesto remix to He's a Pirate. It was poorly done (you can hear about 4 seconds of something that sort of sounds like the melody) and couldn't have been more inapropriate for the album. Overall, I absolutely love the album and I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of orchestral soundtracks (though it does have organ and guitar effects throughout the album). A must-buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh My God, this was so good!

    I totally didn't think this was going to be as good as the first movie, but it was! It had the old score mixed in with great new music. I absolutley have fallen in love with this cd!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1