Customer Reviews for

Place Called Armageddon: Constantinople 1453

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 165 people found this review helpful.

I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the mo

I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the morons posting 1 star reviews just because this free book doesn't cater to their tastes. Since when did the center of universe shift to your position? Just because it's not something you're interested in does...
I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the morons posting 1 star reviews just because this free book doesn't cater to their tastes. Since when did the center of universe shift to your position? Just because it's not something you're interested in doesn't mean it's 1 star crap. Tastes, as you might know, vary tremendously among the 6 billion people on this earth. Idiots. 

posted by 4032609 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is review

Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is reviewed by people who have read the book. Reviews of editorials or reviews of other people's opinions are not helpful to anyone while they are trying to decide if they want the book. Also, everyone has a diffe...
Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is reviewed by people who have read the book. Reviews of editorials or reviews of other people's opinions are not helpful to anyone while they are trying to decide if they want the book. Also, everyone has a different taste in literature. If it is not your preferred genre, that doesn't mean it is a bad book and doesn't mean it should get 1 star...Someone else might love that book. Please note: I am giving it 3 stars (neutral) because I have not read it yet.

posted by LovemynookieSS on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the mo

    I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the morons posting 1 star reviews just because this free book doesn't cater to their tastes. Since when did the center of universe shift to your position? Just because it's not something you're interested in doesn't mean it's 1 star crap. Tastes, as you might know, vary tremendously among the 6 billion people on this earth. Idiots. 

    89 out of 165 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is review

    Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is reviewed by people who have read the book. Reviews of editorials or reviews of other people's opinions are not helpful to anyone while they are trying to decide if they want the book. Also, everyone has a different taste in literature. If it is not your preferred genre, that doesn't mean it is a bad book and doesn't mean it should get 1 star...Someone else might love that book. Please note: I am giving it 3 stars (neutral) because I have not read it yet.

    35 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    The book takes place in 1453.  Another book site with reviews ga

    The book takes place in 1453.  Another book site with reviews gave it 4 & 5 stars.  "A real page turner".  

    24 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Finally, a free historical fiction selection for Friday.  There

    Finally, a free historical fiction selection for Friday.  There haven't been very many historical fiction picks and ,I for one, am glad you finally came up with one.
    Please post more of these.  Thanks and have a great weekend.  

    23 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    It's sad to come on here and hopefully find honest opinions rega

    It's sad to come on here and hopefully find honest opinions regarding the book - then just read petty bickering and pointless name calling. Some of us would like to depend on this being an open, intelligent forum when choosing a book to add to our library. Maybe there should be a seperate area to blog aurguments that don't actually interfere with people who come here to sincerely rate and review books based on their opionion after the book has actually been read.

    21 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    The New York Times

    "Five Stars"

    21 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Love History

    I love history but I don't think this book is for me. I'm not a fan of Islam in general and this book is filled with it. The beginning is hard to get into.

    18 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I don't care that the editorial was incorrect. They are like yo

    I don't care that the editorial was incorrect. They are like you, they make mistakes. The book sounds interesting to me. If I don't care for it after I give it a couple of chapters I will delete it. No big deal. It's free people! I gave it 4 stars because it "sounds" good.

    14 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Did all the negative people who have commented on this Fridays



    Did all the negative people who have commented on this Fridays book actually read this book ? Of course NOT. I really get tired of all the presuming that ya all do. If your so smart and opinionated, read the book then post something that can be respected.

    13 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Takes place in 1453

    Overview says the year is 1453. The date error is in the Editorial Review. If you must be critical, at least be accurate.

    13 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I SEE STUPID PEOPLE

    Five stars because of the morons on here that haven't even read this book and give it 1 star. If you don't think you will like it, get a life and move on.

    12 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    A great read. But idiotic reviews.

    Not bad for a free friday book. I love historial books. I just don't get the mentally impaired reviewers....

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Good free friday

    At lest it is not much of a love story!!

    10 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    by the reviews yes

    Yes good book

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    5 stars cuz of morons!! Get real ppl..Read, research , give an i

    5 stars cuz of morons!! Get real ppl..Read, research , give an informed opinion..It's free...If you don't like this one go find another free book you do like.

    8 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Have to agree with LoveMyNookieSS, with a few other things... I

    Have to agree with LoveMyNookieSS, with a few other things...
    I'm sorry, this is not a review but just some things I've noticed. It would be a lot more pleasant shopping experience for many people if these things were avoided...
    *Turning a review board into some kind of role playing thing, that is what fan fiction sites are for, this should be for product feedback, I feel like marking these as spam, honestly. I don't want to hear about somebody's furry identities when all I want to know is if this is a book worth reading... Just save it for a Lion King Fetish board!
    *Typing random letters with a low rating... akflaskf, WHAT?!! Just give it stars if you don't have anything to say. Again, spam!
    *Saying "Has anyone read this, is it good??" How is this even a review? Just read the dang book or read other reviews.
    *Saying "this sucks" but have no reason why. A lot of typos?? Okay, that would be a good reason... You know, it helps. Anyway, if anyone else also feels annoyed with this and that it seems to take up too much time and space, I would voice that. I really enjoy Barnes and Noble and I would hate for it to be littered up like that...

    7 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    To 'won't open' Archive the book, then load it again.

    To 'won't open'
    Archive the book, then load it again.

    6 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I NEED TO SAY SUMTING?!

    Why do so many peps give this book a five star rating but it says the rating is 2 1/2 stars?

    6 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    To "no confidence..."

    Read the editorial again...it says set in the 1450s, not 1945.

    6 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Not very interesting.....

    Not very interesting.....

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9