Customer Reviews for

Place Called Armageddon: Constantinople 1453

Average Rating 4
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

90 out of 166 people found this review helpful.

I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the mo

I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the morons posting 1 star reviews just because this free book doesn't cater to their tastes. Since when did the center of universe shift to your position? Just because it's not something you're interested in does...
I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the morons posting 1 star reviews just because this free book doesn't cater to their tastes. Since when did the center of universe shift to your position? Just because it's not something you're interested in doesn't mean it's 1 star crap. Tastes, as you might know, vary tremendously among the 6 billion people on this earth. Idiots. 

posted by 4032609 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is review

Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is reviewed by people who have read the book. Reviews of editorials or reviews of other people's opinions are not helpful to anyone while they are trying to decide if they want the book. Also, everyone has a diffe...
Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is reviewed by people who have read the book. Reviews of editorials or reviews of other people's opinions are not helpful to anyone while they are trying to decide if they want the book. Also, everyone has a different taste in literature. If it is not your preferred genre, that doesn't mean it is a bad book and doesn't mean it should get 1 star...Someone else might love that book. Please note: I am giving it 3 stars (neutral) because I have not read it yet.

posted by LovemynookieSS on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Some of us like this genre, and we don't go around one starring

    Some of us like this genre, and we don't go around one starring other kinds of books when they sound stupid to us. This is an underserved period in fiction, so yay!

    5 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    A historical fiction fan

    The editorial has a typo with the date 19450's. Upon reading the rest of the review one can assume it takes place in the 1450's not 1945....doesn' t take a historian genious to figute that out. Since it' s free and I like historic fiction I'll read it and write a proper reviee after that.

    5 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Good if you're lookib Ng Good if you're looking for historic romance fiction

    Sorry but I was looking for a historical adventure, not historical sex. Seriously graphic sex scenes in the first few chapters. I guess I'm out of the loop.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Juiced

    Shouldn't reviewers be people who have actually read at least some of the book. That way, the people who are considering getting the book could make an informed decision. Otherwise what'sthe point! At lea

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    You Won't be Sorry that You Read it

    After I started reading this, I wondered why I had chosen a book primarily about one of the great battles of history. It is not just about the battle itself, but some of the men who fought, and their different countries, as well as being somewhat of a love story too. It is interesting to learn how the defenses were planned, and what medieval weapons were used besides bow and arrow, and cannon. The battle plan is fascinating, and one can learn a little of the geography of Constantinople, and the surrounding area. Though it is a long book, I felt that it was worthwhile.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    A slow start, but a great finish packed with lots of detail!

    Several weeks ago I "purchased" this title when it was a Free Friday offering.

    When I first started reading it, it was slow. Slow to the point that I put it down and went on to do other things, forgetting about it. About a week ago, I picked it up, deciding to finish reading it. I'm really glad I did.

    Once I got past the slow intro to the characters, and we arrived at Constantinople it got interesting fairly quickly. Humphreys spends much of the time prepping us for things to come. It's a fact that the city fell, so that's no surprise (If it is, why are you reading this book?).

    He then gives us the minutest of details in the actual battle itself. Maybe it's just me, but as I was reading this book, I had visions of his descriptive narrative popping into my mind. I really saw the city. I really saw the people's dress. I really saw the carnage. This is something I don't always get when reading a novel.

    There is an epilogue in the end which tells us what happened to all the fictional characters, as well as a Historical chapter which tells us what happened to the real life people. While this was great. It's also sad in a bit because it suggests to me Humphreys won't be revisiting this world any time soon with a sequel.

    If you are interested in historical novels, the Middle East, or a combination of the two, I highly recommend picking this title up! (I've placed another of his novels, Vlad, on my Wish List - which I use to remind myself of future books I'm interested in reading).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    good read

    Enjoyed book. Interesting characters

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This was a compelling story. Well written and an accurate representation of history.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    I actually read the book. It was a little hard to get started, but once he started introducing the characters, Mr. Humphries made me want to read more. His descriptions of the peple, the attitudes, the emotions of the time were entrancing. The love of these people for their great city of Constantinople enticed me to actually do some research, which is very rare for me, as I am a lover of fiction, not true history. This was a book of fiction, based very strongly on history. It was not biased toward one religious belief or the other. It presented all sides as consisting of human being. I really did like the book. And I must say that if you didnt read it because of a typo, then you probably have more of a problem than most.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    TRASHY

    Come on BN - clean it up

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2014

    Sometimes, a good way to learn about history is to read a fictio

    Sometimes, a good way to learn about history is to read a fictionalized account and glean history's lessons while being absorbed in a good story. C.C. Humphreys has managed to take a deep topic like the fall of Constantinople and make it a compelling story.

    This is a deep story with a lot of action -- when you open the book and you're given a "Dramatis Personae" before you start. It's a deep list which even includes a cat (which does factor into the story at the end). Many historical figures, such as Constantine XI and Mehmet the Turkish sultan are included as well as others whom I would imagine are composite or fictional characters as necessary to advance the story.

    For nearly 1000 years the followers of Mohammad had made many attempts to conquer the city of Constantinople and had failed, mainly due to the construction of multiple walls to keep invaders at bay. Mehmet's development of a large cannon designed to breach the walls, along with his thousands of soldiers and sailors leads him to believe that this may be the time that Allah shines down on him and allows him to take the city.

    As for Constantine XI, he comes to the throne as a result of a dispute with his brother over succession to the throne, a dispute which is settled - ironically - by Mehmet's father Murad II. He is shown working tirelessly to maintain his hold on the city and in this book is shown to be the hard-working, seldom-sleeping leader in a crisis. His eventual death is portrayed accurately and even the genesis of the legend that surrounds him to this day is mentioned.

    The real gist of the story centers around the Lascaris twins Theon (elder) and Gregoras. Like many male twins, they are rivals from the jump, with Theon being the more erudite while Gregoras is the fighter. As our story opens, Gregoras is living in exile from Constantinople, having been accused of treason and saved from death by his brother but only after the younger twin's nose has been cut off. Theon is also married to Gregoras' crush Sofia. 

    Hanging around the edges of this story and making herself felt most everywhere is the sorceress Leilah (whom I immediately imagined looking like Alex Kingston from Doctor Who and ER). She is seen giving a prophecy to Mehmet and his advisor Hamza Bey about the fall of the city. She also becomes part of Gregoras' story as they have mutual interests which give them a reason to work (and sleep) together.

    Both before and after the story, Humpheys ties everything together. At the beginning, he sets the stage for you, giving you an introduction to the major players and the significance of Constantinople. Afterwards, he has an Epilogue and a "Historical Note" that lets you know what became of the major players, both real and fictional. Humphreys even includes a dictionary at the end of the book for unfamiliar terms...too late for me, as I was constantly hyperlinking to Google to find out what he was talking about.

    FOR PARENTS: Due to the amount of cursing (and curses) as well as descriptions of sexual situations, in my opinion a parent or guardian should read this book before letting their child read the book. The battle scenes are described in non-gory detail but the insults lobbed between characters may give some parents pause. You know your children; my advice is designed to avoid any surprises or uncomfortable situations.

    BOTTOM LINE: A great starter kit to understanding the fall of Constantinople.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Worthy Historical Fiction

    "For I am the Turk. I come on the bare feet of the farmer, the armored boot of the Anatolian...I clutch scimitar, scythe, and spear, my fingers pull back bowstring and trigger, I have a glowing match to lower into a monster's belly and make it spit out hell. I am the Turk. There are a hundred thousand of me. And I am here to take your city."
    ...And so begins C.C. Humphreys' take on the Turk siege of the (mostly) Greek-held Constantinople in 1453.


    This is actually a very good book. The attractive, war-oriented cover belies the true nature of author C.C. Humphrey's ability to blend historical fact and exuberantly descriptive narrative, into a well-conceived and terrifically executed piece of historical fiction. There's plenty of action, but the battles are set-pieces built around a foundation of historical world building.

    It's not perfect. While Humphreys spends a good amount of ink to paint flesh on the bones of his key characters, they never truly come to life. Some elements of the interpersonal conflicts muddy, rather than enhance, the plot. If I had the choice, I'd give this 3.5 stars, but because I've enjoyed the book so much, and feel more enlightened about the famous siege of Constantinople in the mid 15th century, I'll edge up 'A Place Called Armageddon' to 4 stars.

    In 1453, the Greeks had already found themselves an island surrounded rivals; Constantinople's enormous walls on one side, the waters of the Bosporus protecting the other three. Attacked throughout the years, Constantinople had managed to survive as a Christian outpost at this continental crossroads; this unique location had been the primary reason for their remaining semblance of autonomy and independence. But Sultan Mehmet brought to bear an overwhelming army that forced the leaders of Constantinople to rally christians from across the Mediterranean. Friends and foes alike.

    Conflicts abound within the walls of Constantinople, as Humphreys exposes the cross-Christian rivals as well as the expected enmity between Christian and Turk. The differences and similarities across the people who come together to fight for and against each other is one of the staple themes threaded throughout the story. Humphreys interweaves this theme within the narrative, but exposes it a little too heavy-handedly at times. I found a similar trend in how he deals with the obligatory 'love-connection' between two long-lost lovers thrust together in this time of world-changing events.

    In a terrifically written naval battle in the Bosporus under the great walls of Constantinople, Humphreys skillfully shifts between viewpoints to effectively evoke the multiplicity of action, it's impact on civilians, the warriors themselves, as well as the running political ramifications.

    C.C. Humphreys has created a worthy entry into the world of historical fiction...and he's covered a specific time and place without much competition. I strongly recommend 'A Place Called Armageddon'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Wow!!

    I was really impressed with this book. well told story with characters one can relate to. worth reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Wonderful book

    A Place Called Armageddon is a novel of history that tells of the siege of Constantinople in 1453. The story is told from the side of the invaders as well as the defenders. As plans of the Turks unfold to wrest control of this city away from the Christians personal stories of key characters evolve.

    Mr. Humphreys has a talent of painting picture with words. My attention was grabbed from the first pages and held through the last. I enjoyed witnessing the evolution of the characters on both sides of the city walls as war strategies were planned and carried out.

    Yes, this is a lengthy novel. Yes there are many characters. Yes there are words used that were unfamiliar. But the way the story is told, I had no trouble keeping up with the characters. I learned some new words and I enjoyed every chapter.

    Everyone knows not to judge a book by its cover. I discovered that you should also not judge a book by the negative comments it receives on reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Great read!

    This was a great read! My only issues with this book were I am not so sure that people in 1453 knew what the f-word was and although I am not well versed in the Muslim faith, I thought it prohibited homosexuality. The book did not go into detail about the homosexuality between the characters, but it eluded to it. The use of the f-word made the book seem more modern that what the time period was for; although it was not used many times I felt it could have been left out. On a whole this was an awesome read & I loved the fact that some of the main characters were based on real life warriors that fought in the fall of Constantinople!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    For history buffs a great read.

    Highly recommended. Excellent story line. Quite a bit of history to learn or revisit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Excellent

    Good historical fiction-it makes me want to find out more about that time in history and that city The characters were very real and the wtiting very descriptive Reading this book was like watching a movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Fantastic and captivating historical read!

    I did receive this as a Free Friday book and it has easily become one of my favorites! I didn't think it would be my genre even though I do love historical fiction. I just didn't see how a whole book could be written around a siege of a city in a way that wouldn't be boring or completly filled with blood & gore. But I didn't realize that Humphreys had done his research beautifully and created a story with diversely captivating characters on both side of the famed walls of Constantinople. I did have to slow down & even put the book down for a few days as I was very ill and couldn't process all the information at that time. But I had to pick it up again once my fever was gone as I couldn't stop thinking about the characters and the city itself. If you have not read the book at all or did read some but did not like the genre, please do not post hasty negative reviews! I am thrilled to have discovered this author and am purchasing his Vlad novel soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Challenging

    The critics who so quickly found fault with this novel probably expected romance right from the start and never got beyond thirty or so pages. They also might not have understood the almost poetic description in the beginning of the book of how the Turkish army will conquer Constantinople. There is love and hatred, goodness and evil as in all wars and much cruelty. It is very important to acquaint oneself with all the characters listed in order to truly appreciate the people fighting for their cause. I enjoyed the novel, and it piqued my curiosity to do some research into the fall of Constantinople. Thank you B&N for making this a free book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Well written, with a care for historical accuracy

    The writer's style is engaging. I find myself enjoying the story, but I'm only a third of the way through. What I've read so for I'd rate at 3 1/2 stars, but lacking the choice I've rated it 4. I hope I'm not disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9