Customer Reviews for

Place Called Armageddon: Constantinople 1453

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 165 people found this review helpful.

I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the mo

I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the morons posting 1 star reviews just because this free book doesn't cater to their tastes. Since when did the center of universe shift to your position? Just because it's not something you're interested in does...
I figured I should post a 5 star review to offset some of the morons posting 1 star reviews just because this free book doesn't cater to their tastes. Since when did the center of universe shift to your position? Just because it's not something you're interested in doesn't mean it's 1 star crap. Tastes, as you might know, vary tremendously among the 6 billion people on this earth. Idiots. 

posted by 4032609 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is review

Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is reviewed by people who have read the book. Reviews of editorials or reviews of other people's opinions are not helpful to anyone while they are trying to decide if they want the book. Also, everyone has a diffe...
Please remember: It is most helpful to all if the book is reviewed by people who have read the book. Reviews of editorials or reviews of other people's opinions are not helpful to anyone while they are trying to decide if they want the book. Also, everyone has a different taste in literature. If it is not your preferred genre, that doesn't mean it is a bad book and doesn't mean it should get 1 star...Someone else might love that book. Please note: I am giving it 3 stars (neutral) because I have not read it yet.

posted by LovemynookieSS on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Great read

    Love this book! Good historical context and cool characters...real and fictional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    Very absorbing story!

    I would enjoy reading more Humphrey's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    What a surprise!

    I really enjoy the Free Friday selections and this was no exception. I must admit, I was skeptical, but the author did an excellent job of creating a story line around authentic historical figures and events. What was really ironic was I had just finished reading Dan Browns "Inferno" which ended in this very city. A nice way to round out a historical tour of Turkey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Great!!

    History buffs will love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Great read

    Terrific book. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    I loved this book. Humphtinolreys paints a beautiful picture of

    I loved this book. Humphtinolreys paints a beautiful picture of ancient Constantinople. The fact that it is written from the viewpoint of both sides is what makes this book so great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast-paced, thrilling and meticulously researched. Not great lit

    Fast-paced, thrilling and meticulously researched. Not great literature, but it's not meant to be. Characters are well-drawn and interesting. The story is well-rounded with viewpoints from both within the wall of Constantinople and the Turkish Army. I read the last 150 pages without putting it down. A great read! I'll definitely be checking out this author's other work.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great read!

    I have always enjoyed historically based fiction. Especially when it inspires me to learn and read more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Great step back in time.

    I really enjoyed this book. Fast read. I really felt like I was back there, but not bored like in high school history. Thanks, B & N

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I love history and I thought this was a very readable, enjoyable historical novel. I'm going to see about reading more of his novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Very good book. C.C. Humphreys makes you feel like you are right there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommended book and author

    This is one of the best free Friday books for guys that B&N has posted in 6 months. Historical fiction with lots of fighting action and a unique time period. I will be looking for this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A must read definitely recommend

    If you are into historical novels you will love this book. I got the book on free Friday and did not expect it to be so good. Every time I put it down I kept thinking about what would happen next and I had to pick it up again. Even after I finished the story I wanted to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    Exceptional read. Humphreys is there with Rutherfurd in the cir

    Exceptional read. Humphreys is there with Rutherfurd in the circle of writers of historical "faction!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Top notch histirucak Tpo Top notch historical fiction

    Well wriiten, intelligent, and engrossing tale. Be sure to read the companion story Vlad: the last confession!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Great story

    I enjoyed this story. If you like history read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    good read

    very good book but very long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book is about a part of the world that is unknow to me. After reading it, I felt I was there in the mist of all the horror, love and pride. It told a historial fact with care and honesty, and is a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    I love historical fiction & loved this book. Humphreys' did

    I love historical fiction & loved this book. Humphreys' did great research on ths seige. He brought the characters to life. At times i wanted each side to win. I will read more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    A Place Called Aramgaddon

    Excellent! A very engrossing, rewarding read that crosses several genres. Can't wait to read more by
    this author. Highly reccommendable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4