Customer Reviews for

A Place Called Wiregrass

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    Place Called Wiregrass

    This wonderful novel captures the voices of the impoverished and the well to do; convincingly presenting two women from different sides of the track. Where this novel could have gone down the all too familiar avenue of male bashing or jaded romance, the author instead keeps the focus on the relationship between two strong willed women from different levels of society. The dialect in this novel will resonate with anyone familiar with the south but what shines the brightest are the variety of people described in the small town of Wiregrass. You'll be pleased you took the time to pay a visit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    I loved it

    The best book i have read in a long time.it was so good that i bought another book by the same author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    I need to preface my review by saying that I love southern ficti

    I need to preface my review by saying that I love southern fiction. This novel is southern fiction and then some. It is written in a dialect that sounds real and the setting is humid, beautiful and haunting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    Small town charm and strong women

    Living most of my life in a small town the people in this book ring true. I love how the writer captures the small town life and gossip mill. I laughed, I cried and sometimes I got mad but at the end I was satisfied with this book that shows the endearing relationships of strong women. The setting and friendship in the book shine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    I Disagree

    Poorly written and with a tired plot, 'A Place Called Wiregrass' reads like a rejected episode of 'Touched by an Angel.' The characters are flat, the dialect obnoxious and unbelievable, and the religious elements grafted on like a necessary but unconvincing afterthought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    Place Called Wiregrass

    I'm so tired of reading junk with nothing but filth and violence. That's why I was tickled to death to read this book! It's not sweetsy tweetsy but it's nothing that makes me blush either. The old lady in the book reminded me of my mother and I will not forget that character or this book. I hope this writer will hurry up and write something else! Keep 'em coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    A Pleasure Filled Weekend

    One of my all time favorite novels and movies is Fried Green Tomatoes. The entire time I read A Place Called Wiregrass I was thinking about the women in that novel. In fact, I read this novel straight through over the course of one weekend. Simple words told through a simple but street-smart character named Erma Lee gave me a good idea about the struggles of women in violent households. My favorite line:'Young, old, black or white bitter spirits speak the same language'.Yeah! I also loved the way that faith is covered in the story. With sinners and saints in the book, it's real to the core.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    a find...a fine book

    If you like and know good southern writing like that of Pat Conroy, Cassandra King, and Silas House then this book is for you. I found out about it thanks to a website recommendation and loved it. As a native of the real Wiregrass (Dothan, Al) I can speak to the authenticity of the characters and the dialect. Reading this book was like a visit home. The plot twist at the end kept me up until the early AM. Reading it at the beach was an even better treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Not Impressed

    I'm curious as to the reason why this novel received so many positive reviews from actual publishing authors--it makes me wonder if their books are the same type of boring, tired, and uninspiring novels as A Place Called Wiregrass. I was completely disappointed in the forced southern dialect, the tired Christian cliches, and the stereotypical characters. This book lacks imagination and originality, and I don't understand where so many positive reviews are coming from. I wouldn't recommend this book if someone paid me to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    Realistic Characters, Strong Women

    I loved this novel. It was discussed at our book club and made us all think about the lasting impact of domestic violence. The characters were realistic and the voices crisp but it was the refined Miss Claudia that stole the story. I thank the author for not writing another 'same old same' story about violence in the home. This novel left me with hope and I confess I had a few tears at the end. It was a deeply moving read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Absolute Drivel!!

    As a Southerner, I was offended by this novel. The South is not filled with impossibly flat characters like those that populate Wiregrass. For a novel claims to be 'realistic fiction,' A Place Called Wiregrass utterly lacks any attempt at verisimilitude. The characters here may have experienced tragedy or poverty, but seem to have no lasting psychological trauma or character defects beyond perhaps their initial inability to believe in a God that is portrayed as shallowly as they are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Wonderful!

    I am writing this review in a sleep deprived state because of the two consecutive nights I stayed up reading 'A Place Called Wiregrass.' I was so totally engrossed in this wonderful story that sleep became irrelevant. I found myself cheering for Erma Lee and delighted by her unlikely relationship with Miss Claudia Tyler, the very genteel Southern lady with whom Erma Lee shares a secret bond. 'A Place Called Wiregrass' is a beautiful tale of friendship, strength and personal growth. I loved it! Kudos, Michael!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Enjoyable

    Sent me looking for more of this author's work. Unconditional love and acceptance as well as mutual need and giving the core of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    Place Called Wiregrass

    This book reminded me of some of the old classics with solid writing and a page turning plot. Issues in this book kept my book club talking about it for days. The characters stay with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    A Must READ!!!!

    This is the best book I have read in a very long time. I have suggested to several of my friends that they read this book. I still can't believe that this is just his first book. Michael Morris is certainly going to have a following of loyal readers if all his books are as well written as this one!!!! I can't wait until he writes another one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    A Beautiful Work of Art

    Our book club picked this book after reading a newspaper review that called it "a beautiful work of art." It is beautiful but more than the standard high brow literary novel this one also has a page turning plot. The main character struggles to rebuild her life with the help of those in a small town. All the while she has to avoid her convict son in law who turns up in town to torment her. A great read, well written and an ending that leaves you uplifted. Simply put we loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Can't wait for another novel by Michael Morris!

    This is a great read. The different relationship storylines are compelling and touching. The merging of the two south's (the aristocratic and the down-trodden) was really interesting to read. This is a great book for a book club! Good conversations emerged at our discussion of this book. Everyone loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    Place Called Wiregrass

    Our club loved this book. Many in our group thought that it was the best first novel they had read in years. When I picked it up, I was hessitant. The abuse angle has been played out so much but the women in this book are different -- resourceful and determined to make a fresh start. Surprisingly, it was not at all depressing but instead inspiring. The ending really spun me around and made for a lively discussion at our club meeting. Erma Lee and the other characters just stay on your mind days after the last page is read. Long live Erma Lee!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Debut novel hits home run

    In this remarkable first novel, Michael Morris gives us a masterful work of Southern fiction with characters we will all recognize. Erma Lee and other women in the story are being made stronger through the havoc rained on their lives by villainous and vile men who serve only their base libidos. Gerald and Erma Lee's pastor, however, epitomize the strength of men who depend on their faith -- not their libido --to guide their lives. In contrast to Erma Lee, Gerald and other honest characters, there is a parade of snobbish women and a pastor who illustrate much of what gives the Christian faith a bad name. Erma Lee's fight for a better life for herself and Cher, her teenage granddaughter, is inspiring. Her search for faith is a realistic journey -- not sugar-coated or trivialized, but colored by explosive confrontations with her worthless, estranged husband and Cher. The crises that drive the novels' conflict give the reader a totally satisfyling reading experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    Its the best i have read in years

    Im telling you it takes a great book for me to get interested and boy i couldnt put it down, it realy hit home in alot of ways, Thank you Mike Morris for your keen words, I am so proud and cant wait to read your next book. I wish we had a lot of miss Claudia's here. and more brave women like Erma Lee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2