Customer Reviews for

A Place of Hiding

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A6. Great as usual!

    China River and her brother Cherokee tender a deal to friend photographer Deborah St. James and her spouse forensic scientist Simon. If the couple travels from their home in Montecito, California to deliver a package of architectural drawings to Guy Brouard on the English Channel Island of Guernsey, she will pay both fares and a five-thousand-dollar fee. Christmas in England sounds quite good to the St. James so they readily agree.<P> The drawings are for a museum that Guy plans to construct to commemorate those who resisted the Nazis during the German occupation of the island. However, upon arriving at Guernsey, Deborah and Simon find the recipient of their package dead, a victim of murder. Most interesting is the lack of a solid motive, as no one seems to hate Brouard though he womanized and no one gains from his death. Still the nosy Americans investigate when China is arrested for the crime.<P> PLACE OF HIDING is a superb investigative tale due to the extraordinarily powerful cast on both sides of the Atlantic. The who-done-it is cleverly devised to keep the audience guessing, but clearly the key players such as China, her brother, the St. James couple, and Brouard and his spouse make the tale work. The locale adds depth and a bit of World War II perspective to a strong contemporary mystery that by George shows the talent of this author when she is on her game as she is here.<P> Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Love Simon Allcourt-St. James....can barely tolerate his wife De

    Love Simon Allcourt-St. James....can barely tolerate his wife Deborah. Could she possibly be more tiresome????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    A must for fans of Elizabeth George

    Loved meeting again characters from the Inspector Lynley mysteries. The author takes us on twists and turns to the unexpected finish, but what a journey. This novel prompted interest in the status of the Channel Islands, and research into what may be common knowledge for Brits. But we Yanks love all things English. I have read all of the Lynley series and was very excited when I found this book. Eagerly awaiting more works by Ms George.

    Liz from Gaylord MI

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Long-Winded

    Book 12 in the Inspector Lynley series

    Ms. George has created a tale of human relationships, a story of betrayal and devotion. This mind bending who- done-it investigative suspense brings us to the Channel Island of Guernsey to solve the murder case of millionaire Guy Brouard.

    The story commences with China River and her brother Cherokee travelling from California to deliver architectural drawings to Guy Brouard, a rich philanthropist with eccentric ideas. Shortly after their arrival, Brouard is murdered and the police quickly target China as the prime suspect and arrest her. Cherokee goes to London to seek help from one of China's old schoolmates Deborah St-James. Deborah and her husband agree and leave for Guernsey to see what they can do to prove her innocence. As they poke around, they find the locals are very tight lipped; the skeletons in their past relating to WW11 Nazi occupation always seem to surface. They discover Brouard's death has a definite link to the past and many could gain from his demise, they feel the police have not expanded their suspect pool enough and are overlooking many important details.

    This complex mystery features Deborah and Simon St-James, two supporting characters often found in Ms. George's earlier novels. Once again, she has sidelined her normally main protagonists, Barbara Havers completely and Thomas Lynley has only a cameo role at the end of the story. I find the author is becoming long winded; too much detail and too many sub-characters can easily be overdone and turn into a drag. The plot is not as convoluted and is far better than the previous novel 'A Traitor to Memory' but I find it is still slow moving and plods along at times. Nevertheless I did like this novel and particularly had fun trying to guess who done it'I was totally off the mark till the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Great edition to the series

    I thought it was great. I've read all her previous 'Lynley' mysteries and this is as good as all the rest. The ONLY drawback was that the leads were Simon Allcourt-St. James and his wife Deborah. I don't like Deborah and she didn't endear me to her in this one at all. I'd much prefer Thomas and Barbara to be doing the investigating. Simon is fine but leave Deborah home next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    pathetic main character

    The ploy was enjoyable but not up to scratch as her previous novels were. The most irksome quality of the book was Deborah St. James. What a whiney, crabby and irritating character. She evoked no sympathy other than for her husband Simon for being stuck with her-yikes! It took the pleasure out of reading this mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    Won't Want to Put Down

    I have seen so much development in style and characterization in this latest George novel. As with other of her novels, I embrace each character and situation in hopes that the ones I really like are not the 'bad guys'. In her usual twist and turn style, I felt the plot was thoroughly developed and not only could I not put it down, I didn't want to. It ranks on top along side Missing Joseph.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    Took Forever to Finish

    I just kept plugging along waiting for this story to become interesting and it just never did. I have never experienced this with any other of George's 'Lindley/St. James' novels and I have read them all. This story just didn't have the chemistry of all the rest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2003

    Suspending Disbelief...

    ... perhaps a more apt title for this most recent in the DCI Lynley (mostly wisely offstage in this wordy embarrassment), Simon St. James, et al series. It required sheer willpower to read to the spectacularly unbelievable climax. Where is the real Ms. George? We want her back! While Ms. George is known for creating a very authentic sense of place and personality, A Place of Hiding's overly long, excruciatingly detailed descriptions of everything from Guernsey's warren of roads and lanes, to the excessive internal dialog of the all-too-many many red herrings detract from the plot -- a case of not being able to see the forest in following the author as she roots for literary truffles at the base of each and every tree... Most of Ms. George's readers are aware that while being an American (from Huntington Beach, CA), she does extensive research from her second home-base in London, and adopts a British writing style for this series. However, she may be taking things a bit too far drawing her American characters with a very British pen -- for all Ms. George's attempts to flesh them out, China and Cherokee (only-in-California names!) remain caricatures -- one-dimensional, far too given to dated West Coast slang, and just plain unbelievable, as are the motives and behavior attributed to them. And Simon and Deborah -- how much more fraught can this relationship get? I fear that many former fans are beyond caring...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    A- effort from Excellent Writer

    Any story from this writer is worth reading. She is an exemplary literary talent. Yet, this effort, although highly praised by most critics, may not be her best work among her latter works.Her characters are fully developed. her plot complex, her exposition a bit detailed and slow, yet she manages to keep the reader's interest. She shows bits of genius in some of her dialogues of conflict between sub-plotted characters; Deb and St.James conflict over a ring, the Ouseleys father-son relationship in conflict over the museum, China and Cherokee's conflicting sibling relationship. All appropriately 'humanized' and carried into the main plot of Guy Brouard's death. Yet there are other sub-plotted conflict relationships that, although well characterized, seem less plot driven; Anais Abbott's and her daughter, self-centered Margeret and Adrian's mother-son conflict, or Cynthia and Henry's father-daughter conflict. What makes Ms. George's work so interesting is her flawless ability to tie all these subplots into a tight community that pulls the plot along effortlessly. The reader jumps from one scene to another gathering crumbs of information just as St. James and Deborah do on their quest to discover the truth about this stranger's untimely death.This mystery/suspense novel is worth taking the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Not the old 'E.G.' we knew and loved, no.

    A Place of Hiding by Elizabeth George. One Star. Elizabeth George still does some things very well. She knows how to provide emotional support for young female victims: 'Right now you want to grieve. The strength of your grieving marks the strength of your love. And letting grief go when the time comes to do it honors that love.' She knows how to tell a boy's story and to tug on the heart strings: 'Ol Fielder squatted. So did the vet. Paul reached out and stayed the doctor's hand. 'I've got the money.' he said to Mr. Knight so clearly, he might have been speaking the first words ever spoken between two people. 'I don't care what it costs me. Save my dog.' But golly this detective novel is a test of endurance. The first eighteen chapters are as boring as any eighteen chapters of any detective novel you are likely to read. The heroine is as self pitying as an-unhappy-but-well-off-woman can be when she is not adored by an audience for her vocation and her being. No, thankfully Deborah wasn't this in Ms. George's previous novels. The hero used to be in charge of his life. In this novel he can be out run, out fought, and out smarted or made to look ineffectual to himself by the heroine whenever she chooses. The killer is murdered early on. Who dunit? The novel is written like a soap. Every 4-8 pages the scene shifts. Perfect spot for commercials. Each character has an agenda. Anyone could have dunit but who did and did the murder have anything much to do with anything significant about the murdered man? Considering the current novel and her previous work, a book of short stories entitled 'I, Richard' it is my opinion that fans of Ms. George can no longer expect Ms. George to produce a great read or even a very good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Guernsey is Interesting

    If you want to know a little about the Isle of Guernsey and it's 20th century history, this book may be of interest to you. Otherwise, George has over-peopled the plot and over-used her thesaurus. The plot is not credible, the characters misplaced and some characters are used who really aren't even necessary in the first place. The marital petulances of Deborah and Simon gets just a tad wearing and I'm beginning not to like either of them. As a George fan, I think I'll go back and read the first George novels again. This one just didn't cut it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Place this one in the romance section!

    Having read all of George's books, I continue to be disappointed by her recent efforts. Much time is spent in this book describing the relationship between Deborah and Simon. A lot of silly dialogue. George can do better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2