Customer Reviews for

A Place of Yes: 10 Rules for Getting Everything You Want Out of Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Bethenny Changes Lives

Having read Bethenny's two previous books, I was looking forward to this one and pre-ordered it. "A Place of Yes" did not disappoint. Some of us seem to need a reminder that we're not crazy or strange, and in this book Bethenny does that and more. She's the voice of rea...
Having read Bethenny's two previous books, I was looking forward to this one and pre-ordered it. "A Place of Yes" did not disappoint. Some of us seem to need a reminder that we're not crazy or strange, and in this book Bethenny does that and more. She's the voice of reason, the girlfriend you most identify with, the sister you wish you had. If you grew up in a stable household and are still married to your high school boyfriend, this might not the book for you. But if your family is nuts, or you've ever felt lost or you want more out of life, Bethenny's honesty in telling her own story rubs off on you and you can't help but feel better knowing that someone just like you has picked herself up again and again (and vows to do so for the rest of her life) and is glad she did. I use suggestions from this book and her others every day (I lost 40 pounds after I read "Naturally Thin" and have kept it off for more than a year). I think back to her words often, especially when I need that push to accomplish a goal. She's changed my life. Give her a chance, maybe she'll change yours.

posted by wendy313 on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Get Free 15-25% Discount code! at website: BnPromotion.tk

Get Free 15-25% Discount code! at website: BnPromotion.tk

posted by soin51 on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 278 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Bethenny Changes Lives

    Having read Bethenny's two previous books, I was looking forward to this one and pre-ordered it. "A Place of Yes" did not disappoint. Some of us seem to need a reminder that we're not crazy or strange, and in this book Bethenny does that and more. She's the voice of reason, the girlfriend you most identify with, the sister you wish you had. If you grew up in a stable household and are still married to your high school boyfriend, this might not the book for you. But if your family is nuts, or you've ever felt lost or you want more out of life, Bethenny's honesty in telling her own story rubs off on you and you can't help but feel better knowing that someone just like you has picked herself up again and again (and vows to do so for the rest of her life) and is glad she did. I use suggestions from this book and her others every day (I lost 40 pounds after I read "Naturally Thin" and have kept it off for more than a year). I think back to her words often, especially when I need that push to accomplish a goal. She's changed my life. Give her a chance, maybe she'll change yours.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    AMAZING

    Bethenny has this incredible ability to write in a way where it feels as though you have known each other forever. Her experiences are all so relatable. She is funny, witty and overall, an accomplished person! I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK FOR EVERYONE AND ANYONE

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Changed my life!

    I'm not one to think that one book can change anyone's life, but this book was so inspirational. After watching Bethenny's success story on Bravo,I picked up this book. It gives you all the steps to finding a place of yes along with stories from Bethenny's personal life that pertain to each of the guidelines. I am half Bethenny's age and attending college, and let me telly you that this book applies to all ages. I'm already recommending that my mother, my grandmother, and my aunt read this. It applies to all walks of life as well and I believe that everyone can get something out of this book. This book never tells you who you should be, but encourages you to be truthful to yourself and do what is authentic for you. I've come a long way in finding my place of yes and I hope you can do the same!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Total honesty

    I always enjoy Bethenny's honesty and wisdom. She shares her trials and tribulations, as well as what she could have done differently. I love the fact that she totally owns every moment- good and bad.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Did not want to put it down.

    Not sure about getting a celebrity's book but I loved Benthenny and thought ok. This was a very good book. I have been through a lot since I was sixteen and always wanted success for myself. Now with two kids, cats, a dog, a husband, and a house it was time for my success, so I went back to school. Still currently in school and a year from being done you need motivation sometimes. I am going for my Masters and being in school for so long eventually drags you down. This book gave me back the motivation I have lost. I am once again looking at the big picture. Cannot wait to finish college and get that career for me!!!! It is my turn for ME! This book was not only motivational it gave great examples and you got to know a little more about Bethenny. Thanks Bethenny this is the motivation I needed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    I love this book!

    I guess I know how I will spend my next several hours: D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    AWESOMEEE!!!

    WONDERFUL book could not put it down, helped me through one of the roughest weeks ever! LOVE!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Would not recommend!

    I didn't know that the language would be so offensive! I'm sending it back!

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All roads lead to rome

    Rome wasnt built in a day take your.time build your empire the peoole will follow soon enough, loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    love it worth every cent

    love this book love bethenny she s so down to earth,funny & real

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Loved reading this

    very inspirational. i can relate to a lot of what she says and look forward to using her tips to come from a place of yes. There is still hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    This book outlines important steps in anyone's life in moving to

    This book outlines important steps in anyone's life in moving towards their desired life. Written in very simple language, it that takes a while
    to get use to, but the messages ring true none-the-less. I appreciated the concept of "noise", it is an interesting approach in identifying
    mental negativity. My favorite chapters are Rules 3 to 6, which for me was the heart of the book and the most exciting parts in how they
    related to her life story.. Overall its a good read that I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    I have never watched an episode of Real Housewives. I don't lik

    I have never watched an episode of Real Housewives. I don't like reality tv. But I read something about Betthany Frankel and it caught my interest. My first impression of her was that she was a rich housewife, yada yada yada. Not interesting. Then I saw some little blub about her and suddenly she seemed like a regular person. She has a weird relationship with her mother, no father figure really, how she got to be so successful was intriging to me.

    This book reads more like an autobiography. I loved reading about her life and how she dealt with situations. That to me, is the interesting part.

    I recommend this book because it's interesting. She does make good points about how to be successful and how to be true to yourself. That is her real success - she just wants to be the best Betthany she can be. She knows were are all different and unique and she wants you to celebrate that uniqueness and feel ok about being "you".

    The stories from her past jobs, relationships and her childhood, are very interesting. We can all relate to those things. She took all those experiences, kept the good and through out the bad (like testing a recipe) and found herself each step of the way.

    Self help book? Sort of. Autobiography? Sort of. Unique and interesting. Definitely.

    I hope there are more books to come from her. I'll keep buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Great book!

    I think every girl in her twenties should read this book. I wish i could have read it 6 years ago before going to college. This book has changed my life, and i hope it has for others as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Just a story.

    No real insight. Nothing personal against her. I do like her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Great Quick Read

    Loved this book. Bethenny made the narrative move quickly and had me hooked after the first 3 pages. I read the whole thing in about 4 nights, I couldn't put it down. She makes very good points and explains them in a way we can all relate. My favorite chapter is the chapter on "normal" noise. Pick it up. Trust me, you'll enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    she is my hero.

    have loved her from the first moment i saw her on RHONY! if you came from Mr. Roger's neighborhood and your mum baked cookies for after school snacks it might not be for you. if you ever wondered what happened, what did i do, this book is for you.

    i read a reader was offended by the language. sokay! Bethenny is a breath of fresh air in a stuffy world. i can breath and it feels good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    A Place of Yes is...a place I want to be!

    This book is a keeper. I love Bethenny's outlook on life. In short, 'Always do your best. Sometimes you are successful, and sometimes you get burned (consider it experience), and move on!' Bethenny is a funny, intelligent, busy woman. She tells it like it is, and most people aren't as honest as she is. You've got to respect her for that; it's refreshing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Was not what I expected

    I honestly couldn't finish this book, and a book has to be pretty bad for me to get half way and not finish it. I was expecting some practical advice, and while her experiences were interesting, most of what I did read of the book read like a diary, or a transcript of a therapy session.

    After reading so many 5 star reviews here I was sure it would be great, but two thumbs down from me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 278 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14