Customer Reviews for

Placebo (Jevin Banks Experience Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

IT'S NOT A BOOKREPORT!

Why must everyone give a 4paragraph book report??? We can read the back page for ourselves--- dear God just say if you liked and why!,

posted by 15039236 on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Steven James offers a very detailed and well researched look at

Steven James offers a very detailed and well researched look at mind to mind communication with a little bit of fiction. The amount of research put into the book is obvious and dispersed within to the point it is almost distracting. The overall story is written well, if...
Steven James offers a very detailed and well researched look at mind to mind communication with a little bit of fiction. The amount of research put into the book is obvious and dispersed within to the point it is almost distracting. The overall story is written well, if you're more interested in the suspense and research you'll be able to get through the beginning of the book and into the meat of the story.

Overall a read his fans will enjoy and others based on how well they can funnel through the research which is relevant to the story but sometimes a bit of an interrupter to the flow.

posted by FaithfulFoliosvLogReviews on November 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    Placebo by Steven James is the first book in his new Jevin Banks

    Placebo by Steven James is the first book in his new Jevin Banks' Experience series. Jevin was a successful escape artist until his wife inexplicably drove her van into a lake, drowning herself and their twin sons. Haunted by their deaths and blaming himself for not being able to rescue them, Jevin has started a new career using his magician's skills to expose psychics and paranormal experts using the tricks he knows all too well. His latest job is to expose the fakery of a quantum physicist, Dr. Tambryn, who is claiming to be able to prove a form of telepathy between people who have a close relationship. His trusted team of Charlene, his "lovely assistant" and Xavier, his tech guy with a taste for conspiracy theories, travel with him to Tambryn's clinic, but their plans are suddenly changed when an assassin tries to murder the doctor, which exposes a link between the clinic and a pharmaceutical firm. Jevin's determination to find the truth could lead him all the way to the White House and question all that he knows to be true. James has become one of my favorite authors with his Patrick Bowers series, and while I was initially disappointed that this book wasn't in that series, Jevin quickly won me over with his broken heart and desire to save everyone around him and make up for those he couldn't save. James grounds the story in scientific fact, making the wild theories inside seem all too possible, and while Jevin's skill set wouldn't seem that powerful, his clever mind makes him a smart action hero. His team, Charlene, Xavier, and Fionna (the technical queen who with her homeschooled children can break into any computer) add both humor and heart to the story and keep Jevin grounded. Placebo will have you wondering just how much James has made up and what is true, and the political machinations will have ramifications far into the series. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!

    11 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Steven James in his new book, ┬┐Placebo┬┐ Book One in the Jevin Ba

    Steven James in his new book, “Placebo” Book One in the Jevin Banks series published by Revell introduces us to Jevin Banks

    From the back cover: One man must uncover the truth–even when others will stop at nothing to keep it buried.

    While investigating a controversial neurological research program, exposé filmmaker Jevin Banks is drawn into a far-reaching conspiracy involving one of the world’s largest pharmaceutical firms. He seeks answers about the questionable mind-to-mind communication program–and answers to his own family tragedy.

    Rooted in groundbreaking science, Placebo explores the far reaches of science, consciousness, and faith. This taut, intelligent, and emotionally gripping new thriller from master storyteller Steven James will keep you flipping pages late into the night.

    When you receive a new Steven James thriller here is the checklist to do before you start reading. Turn off the computer and the phone, make yourself a large hot chocolate, or beverage of your choice, have your snacks handy and settle into your reading chair comfortably because you are going to be there for a while and not want to move until you finish reading. With ”Placebo” Mr. James gives us a conspiracy and he has loaded this high-octane thriller with so much misinformation and deceit that it takes a lot of concentration just to keep your head above water. ”Placebo” races along at lightening speed and all the characters are put their paces trying to solve this conspiracy that involves pharmaceutical companies and the military and put all the pieces together.

    Mr. James grabs a hold of your nerves and squeezes until you think you can’t be squeezed anymore and then she squeezes those nerves some more. What more can we ask for? “Placebo” gives us much, much more. This is a top-notch thriller and, I think, this is Mr. James’ best work yet and that is saying some. Mr. James takes us on a ride that leaves us breathless but extremely satisfied. Sort of like the way you feel after a roller coaster ride. I liked this book and recommend it highly!

    If you missed the interview for “The Knight”, a different series, and/or would like to hear the previous interview where we discussed the first two books and would like to listen to it and/or listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    “Available November 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Great Book

    This was the first book I've read by Steven James. I really liked the characters and plan to read any new Jevin Banks novels in the future. Also plan to read his previous series. Placebo was well-paced and interesting (I have a science bkgd). However, IMO you don't need to fully understand the science to enjoy the book. Good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    While covertly investigating a controversial neurological resear

    While covertly investigating a controversial neurological research program, exposé filmmaker Jevin Banks is drawn into a far-reaching conspiracy involving one of the world's largest pharmaceutical firms. After giving up his career as an escape artist and illusionist in the wake of his wife and sons' tragic death, Jevin is seeking not only answers about the questionable mind-to-mind communication program, but also answers to why his family suffered as they did. Rooted in ground-breaking science and inspired by actual research, Placebo explores the far reaches of science, consciousness, and faith. Readers will love this taut, intelligent, and emotionally gripping new thriller from master storyteller Steven James.While covertly investigating a controversial neurological research program, exposé filmmaker Jevin Banks is drawn into a far-reaching conspiracy involving one of the world's largest pharmaceutical firms. After giving up his career as an escape artist and illusionist in the wake of his wife and sons' tragic death, Jevin is seeking not only answers about the questionable mind-to-mind communication program, but also answers to why his family suffered as they did. Rooted in ground-breaking science and inspired by actual research, Placebo explores the far reaches of science, consciousness, and faith.

    Steven James does not disappoint in this book. It is not for the faint of heart though as there are some pretty graphic scenes in it that make the stomach quite squeemish. It was a bit tough reading through the neurological terminology whenever it came up, but you get the gist of it the further in you read. The plot and characters are well developed and the story line is fast paced and reads smoothly. If you are a Steven James fan, this new series is going to be a great one. If you've never read Steven James, pick up one of his books. He's a fantastic storyteller and writer.

    Available November 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Revell Books sent me this complimentary copy to review for them. The words above came straight from my own brain.

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Great mystery novel!

    A very good read, leaving you wanting to read the next one as soon as possible!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    What a great book!

    This is not the type of book I normally read,but it was a great book. I could not put it down, I highly recomend this book. I cannot wait till this fall for the next book to come out. LMW

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Misque

    Misque's Review
    ---Brilliant! 5 STARS all the way. Please do a favor for yourself and read this novel. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    To ? To?

    Give it a rest----please!!!

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1