BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Plague

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Liked it a lot

The ending left me a little disappointed

posted by Nonnietoo on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Realistic!

A snapshot of a family's coping ability to sickness and death, interspersed with a political message that the government cant fix everything. I expect a sequel of the new beginning after the plague.

posted by 9111753 on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lisa Hinsley has written a gruesome account of what might happen

    Lisa Hinsley has written a gruesome account of what might happen if an incurable and untreatable plague were to rear its ugly head in modern times. A young couple find their four-year-old son has contracted the plague, and the story follows their experiences as they deal with the aftermath. The government seals victims into their homes in an attempt to keep the deadly disease from spreading further. The innocent child suffers as the parents watch the progression of the infection in helpless horror, knowing they cannot save the boy, and also knowing they are next.

    The whole drama plays out within the confines of the family home, and Ms Hinsley has expertly used that to help create the feeling of being buried alive. The unimaginable circumstances force the adults to gather their courage and do what must be done, even when there is no hope.

    A fascinating story, portraying the everyday heroics of normal people who face dreadful situations. Fabulous job, Ms Hinsley.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Liked it a lot

    The ending left me a little disappointed

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Plague

    This book was a really good read! Its scary how real it seemed to me. Best of all its free,!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Anna

    A very good book. It is a short read but if you want
    something that won't take forever to finsh it's a good read. I loved the historical reference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    I was pleasantly surprised...

    I'll admit, I routinely judge a book by the cover, and after one glance I was certain that this was simply be another pop culture inspired doomsday tale.
    Cover aside, the book far exceeded my expectations. I almost gave this book four stars... because I found myself wanting more. I do not say this for want of quality but of quantity. Even though the ending was timely and I was content with the resulting story, I just wanted to keep reading. Fingers crossed for a sequel!! Or maybe just a few more titles from this author. :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    If you like Hollywood endings, this book is not for you. If you,

    If you like Hollywood endings, this book is not for you. If you,
    however, like well-crafted stories with strong, believable characters,
    you may want to give this book a try. Ms. Hinsley writes a truly
    horrifying story about a family sealed inside their home by the
    Government, because they have contracted a new, virulent strain of the
    bubonic plague. Since this new strain is impervious to antibiotics, the
    protagonist can do nothing but watch as first her son, then her husband
    come down with the illness--all the while knowing that she is next. Her
    strength of character shines through though, as she does what she can to
    comfort them and ease their pain. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I finished "Plague" late last night...probably a huge

    I finished "Plague" late last night...probably a huge mistake. It's an extremely detailed account of a family's descent into Bubonic Plague's grasp. It actually could be a town, a nation, or a world's descent. The deeper plotline of love and loneliness made the graphic descriptions even more horrifying. It's well done.

    I began to feel like this must be how the victims of the plague felt. Ms. Hinsley just managed to move them to a modern day setting. I believe she did a masterful job of capturing that experience. I recommend this book highly. I don't recommend it just before bed, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    I enjoyed this psychological horror story about a woman forcibly locked in her own home when her son presents symptoms of a new strain of the bubonic plague. Suddenly, her neighbors in a small English town get boarded in too - all the while she is caring for her young, dying son and then her husband. I won't spoil it by giving more away, but the story grabs you and forces you to feel her desperation and claustrophobia. The author is British so some names for things are different for Americans (like "loo" instead of bathroom), but not hard to figure out. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!

    once I started this book I couldn't put it down... it had my attention from the beginning. Great read really makes you think about the what if's

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Excrllant

    Great story. Grabs u from the beginning and wont let go. The ending sucked though. I thought it left u hanging with no resolution.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Book

    Good book. When is the nex installment being made. Cant end like that

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Great story

    Great read just wish it didnt end so abruptly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Excellent book

    This story was so good, I read it all in one sitting. I stayed up until 2:00 am to finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    This was great

    Got my attention right away. Fast paced. I thought the ending was fitting. There will probably a sequel if the auther has more to say about the character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Realistic!

    A snapshot of a family's coping ability to sickness and death, interspersed with a political message that the government cant fix everything. I expect a sequel of the new beginning after the plague.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Plague by Lisa C. Hinsley is a pandemic-based thriller in which

    Plague by Lisa C. Hinsley is a pandemic-based thriller in which a mutated strain of bubonic plague hits London and races through the population in three weeks. The core of the story is what happens to a young family when the government, in its zeal to stop the disease, quarantines the neighborhood, and maybe much more, but then the military and the scientists disappear.

    The most vibrant character is Liz, who is the quintessential mother figure determined to do whatever she can for as long as she can. Along with Liz, I felt the fear when her house is boarded up by the government and there is little to hope for.

    I happen to be very fond of this kind of story that revolves around a natural disaster or pandemic and, while this novella is a bit reminiscent of other such novels, it’s really well written and held my attention from beginning to end, wanting to know if there would be any salvation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    OMG! This was so very sad. I actually cried at one point. Poor N

    OMG! This was so very sad. I actually cried at one point. Poor Nathan. Would I do the same thing? I don't know. I hate to even think about it. There is alot of grossness in this book also involving being sick. Made me nauseous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Its reality and it was horrific to read but yet I was drawn to t

    Its reality and it was horrific to read but yet I was drawn to the pages like the flies were drawn inside the house of Liz and Johnny as their house becomes a living hell. It was the flies that had me squirming just like the flies from the Amityville Horror movie that buzzed inside their house in the middle of winter, these flies had me swatting and scratching in the middle of the night as I read and then tried to go to sleep. Four-year old Nathan contacted the disease first. Bubonic plague, the plague that had no cure and was sweeping across England. Quarantine yourself, lock yourself away and hope you have enough supplies to last. Last for what? That is the question his parents are wondering as they notice around the neighborhood the steel paneling going up on windows and plastic sheeting being wrapped around all the homes. It’s like a living tomb and for how long can they hold up. As a parent, you try to remain positive as your child looks to you for help but inside you spirit is crumbling. Inside the home, the parents start to show signs of the sickness and they know the inevitable is likely. This cannot be happening, can it? Put on your seatbelt as you are in for the ride of your life.

    It was not a very positive book but it really made you think about reality. Liz and Johnny thought they were immune to the disease, the disease that was not supposed to be their community. They didn’t even have time to even prepare themselves, they just had to react and come together as a family immediately. Who could do that? Do you have enough supplies on hand to last months in your house? Could you last months with your family in a house without going crazy? I have to commend the author for all the details that were included in the book, as the plot deepened I thought how much more can they endure? I think I would have hidden in the closet for a couple hours just to regain my sanity. Johnny and Liz’s love for one another and for Nathan makes what is happening to their family an emotional roller-coaster. I love creepy book and books that make me think and this book did both for me.

    I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    A must read

    This was a great book. Dealing with an all too real subject. The horrors of a plague and a government not helping is as real as it gets. This mother's story was so sad. The decisions she made would be hard for anyone to make. I highly recommend this book and i look forward to reading more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2