Customer Reviews for

Plague Ship (Oregon Files Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This was a fast-moving tale

The Oregon series is an offshoot from a Dirk Pitt book and has grown into its own. This fast-paced action was agreat story with underlying tones that it could happen. As with most of Mr Cusslers books they make you thing of things that may/or maynot be true. I have be...
The Oregon series is an offshoot from a Dirk Pitt book and has grown into its own. This fast-paced action was agreat story with underlying tones that it could happen. As with most of Mr Cusslers books they make you thing of things that may/or maynot be true. I have been a fan of Clive's books since Raise the Titanic.

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Extremely disappointing

I happen to be a big fan of most of Cussler's work but sadly this is not among those ranks. The history of the Ark is an article of faith amongst Christians like myself and those of the Jewish faith and to twist it to make a buck is offensive. On top of this the plot ...
I happen to be a big fan of most of Cussler's work but sadly this is not among those ranks. The history of the Ark is an article of faith amongst Christians like myself and those of the Jewish faith and to twist it to make a buck is offensive. On top of this the plot was slow and contrived. I've come to expect better of Mr. Cussler. I donated this book to Goodwill and intend to check any future books of his out from the library before I buy.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Extremely disappointing

    I happen to be a big fan of most of Cussler's work but sadly this is not among those ranks. The history of the Ark is an article of faith amongst Christians like myself and those of the Jewish faith and to twist it to make a buck is offensive. On top of this the plot was slow and contrived. I've come to expect better of Mr. Cussler. I donated this book to Goodwill and intend to check any future books of his out from the library before I buy.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    This was a fast-moving tale

    The Oregon series is an offshoot from a Dirk Pitt book and has grown into its own. This fast-paced action was agreat story with underlying tones that it could happen. As with most of Mr Cusslers books they make you thing of things that may/or maynot be true. I have been a fan of Clive's books since Raise the Titanic.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Shhhhh....don't tell anybody but Cussler's Dirk Pitt novels have been a guilty pleasure of mine for years. Not high literature but I can't help myself. In recent years Cusslers branching out and combined efforts have watered down the product some, but I still find his efforts with Du Brul very entertaining (I sense that Mr. Du Brul is the primary author here). Anyway, Plague Ship is light summer entertainment for the beach. Another adventure book I gotta recommend to Cussler fans is the cult thriller 'A Tourist In The Yucatan!'

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Cussler and Du Brul --What a Team

    The latest addition to the Oregon Files is well worth the wait. Unrelenting action from page one to the end. Classic Cussler. Jack Du Brul's, (author of the Philip Mercer series), input is obvious. I love all of Mr. Cussler's work but find the Oregon Files to be the best of all. Credible and likeable characters combined with a thrill a minute plot provide a thrill ride beyond compare.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Best of the Oregon Files yet

    Unlike the last reviewer I think this was a great read, it is ficition after all. I could not wait to pick it up agian. This has definitely been one of the best in the Oregon Files I have read yet.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A very fast paced novel

    If you enjoy intrigue, covert shadow former military commandos & religious extremists; this book is for you. This was my first Clive Cussler novel & it was fantastic! A hemorrhagic plague breaks out aboard a cruise ship & a group (the Organization) that is backdoor funded by the CIA checks in to it. They find that the ship was reserved for a religious group called the Responsivists who believe that we (the human race) are breeding ourselves to death & open sterilization clinics all over the world. On the surface, they seem to be doing good when they actually are planning the downfall of half of humanity. There was one survivor from the cruise ship & she is taken aboard the Oregon, an rusted & aging freighter on the outside, but outfitted with the highest technology & weaponry on the inside that money can buy (funded by the CIA). One of the crew's son's is inducted into the Responsivists cult and a rescue commences but with disastrous results; the child's father & member of the Organization being taken hostage. Throughout the novel a plan is uncovered that the Responsivists are engineering a virus that will be released on 50 cruise ships simultaneously , then spread throughout the world that will sterilize half of the world's population. While the leaders and several hundred "chosen" followers are safe & sheltered in a hidden impenetrable underground bunker. This novel is very fast paced, filled with many surprise twists and a dynamite ending. They should make this one in to a movie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Shades of Indiana Jones / Saturday Serials

    One "Cliff Hanger" after another... This would make a perfect movie for George Lucas and Steven Speilberg to consider. An interesting cast of "characters" and great intertwining sub-plots. Once I started to read this book, I couldn't put it down. Completed the reading in just two days.

    If it is made into a movie, Mr. Cussler should ensure that the movie follows the book (unlike the recent rendition of "Sahara.")

    After finishing the book, I gave it to a neighbor who is a former NASA engineer, knowing the scientific details, as well as the adventure itself, would keep him intrigued and entertained.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Great lite summer reading

    This book like the previous ones in the series offers the readers the opportunity to get lost in the story. It is a great light summer reading. One which you can sit by the pool or beach and get lost in for a while, put down and then pick right back up without missing a beat.

    The characters are expanded from previous works in the series and the reader is quickly engulfed in the story line. If you are into spy fiction works along with technological possibilities of military and intelligence agencies around the globe then this will make your day. I truly enjoyed the flow of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Excellent story, fun to read on a raining afternoon or sitting beside the pool or lake. Hard to put down once you start it.

    Fun story to read. The initial setting is typical of what Cussler writes and leaves you wondering how this will tie into the main story line. The characters in this book were new to me. I have read a lot of Cussler's books, but this was the first one I had read with these characters. The story line was fitting based on what is going on in he world now. The overall plot is believable and leaves wondering if something like this could happen. If you ae not into social issues, this is still a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Clive and Jack are amazing adventurer's

    I have read all of Clive Cusslers books and as I read more of his books with Jack DuBrul, I look forward to the next adventure and the next. Excellent read for those of us who are Clive fans. The Silent Sea is also an excellent read and especially the ending, just had to laugh at that one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Typical Cussler

    As always, Cussler provides us with history,entertainment, thrills and a great group of believable characters. Haven't missed one of his books yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    Excellent Read!

    This was only my 2nd Cussler book I've read, and I will be sure to read more of them. This book has everything to keep you interested from start to finish. Hard to put down. Really liked the characters and the story itself was great. Highly recommend this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cussler Excels Once Again

    I have read more than a handful of Clive Cussler's novels, and never have I been disappointed. Once again Cussler has produced a story that easily hooks the reader, and doesn't relinquish hold until the final page. The fifth installment in the Oregon Files once again follows the adventures of Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon, a hightech, futuristic ship disguised as a tramp freighter. Cabrillo too toys with disguises, making himself appear as an old, fat captain when any outsider boards his ship. His crew, on the other hand, knows the Captain for who he really is. The man is the perfect figure to head the Corporation, an underground militant organization that operates as a "for-hire" business to any government that can afford it. He has a stern, unwavering composure, and strength and determination that allow him to be successful in situations where many others would fail.

    In Plague Ship, the Corporation is pitched against a group known as the Responsivists. The group plans to unleash a deadly virus, with the intention of seriously dented the quickly growing population. The crew is lead on a chase throughout many countries, facing many challenges along the way. Cussler's signiture plot twists and cliff hangers will be sure to keep you from setting the novel down, and his characters and plot once more will be sure to leave any fan impressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    plague ship

    As always Cussler really delivers. Great reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Clive Cussler at his BEST!

    You can always expect alot of action and excitement from Clive Cussler - this one certainly doesn't disappoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of Clive Cussler's 'Plauge Ship'

    Clive Cussler has really kept me entertained with the 'Oregon Files Series' and 'Plauge Ship' was one of my favorites. It's always non-stop action, like a good movie, only better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Typical Exciting Cussler Book

    Well written story; good concept. Book keeps your interest from beginning to end. Characters are interesting. Excapes from disasters are thrilling and ingenious. Enjoyed the book alot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Be careful when starting this novel!

    To coin a common phrase: A real page turner.
    It is hard to put down once started and it keeps the interest to the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Austin

    Cant see headlines so if you could put your name in the post like this ~Austin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Adain

    "Steers red boat"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7