BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Plague Ship (Oregon Files Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This was a fast-moving tale

The Oregon series is an offshoot from a Dirk Pitt book and has grown into its own. This fast-paced action was agreat story with underlying tones that it could happen. As with most of Mr Cusslers books they make you thing of things that may/or maynot be true. I have be...
The Oregon series is an offshoot from a Dirk Pitt book and has grown into its own. This fast-paced action was agreat story with underlying tones that it could happen. As with most of Mr Cusslers books they make you thing of things that may/or maynot be true. I have been a fan of Clive's books since Raise the Titanic.

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Extremely disappointing

I happen to be a big fan of most of Cussler's work but sadly this is not among those ranks. The history of the Ark is an article of faith amongst Christians like myself and those of the Jewish faith and to twist it to make a buck is offensive. On top of this the plot ...
I happen to be a big fan of most of Cussler's work but sadly this is not among those ranks. The history of the Ark is an article of faith amongst Christians like myself and those of the Jewish faith and to twist it to make a buck is offensive. On top of this the plot was slow and contrived. I've come to expect better of Mr. Cussler. I donated this book to Goodwill and intend to check any future books of his out from the library before I buy.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    This was a fast-moving tale

    The Oregon series is an offshoot from a Dirk Pitt book and has grown into its own. This fast-paced action was agreat story with underlying tones that it could happen. As with most of Mr Cusslers books they make you thing of things that may/or maynot be true. I have been a fan of Clive's books since Raise the Titanic.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Shhhhh....don't tell anybody but Cussler's Dirk Pitt novels have been a guilty pleasure of mine for years. Not high literature but I can't help myself. In recent years Cusslers branching out and combined efforts have watered down the product some, but I still find his efforts with Du Brul very entertaining (I sense that Mr. Du Brul is the primary author here). Anyway, Plague Ship is light summer entertainment for the beach. Another adventure book I gotta recommend to Cussler fans is the cult thriller 'A Tourist In The Yucatan!'

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Shades of Indiana Jones / Saturday Serials

    One "Cliff Hanger" after another... This would make a perfect movie for George Lucas and Steven Speilberg to consider. An interesting cast of "characters" and great intertwining sub-plots. Once I started to read this book, I couldn't put it down. Completed the reading in just two days.

    If it is made into a movie, Mr. Cussler should ensure that the movie follows the book (unlike the recent rendition of "Sahara.")

    After finishing the book, I gave it to a neighbor who is a former NASA engineer, knowing the scientific details, as well as the adventure itself, would keep him intrigued and entertained.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Great lite summer reading

    This book like the previous ones in the series offers the readers the opportunity to get lost in the story. It is a great light summer reading. One which you can sit by the pool or beach and get lost in for a while, put down and then pick right back up without missing a beat.

    The characters are expanded from previous works in the series and the reader is quickly engulfed in the story line. If you are into spy fiction works along with technological possibilities of military and intelligence agencies around the globe then this will make your day. I truly enjoyed the flow of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Excellent story, fun to read on a raining afternoon or sitting beside the pool or lake. Hard to put down once you start it.

    Fun story to read. The initial setting is typical of what Cussler writes and leaves you wondering how this will tie into the main story line. The characters in this book were new to me. I have read a lot of Cussler's books, but this was the first one I had read with these characters. The story line was fitting based on what is going on in he world now. The overall plot is believable and leaves wondering if something like this could happen. If you ae not into social issues, this is still a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Clive and Jack are amazing adventurer's

    I have read all of Clive Cusslers books and as I read more of his books with Jack DuBrul, I look forward to the next adventure and the next. Excellent read for those of us who are Clive fans. The Silent Sea is also an excellent read and especially the ending, just had to laugh at that one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Be careful when starting this novel!

    To coin a common phrase: A real page turner.
    It is hard to put down once started and it keeps the interest to the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3