Customer Reviews for

Plague Town (Ashley Parker Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Finally! A guilt-free guilty pleasure book! Hooray! I loved it,

    Finally! A guilt-free guilty pleasure book! Hooray!

    I loved it, obviously. Take your favorite "easy read" and add humor, intelligence, wit, spicy romance, and zombie ass-kicking - the book is pure delight. Ashley Drake, the zombie hunting lead character, reminds me of Buffy without being at all derivative; the story is engaging and fast-paced from beginning to end; and I laughed out loud many times. (This earned me interesting looks from Boyfriend on occasion.)

    I'd recommend to anyone, really - male or female, and I think it would appeal to fiction readers of most genres.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    So do you like zombies and romance? Well surprisingly you can fi

    So do you like zombies and romance? Well surprisingly you can find both in "Plague Town" by Dana Fredsti.It all started innocently enough with a new strain of flu. Our main character, and heroin, Ashley Parker get's the flu, but comes out of it feeling pretty good. She lives in a small little university town called, Redwood Grove, where that new strain of flu is going around. People end up dying from this new flu and well, they don't stay dead for long.

    Ashley is attacked by a horde of zombies while having a romantic picnic with her boyfriend. Interesting enough Ashley doesn't die but instead she turns into a "Wild Card" A "wild card" is someone that is immune to the virus and if they are bit will not turn into a zombie. They can still be ripped to shreds though, which isn't a nice way to go. You'll read about Ashley and the rest of the "wild cards" as they try to rid the town of zombies, and save the survivors.

    This book is jam packed with zombie killing action from the very beginning. Seriously within the first few pages you're reading about a small family succumbing to the virus, and turning into zombies. Dana Fredsti is very descriptive in her writing making the book very vivid and real. This book really brings all your fears "to life" as this new strain of flu takes over and the whole town is overcome with the walking dead. How many times have we heard over the news about a new and deadly strain of flu? Seriously I'm now convinced that, that's how we all will go. This is a great read and am so glad I was able to review it. I'm more glad to share it with you all.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Zombie friend

    Very interesting take on the zombie theme. Dana Fredsti uses the zombocalypse (her word) in a unique way that explains some of histories great disasters. The story is well written the chaacters simple yet still entertaining. Cannot wait to read the next book. I would recommend thos book to all zombie lovers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    I loved it. This book grabs you in with it quirkness but when zo

    I loved it. This book grabs you in with it quirkness but when zombies come the humor 
    Is fast and to the point and the book is a page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I absolutely loved it! I plan on getting the 2nd one in the ser

    I absolutely loved it! I plan on getting the 2nd one in the series. I'm a big fan of zombie movies and books. It did not disappoint in the least. I had trouble putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want to be Ashley Parker when I grow up! This action-packed z

    I want to be Ashley Parker when I grow up!

    This action-packed zombie adventure features Ashley Parker: a cool, sexy, bad-ass zombie fighting heroine. Her inner and outer strength, quirky sense of humor, and relatable vulnerability make Ashley one of my favorite female leads of all time. Put her in the midst of the motley crew of  immune “Wild Cards” that are her supporting cast and the result is a brilliant group of characters.
    As they fight to contain a budding zombie outbreak, our characters face gory battles with rotting zombies and struggle to come to terms with the fact that their lives are forever changed. Despite the dramatic horror aspects of the book, Fredsti manages an undertone tinged with humor. All of this, with a touch of romance and an epic climactic battle make this a fantastically addictive first book in the series.

    * I was provided a copy of the book by BTS eMag for purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review – all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Introduction to a New Series!

    Prepare yourself for the zombie apocalypse in Dana Fredsti’s Plague Town. Fredsti takes well-known zombie lore, changes it up, and builds her own unique zombie-filled world. Her descriptions are so marvelously detailed that you feel you are right there with the characters fighting the zombies. Fredsti captivates readers with Ashley Parker a kick-butt, sharp-tongued heroine with a soft heart. The sniping and attitude between Ashley and Gabriel, a team leader, creates plenty of sexual tension. The author's use of witty banter and quotes from famous action movies provides many moments of levity between the fast-paced, high-octane zombie battles.

    Plague Town has the perfect balance of world building, intriguing characters, and zombie-fighting action scenes, making this story a great introduction to a new series. The surprise plot twists at the end leave the reader eagerly awaiting the next novel.


    I was provided a copy of the book by BTS eMag for purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review – all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Start to a New Zombie Story

    Ashley and her boyfriend, Matt, are going to school in the little town of Redwood Grove. Lately there has been a sever flu, called Walkers, is going around that has nearly incapacitated most of the population. To try to combat the flu, a vaccine has been given to several people. Ashley is just recovering from Walkers. One night, Matt and Ashley have a late night picnic when a group of zombies attack them. Matt is infected but Ashley has a rare reaction to the virus.

    This reaction makes her a Wild Card, one of a few people that get stronger and faster that can fight the zombies. There are a couple other people that develop the Wild Card behavior. Now them and the military are trying to contain the zombies and dispose of them before the plague gets out and affects the rest of the country.

    I really liked the idea behind where the zombies come from. It’s interesting how the Wild Cards develop to fight them. Ashley was a great character, full of spunk and willing to do what is needed. I felt for all of them but I was impressed with how they all stepped up, even Kaitlyn.

    Yes, I admit that I’m a big zombie fan. If you are too, don’t miss this book. There is a great reason behind the zombie plague, a strong female character, and zombies. What else can you ask for? Maybe a sequel? I have my eyes open for one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    New twist

    I generally don't read zombie books however I thoroughly enjoyed this. I loved the twist of the "wild cards"--what a great zombie fighting team. There's plenty of zombies, action and even humor. The characters are well written and likeable--you feel like you know them. I also liked the alternate history--I had never thought that Atlantis and Pompeii could have been destroyed because of zombie outbreaks. I look forward to more of the series. Another great series with a zombie twist is K. Bennett's zombie lawyer series. I highly recommend both of these series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Tori

    Sits down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Jacob

    CRUD!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Alex sanders

    No im not anothe imposter

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. The humor, and intelligence of Ash

    LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. The humor, and intelligence of Ashley (a wild card zombie assassin.... and yes she is AWESOME), is something I could read without any guilt. I cannot wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a great, FUN read!!!!! I am reading this now & LOVING e

    What a great, FUN read!!!!! I am reading this now & LOVING every minute of it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1