Customer Reviews for

A Plague of Secrets (Dismas Hardy Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A TERRIFIC VOICE PERFORMANCE

If you listened to The Vig, Betrayal, or any number of Lescroart's other thrillers narrated by Colacci you know what a terrific voice performer he is. I called his reading of Second Chair "Vital and arresting" - the same holds true of A Plague of Secrets.

What a goo...
If you listened to The Vig, Betrayal, or any number of Lescroart's other thrillers narrated by Colacci you know what a terrific voice performer he is. I called his reading of Second Chair "Vital and arresting" - the same holds true of A Plague of Secrets.

What a good move it is to continue to pair the same accomplished reader with succeeding stories in a series. That person becomes so ingrained in listeners' minds (or ears) as a particular character that, for me, the battle for a sale is half won. Such is certainly the case with Colacci and Dismas Hardy. Can't have one without the other and wouldn't want it any other way.

Lescroart continues to intrigue with seemingly endless plot variations and imaginative twists. Here, with his 13th thriller we meet a mysterious woman - Maya Townsend. Of course, she's gorgeous, well connected (her uncle is the mayor) and silent partner in a popular San Francisco hangout - the Bay Beans West Coffee Shop. However, there seems to have been a lot more than latte offered there.

The manager of the shop, Danny Vogel, is shot to death, and a quantity of marijuana is found in his knapsack. Slight problem: the murder weapon was Maya's. Next another friend of hers is found dead - this time with a cleaver separating his skull and Maya's fingerprints are found in his apartment. It's not long before we discover that the two recently departed had been blackmailing Maya for something that is past history but could still send shock waves through the city.

She has hired Dismas to help her, which turns out to be more of a challenge than he had realized as prosecutors go for broke at her trial. So, we have murders, legal shenanigans, and a beautiful enigmatic woman - enjoy!
- Gail Cooke

posted by GailCooke on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

This is the first John Lescroart book I've read. Pretty Good. An exciting and surprising conclusion. I read it in one weekend, and found it an exciting page turner. I would recommend it as a good summer "shade tree" read.

posted by Donna-Pilar on July 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    Read It Now!

    Another good story from John Lescroart for all his Diz Hardy and Abe Glitsky fans, set in beautiful San Francisco. The wait between books is always worth it. This one has a good plot, lots of courtroom dramatics, and a STUNNING ending. What more could a fan ask for? It's one for the permanent library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Great Book

    Mr. Lescroart has written another great Dismas Hardy book. His writing style is crisp and to the point, not a lot of extraneous descriptions that are unnecessary to telling the story. As always, I am looking forward to his next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Excellent Book to Read

    I found the book to be very interesting and recommended it to other reading friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Fun

    As usual he does a great job. His stories never get stale. Not that his style is like them but his books are like Parker & Mickey Spilane just good fun to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a Plague of Secrets

    I've just finished reading the above referenced book.It held my interest to the point I was late for my office managerial position because i couldn't stop reading the book until the last page. It was sensational! Mr. Lescroart, Thank you for exciting moments as you never fail to hold my interest with your anticlimactic endings. The charaters in this book were very clearly brought out and the plot was riveting. wWthout giving the plot away, I was literally at the edge of my seat at the end, reading the action that took place in the Courtroon Whew! I await your next book with exciting anticipation...You are one of my favoarite mystery writers along with others such as Flynn, Crais, Margolin, Katzenbach, Tanenbaum, W.E.B Griffin, Martini, etc. Enjoyment of a mystery experience is achieved by picking up any one of your books... But as an avid fan, I highly recomment a Plague of Secrets to everyone who enjoys a good mystery.Julie De Chiara.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A PUZZLING WHO DONE IT AND WHY?

    EXCELLENT!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Lescroart NEVER disappoints.

    If you have not read everything that John Lescroart has written then I would suggest that you make it a point to do so. His characters are real, his plots are intriguing and his insights remarkable. He never fails to tell a great story and to entertain from the first page to the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    A Plague of Secrets is a winner!

    John Lescriart is one of my favorite writers, and his newest book is his best in a LONG time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    John Lescroart Does it Again!

    Love the Dismas Hardy series - this one does not disappoint. Lescroart completely surprises with the ending - did not see it coming. Anxiously await his next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific Hardy-Glitsky tale with several exciting subplots

    In San Francisco, an unknown sniper shoots and kills Bay Beans West coffee shop manager Dylan Volger. The police find Dylan carrying marijuana and growing weed in his home; they also find his clientele includes highly placed local politicians. -------------

    The cops suspect the Haight-Ashbury coffee shop owner, Maya Townshend as the culprit. Besides being the niece of the city's mayor and her sister being a city supervisor, Maya was paying her ex-convict manager an exorbitant salary to run a coffee shop. The investigators Bracco and Schiff think she tired to kill her former college lover to end his blackmailing of her related to his marijuana sales that U.S. District attorney Jerry Glass insists paid for her expensive home as she was the senior weed mover. Glass sees a boost to his career especially if he adds asset forfeiture to convicting her. Defense attorney Dismas Hardy defends his client whom the media has hung as a drug dealing adulteress killer on two murder counts, drug dealing and more based on motive and no physical evidence.-------------

    This is a terrific Hardy-Glitsky tale with several exciting subplots including Abe's son in a coma and the cop being at the courtroom for a final sort of like Perry Mason twist (without the confession) from out of the headlines in Georgia. The story line is fast-paced, but it is the characters especially the plausible support cast to include the two murder victims who turn PLAGUE OF SECRETS into a super legal thriller.----------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1