Customer Reviews for

Plague of the Dead (Morningstar Strain Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Informative and very well written, you will learn a lot about Cambodia

This novel was recommended to me and I thought I would continue the favor. This is a fast, easy read, told by the perspective of a little girl who lived through the Cambodian Civil War and the Khmer Rouge. I didn't know much about this time in Cambodia and the narrative...
This novel was recommended to me and I thought I would continue the favor. This is a fast, easy read, told by the perspective of a little girl who lived through the Cambodian Civil War and the Khmer Rouge. I didn't know much about this time in Cambodia and the narrative is written so well you feel like you are there. Throughout the novel there are many references to Cambodia stories/poems that paint a beautiful picture of Cambodian culture. I would recommend this and I am glad to have read it.

posted by 10000128 on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

not deep enough for me

I realize the author spent alot of time and effort, however, as an historical account of Cambodia's Kymer Rouge period, it leaves the horror out in this emotional second hand story from an eight year old's perspective. Recommended for young people, as the bloody parts a...
I realize the author spent alot of time and effort, however, as an historical account of Cambodia's Kymer Rouge period, it leaves the horror out in this emotional second hand story from an eight year old's perspective. Recommended for young people, as the bloody parts are absent and only hinted.

posted by 13309656 on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    This series is a must for zombie fans and ranks with Day by Day

    This series is a must for zombie fans and ranks with Day by Day Armagedon and Zombie Fallout.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Enjoyed this book.

    interesting subject and very good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    enjoyed the book, informative.

    Information I never knew. Shocking story of what the people went through. Told beautifully.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Great read

    This book is very well written. One is transported back in time by the memories of a young princess and her family and her horrific experiences during the Khmer Rouge regime in Cambodia. I was not aware of this tragedy that unfolded during the 70's and found the young character to be mature beyond her years. Very sad at times, but hope and vision were not lost.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable Read For The Zombie/Survival Fan

    One of the best zombie novels I've read. Good story and characters. The explaination of two zombie types and having two ongoing character groups really gets the reader involved in the action. Highly recommended for the zombie afficionado.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    A Very Good Read

    I was expecting this book to leave me depressed, but it didn't. The writer's style and storytelling was excellent, and she had quite a story to tell. She somehow used the very bad, very sad experiences of her life to illustrate the good in humanity. I am in awe of anyone who can live through such horrible things and still have a positive outlook on life and people. I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to learn more about this period in Cambodia or who enjoys a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Moving story

    Surprisingly, I don't have a whole lot to say about this book. Yes, I liked it. I liked the characters, the stories and fables that were woven into the pages, that guided Raami and gave her strength. Maybe I'm just a bit jaded, but the characters I wanted to get to know the most were the ones who were absent for the majority of the story.

    It's great that this was told through the incredibly adult voice of seven year-old Raami, but having the story told through her viewpoint skewed a lot of information and history of the family.

    I saw that the author loosely based this novel on her own life experience, and I get that this was probably cathartic for her - using Raami as a vehicle to speak on the tragedy of the revolution in Cambodia, on the loss she and her family suffered, and on the things she witnessed and endured during that four year period.

    But, I really wanted to know more about the adults. I wanted to hear more poetry, and to know what was going on in the minds of the two adult males. It would have been nice to have a fictionalized account of what was discussed and decided between brothers, what plans and contingencies were made between husband and wife.

    My heart did end up breaking a few times throughout the story, reading of the losses that Raami had to survive through. Maybe I just read this too soon after reading Unbroken. There was enough depravity of the human soul and mind in that book to overwhelm a reader, and maybe after reading all that, I was a bit inured to what Raami and her family went through.

    It was terrible - war always is. My heart hurt for what they and the people they encountered endured, and I silently cheered for any small miracle and story of survival and growth. But, unfortunately, these kinds of stories are everywhere in our history - the history of people, not Americans alone - and while fear and loss are rampant in them all, I prefer to focus on the stories of strength and triumph.

    This book may not have had focused on any of the good that came about after the war ended, but I was glad to see that there was extra information - in the form of a Reading Group Guide - that provided a bit more insight into the author's life and her decisions to write this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Well written - historical fiction at it's best!

    This book surpassed my expectations. It is beautifully written. The Author creates vivid imagery with prose. Be advised, the subject matter is harsh. Take time to read the Author's notes...very informative and moving. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Another fun to read zombie book.

    Easy and enjoyable zombie book. Good addition to anyone into the zombie fad. Really, it reads like a movie scrip. If this were ever turned into a film it seems like the works already been done. Not my favorite zombie book but true to what it promises.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2