Customer Reviews for

Plain Peace

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    I had read the previous books in this series and was happy to co

    I had read the previous books in this series and was happy to continue the story. This was a good read. The story of Anna's grandmother et al was a nice touch. Sometimes you read a book and are sure you know the whole synopsis but it turns out differently. That's what happened with Amish Peace. It wasn't drastically different than what I thought but it was pleasantly different than what I had envisions. Amish fiction lovers will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    I am a fan of Amish fiction as well as this series so I was happ

    I am a fan of Amish fiction as well as this series so I was happy to pick this book up. I also enjoy reading about Rumspringa as I find that part of the culture very interesting. I found myself feeling bad for Anna as everyone was grandfather was so strict that everyone was afraid to court her. But Anna's grandmother was helping her keep a big secret. Jacob was a very strong person the become head of his household while young when his father is unable to. I enjoyed getting to know these characters and in doing so you become friends with the and find yourself wanting to help out. I think Beth did a good job of continuing on with this series. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    Anna¿s grandfather seems determined to ruin her Rumspringa . . .

    Anna’s grandfather seems determined to ruin her Rumspringa . . . and any hopes she has of finding a husband.
    Anna Byler should be enjoying her Rumspringa as allowed by her faith. But because of the strict rules enforced by her grandfather—the bishop—the available suitors in town are afraid to court her. Even Anna’s grandmother is keeping a big secret from Anna’s grandfather in an effort to keep the peace. Under her grandfather’s oppressive watch, Anna begins to feel her faith slipping and wonders if God has forsaken her.
    Jacob Hostetler and his family have relocated to Lancaster County following a family tragedy in Ohio. As his family struggles to rebuild their lives, Jacob is forced to act as head of the household when his father is unable to cope with recent events. It’s been a long time since Jacob has felt any joy. Until he meets Anna Byler. But will Anna’s grandfather succeed at keeping them apart? And can Jacob put the past behind him and open his heart?

    --Lots going on in this book. Marianne has big secrets in her little room in the basement. One that might give her husband a heart attack! Cora and her family are new to the community but they come with their hearts heavy, after losing their oldest daughter Leah, to a farming accident. Will they be able to heal? New love and lots more in this next part of the Daughters of the Promise novel..

    Each of Beth Wiseman's books are always so good and so much thought goes into them, you just sit back for awhile and you never really get over them. You want to be a Daughter of the Promise. Let's make it a goal ladies. Be one, TODAY.

    I received this book as a part of the Goodreads First Read program in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read! Anna Byler's is raised by her grandparents. In her op

    Fun read!

    Anna Byler's is raised by her grandparents. In her opinion they are the best  grandparents ever. Although to the young men that would like to invite her to the singing are give her a ride in their buggy her grandfather is unapproachable on the subject. Anna is totally ignorant of the young men's problem with her grandfather. That is until she overhears them talking about this very thing.  She gave them a good tongue lashing and informed them  they were wrong.  To her disappointment they were right. On top of this other people in their Amish community had problems with her grandfather being so strict when it came to the Old Order Ways of the Amish. You see her grandfather is the Bishop for their Amish Community.  

    Anna even found out her grandmother was hiding things from her grandfather.  So, why is he being so strict? Doesn't he know he is alienating himself from the community?

    When Jacob Hosetler moves to Paradise he is determined to change the Bishop's mind and court Anna.  With Anna, her grandmother and Jacob taking a stand to change the Bishop's strict ways they find they may have gotten in deeper than they ever expected. The Bishop is determined to stand his ground.

    This was a fun read.  So much love in this family but the author has managed to create in them a very dysfunctional family.  She shows how seeds of deceit can tear not only a family apart but the whole community.  A tender loving man yet hard as a rock when it came to Old Order Ways. The character of the grandmother was so sweet yet she had a compulsive disorder.  The author has a wonderful and humorous  imagination when it comes to creating her characters.  

    I wonder if we can see any of ourselves in any of these characters.  Like the seamstress that hoards fabric or the person that is obsessed with shoes.   I must admit I do see myself in that  I can not have enough books.  So you leave know wiggle room when it comes to the rules of house or church? 

    I gladly recommend this book.
    .

    Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book from Booksneeze/Thomas Nelson for review.  I was in no way compensated for this review.  This review is my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    Don¿t Miss This Great Read! Having read all the books in A Dau


    Don’t Miss This Great Read!

    Having read all the books in A Daughters of the Promise series I could not wait to
    read this book.  The author did not let me down.  There were issues in this book
    that we usually don’t read about in Amish fiction.  I love that the author chose to
    write about problems that are real; not only in the Amish communities but in the
    English world too.

    Sometimes people have a hard time giving up control and Bishop Byler is a
    perfect example.  I found it both funny and sad how his wife Marianne handled her
    controlling husband.

    A death in a family can be devastating.  Some people have a hard time coming to
    grips with it and shut out those who love them.  The results can be heart breaking
    and pure agony for all involved.  This story is a perfect example.  Can deep hurt
    and wounds heal?

    We follow the lives of several families in this story.  We learn that it is only through
    our faith in God that we can heal from bitterness, unforgiveness, and unwilling to
    forgive ourselves.  How seeking the Lord through prayer and sharing our hurts with
    loving friends can bring us into a right relationship with God and give us plain peace.

    I highly recommend this book to those reading this review.  You will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Beth Wiseman always touches my heart with her books. If you enj

    Beth Wiseman always touches my heart with her books. If you enjoy Amish Fiction will love this book and others by Beth.

    Anna Byler is an Old Order Amish and has been raised by her grandparents. Her grandfather is the Bishop in their Community. At a singing she goes out to the barn to let the ones there know that the food and drinks are ready. She hers a conversation between several of the boys and the new member to the community, Jacob Hostetler. Upon hearing the criticism of her Grandfather she is hurt and also finds out why no one has every asked her to a singing, a buggy ride or a walk. She is so hurt that she runs home. Jacob tries to follow but she turns him away. When Anna's grandfather refuses to let Jacob court her she slips out to meet Jacob. Neither feel right about it and Jacob confronts the Bishop.

    This book is about love, remorse, forgiveness and you will have a few chuckles at Anna's grandmother and her secrets. Yep, she keeps secrets from her husband, the Bishop. Set back, get comfortable with your favorite winter time hot drink (tea, coffee, hot chocolate) curl up with your book and enjoy. You might want to have a few tissues with you. I always need one in any of Beth's books. My husband even asked once what I was laughing at. I won't tell anymore because I don't want to spoil the book for you. I bought this book from a local bookstore and because I enjoyed this book so much I wanted to share it with other booklovers, especially of Amish Fiction. Beth's faith shows through her writing. Her characters become almost friends with their flaws, their family and faith in God. Beth's books always show how the characters depend on God through good and bad times. I hope you enjoy not only this book but others by Beth Wiseman as much as I have. Yes, I have read almost all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Beth Wiseman in her new book ¿Plain Peace¿ Book Six in the Daugh

    Beth Wiseman in her new book “Plain Peace” Book Six in the Daughters of the Promise series published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Anna Byler.




    From the back cover:   Anna loves the grandfather who raised her, but his strict adherence to the Ordnung is scaring away any boy who might be interested in her—except newcomer Jacob.




    In normal circumstances Anna Byler would have her choice of any of the young men in her Amish community. But because of the strict rules enforced by her grandfather, the bishop, the available suitors are afraid to court her. Then handsome Jacob Hostetler moves to Paradise and decides Anna is worth the challenge.




    Anna sees that the bishop’s legalism is dividing the community and risking the lives of its members—but her grandfather doesn’t. When she is forced to deception in order to pursue her dream of marriage and family with Jacob, Anna feels her own faith slipping. If only she could get her grandmother to help her stand up to the bishop. But Mammi is keeping secrets of her own.




    Anna wants to honor her grandparents, the two most important people in her life, but her heart is  divided by the rules that guide their little Amish community and the growing love she has for Jacob. How can she be true to both?




    “Plain Peace” is all about marriage.  Anna wants to get married, her grandfather, the Bishop, has strict ideas on her marriage, how keeping secrets in a marriage is harmful and what happens in a marriage when there is the death of a child.  There is also a focus on secretly hoarding and how that affects people.  Then there is the romance.  This is a book about what is important in life:  family, faith and forgiveness.  Ms. Wiseman knows how to create characters that live on the page and that we get to know and love.  Get ready for an interesting read that will keep you emotionally involved.




    Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Carley

    Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anna Byler had never dated. For some reason none of the young Am

    Anna Byler had never dated. For some reason none of the young Amish boys had never approached her and she felt inadequate. Jacob Hostetler was new in the community and Anna found herself drawn to him. When she overheard a few of the young men talking about her being unapproachable because of her strict grandfather, Bishop Byler, she was devastated. Was her grandfather really that strict? Hadn't he always had the best interests of the people in mind? Anna knew she had to do something to prove she was dateable so she asked Jacob out on a date and Anna was ecstatic when he agreed. But Anna hoped it would turn into more. She soon began to realize what others were saying. Her grandfather was all about strict rules and when she found out the magnitude of the secrets her grandmother was keeping from her grandfather she knew a change was needed. But what would it take for him to come to his senses? And would he ever agree to her seeing Jacob?

    Jacob Hostetler was new to the community. His family left their old home to get a fresh start after the death of his sister, Leah. His father had withdrawn from his role of taking care of the family and kept to himself because he felt responsible and Jacob prayed this move would heal the wounds of his family and give them a new life as a family. Meeting Anna Byler was the beginning of Jacob's healing. She was the most beautiful girl he had ever seen and he could share his worries, hopes and dreams with her. He knew he wanted a life with Anna but with Bishop Byler forbidding him to see her he wasn't sure if they could ever be together. Can they change her grandfather's mind? And will his family ever be what they once were?

    Plain Peace in the sixth book in the Daughters of the Promise series. While I haven't read all of the books in this series, I have read Plain Proposal and I can say, from my experience, the books only get better and better. The storyline was just great and covered a broad range of issues such as, the death of a child, diabetes and adultery. The plot was fully developed and came to a beautiful, complete ending. I felt satisfied after I finished. There were no loose ends leaving me feeling as if the story wasn't finished and I love that. I fell in love with the characters and I guarantee you will as well. This book can be read in order as a series but it can also be read as a stand alone novel. But, from what I have read so far, you will surely want to read the others and you "to be read" list will soon be growing. If you like Amish fiction with depth and a storyline that covers powerful issues you'll love this book.

    Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions stated are mine and mine alone and I received no monetary compensation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    I am generally a fan of Amish fiction, and this book was a typic

    I am generally a fan of Amish fiction, and this book was a typical one for this genre. I can't really complain. The characters were strong, and the story was nice enough. The author has a familiar writing style, and it was nice to see the people relying on God when times were tough. It was intriguing to observe the way the Amish people have changed in light of our modern culture--that was my favorite part of the book. 




    My only complaint is that the story seemed a little too mundane. I believe that since the market is flooded with Amish literature, it is essential for authors to write Amish fiction that takes a different angle rather than relying on what has gone on before. While I will read just about any Amish fiction that is well-written, I might be hesitant to read such books from this author again unless I can be guaranteed a unique story. But if you are new to the genre, this may be exactly what you are looking for.




    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    I enjoy reading Amish fiction and Ms. Wiseman's books, and I was

    I enjoy reading Amish fiction and Ms. Wiseman's books, and I was not disappointed with this one. I enjoyed the storyline and was sad when the story came to an end. If you enjoy Amish food, there are recipes at the end of the book for some of the dishes you'll see mentioned throughout the story, like Cora's Raspberry Swirl Cheesecake. (Yum!) Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this book, thanks to the Booksneeze program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1