Customer Reviews for

Plain Perfect (Daughters of the Promise Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Amish Read

Lillian has not had a perfect life and she wants to make changes.
Lillian is going to go to her grandparents in Lancaster County to visit and maybe stay if the Amish life is for her.
Lillian's mother Sarah Jane grew up Amish but made a decision to leave the Amish Co...
Lillian has not had a perfect life and she wants to make changes.
Lillian is going to go to her grandparents in Lancaster County to visit and maybe stay if the Amish life is for her.
Lillian's mother Sarah Jane grew up Amish but made a decision to leave the Amish Community when she became pregnant with Lillian.
Lillian has a hard time accepting some of the Amish ways and struggles with them, but her grandmother helps her understand the ways of the Amish.
On the day Lillian arrived in Lancaster County she had to walk to her grandparents house, on the way she met Samuel an Amish widower who gives her a ride.
Soon you begin to see a new Lillian and her faith growing stronger in the Lord and the the Amish ways. Her and Samuel become closer and things happen to test her and her faith....

posted by MistyNordyke on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Shallow characterization, unrealistic plot, immature writing. I

Shallow characterization, unrealistic plot, immature writing. I love Beverly Lewis, but Beth Wiseman isn't in the same league. There are much better authors in this genre, like those I've recommended.

posted by 17583624 on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Shallow characterization, unrealistic plot, immature writing. I

    Shallow characterization, unrealistic plot, immature writing. I love Beverly Lewis, but Beth Wiseman isn't in the same league. There are much better authors in this genre, like those I've recommended.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Amish Read

    Lillian has not had a perfect life and she wants to make changes.
    Lillian is going to go to her grandparents in Lancaster County to visit and maybe stay if the Amish life is for her.
    Lillian's mother Sarah Jane grew up Amish but made a decision to leave the Amish Community when she became pregnant with Lillian.
    Lillian has a hard time accepting some of the Amish ways and struggles with them, but her grandmother helps her understand the ways of the Amish.
    On the day Lillian arrived in Lancaster County she had to walk to her grandparents house, on the way she met Samuel an Amish widower who gives her a ride.
    Soon you begin to see a new Lillian and her faith growing stronger in the Lord and the the Amish ways. Her and Samuel become closer and things happen to test her and her faith....

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Amish Story I Enjoyed

    I had the wonderful opportunity to visit Lancaster County this past summer and finally got to experience what the Amish lifestyle really was about. It was wonderful to see all the books I've read come to life. I was able to fully appreciate and understand everything I had read about the culture. Therefore I was excited when I read this book because I recognized the settings because I had actually been there.

    This story was really fun to read. I loved learning more about the culture and it was interesting to see Lillian change throughout the book. I felt that the Stoltzfus family were a bit less traditional than most other Old Order Amish families. They didn't seem as strict or condemning as other stories have portrayed families who have lost a child to the "outside world." I also remember reading that they had a recliner in the house. I guess I just had this feeling that the Amish only had wooden furniture and never pictured a lazy boy in the middle of the living room. I was glad that her grandparents did allow her to wear her jeans until she felt comfortable enough to wear Amish clothing. Also loved reading about the food because I absolutely love Amish food.

    While I really liked this book, I did feel that it seemed to fall in the stereotype that everyone who comes in touch with the Amish suddenly wants to become one. It also bugged me a little that Lillian just assumed she's Amish because it's in her blood. While she may have Amish roots, she was raised "Englisch" so she's not Amish by choice. I wasn't really a fan of Samuel although I did like his son very much. He just came across as very standoffish to me.
    Overall I really liked the author's style of writing. It was a very refreshing read and it made me eager to read the rest of the books in the series. This is one of those Amish books that I really liked. It doesn't feel like an agenda is being pushed at you. It's more comfort reading than escapist reading this time around.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Great story

    The book was well written and very entertaining. Kept me interested and wanting to know what happened next. I will read the next one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    book

    Love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    A treasured book

    A friend recommended this series and I'm so glad that she did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    HI

    I LOVE AMISH BOOKS

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Good book

    If you enjoy the Amish stories, this is a good one. I find them difficult since they always center around God, but never mention His Son.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    highly recommend

    I enjoyed the story and am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Love Beth Wiseman's Amish books. This is no exception.

    I refuse to do a book report as many do. If you want to know what the book is about, read it.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    highly recommended

    Beautiful writing, easy to read, very good flowing, and highly inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Plain Perfect

    Lillian Miller is tired of her crazy, hectic life. She leaves one day and takes the road to Lancaster County, PA, where her aging, Amish grandparents live. Once there, Lillian is offended by certain Amish beliefs, but still finds the peace that its followers have extremely attractive. She also finds a certain Amish man, Samuel Stoltzfus, quite attractive and quickly grows to care for him. As her affection for those surrounding her grows, she must make a choice to adopt the Amish ways that she sometimes struggles with or to continue living as she is - an outsider.

    This book captured me right away. The plot and writing style were excellent. I loved the character of Lillian Miller and I think the author did a good job of making her story believable. It is quite rare for people from the outside world who were not raised in Amish ways to adopt such a belief system, but the author made Lillian's conversion seem honest and natural. I also found the passion experienced by some of the characters surprising. Apparently, I had a preconceived notion that Amish people are dispassionate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Heartwarming Story

    Plain Perfect was a heartwarming story of a woman searching for peace and she hopes that going to live with her Amish grandparents will help her find what she's looking for. The plot was interesting and one I'm sure all can identify with at some point in their lives. I found the characters quite believable, but maybe a little too naive at times.

    I did love the story, and Beth Wiseman told a sweet and heartwarming tale. This was a quick read, and a great book to cozy up with. I loved the morals and lessons taught, and will be a great book to pass on to my daughter. Another wonderful feature to this series is the recipes located in the back of the book. You'll be able to recreate some of the dishes discussed in the story, and believe me, they are yummy!!

    If you haven't read any of Beth's books, make sure to try this series out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Mix of Romance and Faith

    I found this novel to be well written and intriguing. Wiseman weaves the story lines of faith and romance expertly. I was equally invested in (and cheering on) the romance between Lillian and Samuel as well as Lillian's quest for faith within the Amish world. A highly recommended novel for Christian fiction fans, especially those focusing on the Amish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Beth Wiseman

    I have read the first 2 books in her series. She is just wonderful.. I would put hur up there with Beverly Lewis, Wanda Brumsetter, and all the other Amish writers. You can not put the book down from page 1. I can hardly wait for her next books to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can you Go Home Aain?

    Some books I've read had an Amish girl seeking to break away from tradition and try out the world and all it offers. This book is about a worldly woman trying to break into the Amish community, seeking a place of refuge and meaning to this life.

    I really felt for and enjoyed Lillian, as she tried to make some sense of her life at twenty -seven when she goes to live with her Amish grandparents. She wanted to get to know them and their ways. Lillian was in search of peace and meaning for her life. She wanted to leave her complicated, hurtful, miserable life behind -make a FRESH start.

    Lillian read something in an article that spoke to her "The road to happiness is filled with paths of self-discovery. One slip and you can end up going down the wrong path with no map to guide you back to the main road." She was earnestly looking for the right road to take in her life.

    Lillian says," Grandma, I want so badly to feel the calmness inside. I want so badly to live a good life." .It's just hard for me to understand why sometimes things happen the way they do." Lillian had to deal with the failures of her life and her mother's. She didn't want to be like her mom. Lillian had to make a drastic change, but it had to be for the right reasons.

    This was a really good story of hope, healing, forgiveness and second chances. It reminds me that we all have choices in life; it's always up to us as to how we handle our struggles. We can do it alone or we can choose to embrace God's comfort for us and to thrive in the middle of bad times. This is a different Amish story, which I totally enjoyed.

    www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a magnificent story!

    I can not tell you how delighted I was to run across this book and how very excited I am to purchase book #2! This story not only pulled me in with the characters but also had me laughing, crying and rejoicing to the end. And then to find out that this is your very first Novel? There is no doubt in my mind that I shall be a forever fan of yours. You did such a wonderful-gut job! Even though it has been 12 hours since I finished reading Plain Perfect, I am still reeling from the effects it left on me.
    Congratulations to you, you are truly blessed...
    Sincerely
    Linda Stookey
    St. Louis Missouri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Plain Perfect

    This book is one that takes you a place you may know nothing about(amish country). It shows you how others live without alot and yet have a good life.How even today they stay true to their faith, even when it is a challenge. Love will win yes but not with out a test of real life and truth.
    This is a wonderful book for young and old. This story will stay with you for some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    A Truely Romantic Love Story

    I was skeptical at first about a Amish Love story. Well, I have to say I was wrong, it is a wonderful love story. I'm now so interested in the Amish. Knowing that everything that was written about the Amish was well researched. Makes you understand there way of life. I love the recipes in the back of the book from the Amish. I really enjoyed this book. It is exciting, loving, caring, touching, & thrilling. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. I could wait to see what happened next. Just when you think you know what is going to happen, it doesn't something else does. I want to read it again and I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    Great

    I really enjoyed reading Plain Perfect. I love romantic novels and the story and characters were so real, I could just picture the grandparents. I felt like I was there with all the characters. I can't wait to see what happend with Lillian, Samuel and Sarah Jane. Keep writing Beth and I'll keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3