Customer Reviews for

Plain Truth

Average Rating 4
( 576 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(295)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tale starring Amish

She turned her back on love two decades ago because she needed to prove to herself that she could do it alone by climbing to the top of a prestigious law firm. Philadelphia attorney Ellie Hathaway obtains an acquittal for her client, which earns her a job offer from on...
She turned her back on love two decades ago because she needed to prove to herself that she could do it alone by climbing to the top of a prestigious law firm. Philadelphia attorney Ellie Hathaway obtains an acquittal for her client, which earns her a job offer from one of the legal elite firms. However, instead of elation, Ellie feels guilty for gaining freedom for a pediophile who molested at least six children. Ellie walks out on her lover of eight years, seeking sanctuary with her aunt in the heart of Amish Country East Paradise, Lancaster County.

Shortly after her arrival, Ellie is asked to take on the case of eighteen-year-old Amish woman Katie Fisher, accused of killing her newborn child. Katie hid her pregnancy before she went to the family barn to give birth by herself. She wrapped her baby in a shirt and fell asleep. When the teen awakened, the infant was gone. Later the dead child was found and Katie accused of smothering the baby. Ellie agrees to take on an ¿Old Order¿ client that the lawyer thinks is guilty in an English court.

Judy Picoult is a gifted storyteller whose compelling works profoundly impact her audience. Anyone who wants a glimpse at the Amish culture will want to read PLAIN TRUTH. The complex charcaters appear more like multi-dimensional people who capture a niche in the reader¿s heart. If justice is served, Ms. Pisault will become a best-selling author for this warm insightful novel.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the paper it's written on

I would have given it negative stars if I could. It was so simply written I thought maybe a 10 year old wrote it. There was no research done at all about the law, the Amish, or anything. It's like the author just sat down one day and said, 'I think I'll write...
I would have given it negative stars if I could. It was so simply written I thought maybe a 10 year old wrote it. There was no research done at all about the law, the Amish, or anything. It's like the author just sat down one day and said, 'I think I'll write a book where an attorney (note to self - look up what an attorney does) defends an Amish person (note to self - look up what the Amish are). Ok, that was harsh, but really, anyone could have written this book. If you're a simple minded person who likes to be able to guess the end of the book by the first few pages and then be right at the end - you'll love this book.

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 578 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent tale starring Amish

    She turned her back on love two decades ago because she needed to prove to herself that she could do it alone by climbing to the top of a prestigious law firm. Philadelphia attorney Ellie Hathaway obtains an acquittal for her client, which earns her a job offer from one of the legal elite firms. However, instead of elation, Ellie feels guilty for gaining freedom for a pediophile who molested at least six children. Ellie walks out on her lover of eight years, seeking sanctuary with her aunt in the heart of Amish Country East Paradise, Lancaster County. <P>Shortly after her arrival, Ellie is asked to take on the case of eighteen-year-old Amish woman Katie Fisher, accused of killing her newborn child. Katie hid her pregnancy before she went to the family barn to give birth by herself. She wrapped her baby in a shirt and fell asleep. When the teen awakened, the infant was gone. Later the dead child was found and Katie accused of smothering the baby. Ellie agrees to take on an ¿Old Order¿ client that the lawyer thinks is guilty in an English court. <P>Judy Picoult is a gifted storyteller whose compelling works profoundly impact her audience. Anyone who wants a glimpse at the Amish culture will want to read PLAIN TRUTH. The complex charcaters appear more like multi-dimensional people who capture a niche in the reader¿s heart. If justice is served, Ms. Pisault will become a best-selling author for this warm insightful novel. <P>Harriet Klausner

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    thought I'd hate it but the opposite happened

    I am a Picoult fan but when I first purchased this book, I was skeptical. The Amish...really? In a Picoult book? It was AWESOME and I found myself not being able to put the book down. I love books like that!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent

    The Amish aren't known for violence, yet in "The Plain Truth", a peaceful Amish girl is charged with murdering her baby. I will admit that I did anticipate the twist in the end that the book was leading up to, but Jodi's style kept me engrossed in the story. She always has strong characters with depth and makes me, the reader, actually care about what happens to them. (If I remember correctly, I bawled while reading "My Sister's Keeper"...)

    I always learn from Jodi, too. I had no idea about 1/2 of what she wrote about the Amish. People have these preconceived notions that aren't true at all. For example, did you know that during their teen years, their parents allow them to get a taste of the Englisch world? They run around in gangs and their parents are more lenient, though fervently hope that the teen decides to be baptized in the Amish faith when the time comes. She also had a character who was a ghost-hunter, who made a good point about ghosts; physics states that energy cannot be destroyed, so when someone dies, where does their energy go?

    Jodi makes me think. Which is why I love her. She has never disappointed me, and I love how she seems to pick her topics straight out of the headlines of the news. (Read "19 Minutes"...talk about a different perspective...) Keep writin' 'em, Jodi, and I'll keep readin' 'em!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    Must Read!!!

    This is one of my favorite books by Jodi Picoult and I think that it's a great book for young women. I highly recommend this book for book clubs as its very open for opioins an so forth. Again-it's a must read and am sure everyone will enjoy it!!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Buy the book

    Buy the book...reading it on the Nook is difficult. There are so many typos in the Nook version, it distracts from the book.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    jodi picoult

    The first book I ever read of Picoult's was My Sister's Keeper and it was a must read. I couldn't put it down. I haven't felt that same way about any of her other books, I found them hard to get in to. I just read the Plain Truth and, finally, I feel like I'm reading a book just as compelling as My Sister's Keeper. I never thought a book set in Lancaster county could be so interesting. Clearly, Picoult is a master at her craft, and I'm glad to have found a second book in her collection to feel so strongly about.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    Not worth the paper it's written on

    I would have given it negative stars if I could. It was so simply written I thought maybe a 10 year old wrote it. There was no research done at all about the law, the Amish, or anything. It's like the author just sat down one day and said, 'I think I'll write a book where an attorney (note to self - look up what an attorney does) defends an Amish person (note to self - look up what the Amish are). Ok, that was harsh, but really, anyone could have written this book. If you're a simple minded person who likes to be able to guess the end of the book by the first few pages and then be right at the end - you'll love this book.

    7 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    Plain Goodness

    What a book! I couldn't put it down. Ms. Picoult's style of writing flows so easily. The characters are so descript, by the end of the book you'll think you where friends. Ms. Ellie Hathaway is lovable and hatable as you watch her personality in action. Her brilliance shines through as an attorney and the twists and turns will keep you on the edge of your seat. This is one book where you'll figure out the ending at the true end. A delight to read. I can't wait to read the rest of Ms. Picoult's books.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Good Read

    I have read a few books by Jodi Picoult. She is a good writer and this is a good read. Sometimes some of the references she makes are unnecessary in the story and even boring; for instance in this story there are references to ghost hunters(the story totally didn't need this. There's not an obscene amount, but enough to make you wonder if it is going to become an important part of the storyline at some point), but overall-she is talented at telling the stories of us, humans. If you like novels about life, people, and the things we do-she is a good author for that. Your money will not be wasted.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Read this!!!!

    Jodi has done it again! This drew me in right away, and I literally had a hard time putting this down, even to eat and sleep. Done in a day! And that doesn't mean it's a "Costco sampler" book. This book is a full- meal deal, from compelling characters, to moral dilemmas. If Picoult ever reads these reviews, (well, a girl can dream, can't she?), sequels would be great. I'd love to find out what happens to Katie and Ellie as they continue on. I've read so many books this year already, but this is one, so far, that really "ranks". A book to keep!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    Strong Characters Weak Ending

    My wife, whose mind I adore, first turned me on to Picoult a few years ago. Ever since, I have read numerous books by said author. But Plain Truth wasn't my favorite. Although, Picoult has a flair for character development by bringing the reader inside the psyche of most of Plain Truth's characters, she falls short on her presentation of conflict resolution and character consistency. Her characters are flawed and we love them for that they are believeable. In reading Picoult's presentation of character relations (e.g. Katie and Adam Ellie and Coop) we can't help but notice our own relationships therfore, the catharsis is the thing wherein she catches the conscience of the . . . reader. The plot clips along carefully giving the reader enough questions to require luminous midnight page-turning sessions. I simply couldn't put the novel down at times, and I love when that happens. However, the denoucement, although a classic Picoult twist, is anything but satisfactory. The reader discovers small character inconsistencies in hindsight, and this becomes discrediting. The story's characters still reverberate in my mind, however. And as Martha Stewart would say, 'That's a good thing.' Salem Falls, Second Glance, and Keeping Faith still remain my favorite Picoult works. I am, however, still plowing the casm of the Picoult canon.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Freakin awesome

    I loved this book! It sounds like a weird topic, but it is so interesing. You never know whats coming next, and it is hard to put down!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Plain Truth, Plain Good

    An interesting premise--dead newborn baby, Amish dairy farm and an eighteen year old girl who can't remember what happened. Learned a few things about the Amish, like they don't shun using things us Englishers take for granted, lighting, bathrooms, things like that. I don't think this is my favorite Jodi Picoult book, so far My Sister's Keeper still holds that spot,although I will add to my library of keepers. This book lack Picoult's usual shocking twist, was not quite as surprised at this ending. Characters are well developed, some the readers will love individuals in the story more than others. A good read all in all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Perfect Read

    It was everything I expected from Picoult and more. Surprising and thrilling throughout the entire book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Very well written.

    Very well written.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Yes

    Picult does it again! Loved this book....and the ending was a jaw dropper

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Love it

    I am so happy that i read this book it was great! I was really able to get into it and you should really read it. O ya one more thing if u r reading this review plz stop havin convos on here if you are doing so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Love books

    Amish meets interesting, great book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awesome

    This is by far my favorite book. Almost nothing coould top it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 578 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29