BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Plain Truth

Average Rating 4
( 608 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(309)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tale starring Amish

She turned her back on love two decades ago because she needed to prove to herself that she could do it alone by climbing to the top of a prestigious law firm. Philadelphia attorney Ellie Hathaway obtains an acquittal for her client, which earns her a job offer from on...
She turned her back on love two decades ago because she needed to prove to herself that she could do it alone by climbing to the top of a prestigious law firm. Philadelphia attorney Ellie Hathaway obtains an acquittal for her client, which earns her a job offer from one of the legal elite firms. However, instead of elation, Ellie feels guilty for gaining freedom for a pediophile who molested at least six children. Ellie walks out on her lover of eight years, seeking sanctuary with her aunt in the heart of Amish Country East Paradise, Lancaster County.

Shortly after her arrival, Ellie is asked to take on the case of eighteen-year-old Amish woman Katie Fisher, accused of killing her newborn child. Katie hid her pregnancy before she went to the family barn to give birth by herself. She wrapped her baby in a shirt and fell asleep. When the teen awakened, the infant was gone. Later the dead child was found and Katie accused of smothering the baby. Ellie agrees to take on an ¿Old Order¿ client that the lawyer thinks is guilty in an English court.

Judy Picoult is a gifted storyteller whose compelling works profoundly impact her audience. Anyone who wants a glimpse at the Amish culture will want to read PLAIN TRUTH. The complex charcaters appear more like multi-dimensional people who capture a niche in the reader¿s heart. If justice is served, Ms. Pisault will become a best-selling author for this warm insightful novel.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the paper it's written on

I would have given it negative stars if I could. It was so simply written I thought maybe a 10 year old wrote it. There was no research done at all about the law, the Amish, or anything. It's like the author just sat down one day and said, 'I think I'll write...
I would have given it negative stars if I could. It was so simply written I thought maybe a 10 year old wrote it. There was no research done at all about the law, the Amish, or anything. It's like the author just sat down one day and said, 'I think I'll write a book where an attorney (note to self - look up what an attorney does) defends an Amish person (note to self - look up what the Amish are). Ok, that was harsh, but really, anyone could have written this book. If you're a simple minded person who likes to be able to guess the end of the book by the first few pages and then be right at the end - you'll love this book.

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    OK book, poor ending

    I love Jodi Picoult's books, but this wasn't her best. The story was interesting enough, I suppose, but I already knew exactly how it was going to end. Maybe I've read too many of her books and know how she usually ends things, but this one was just way too obvious. I definitely liked My Sister's Keeper and Vanishing Acts better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Corny & Predictable

    I didn't struggle to get through this book, but found it rather 'simple' and some of the dialouge to be flat our corny. I know nothing about the Amish, nor do I know anything about the law, or being a Lawyer, but I can tell you that from the perspective of just plain common sense, it seemed highly unethical for an Attorney to use her lover as an expert witness, and put him on the stand. The term 'Conflict of Interest' comes to mind. To summarize, it was mildly entertaining, and seemed to drag on in places, but it wasn't a complete disappointment - Just a little unrealistic and unbelievable at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    A good read

    Shows more of the Amish way of life

    No religion/cult is perfect, but families are families and will help each other especially mothers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Good read!

    Another good Jodi Picoult book! A heart-wrenching story that you will have a hard time putting down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Good..

    But the ending was predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Good read

    Interesting story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Awesome

    I actully like vanishing act instead of nineteen minutes
    Ages 12 & up
    By the same author

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Predictable

    Good read but bit predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Definitely worth reading

    Another wonderful book from Jodi! I thought I would get tired of the Amish subject matter, but it was rather interesting. The combination of character development along with trying to figure out what really happened to the baby made it more of a page turner than I expected. I would've given this one 4 stars, but it seemed like it was a bit too long due to repeating a lot of the same information over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    A Good Read

    This is a good story that engages the reader from the very start. I found the descriptions of the lives and customs of the Plain People presented in a respectful way and learned much about the way these gentle folk live and think. The plot includes some pretty transparent "coincidental" parallels between the lives of the young girl and her attorney, and the "surprise" ending became apparent to me early in the book. Nonetheless, it's an enjoyable book that presents some moral dilemmas for all of us. These could be good topics for a book discussion group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Plain Truth

    Good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    truly enjoyed

    i totally enjoyed this book. read it in two days! the background was fascinating and i learned a lot. i recommended this book to several friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Great read

    This book was really entertaining. There was something for everyone and i couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Zero to mimi

    Come on mimi we need to talk starts comforting her go to bongalo fifth result

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Want the Truth? This Was Disappointing

    EH - that's all i have to say. Maybe it was because I read this right after I read the most amazing book in the world (To Kill a Mockingbird) that I felt this was incredibly dull and predictable. It's sad too because I absolutely loved My Sister's Keeper. There were parts that were really cheesy and just unrealistic. Katie P'Oed me off a lot in the beginning then Ellie started to annoy me when she would play games with Coop. This is good for a beach read but believe me, it does not make you have any brain activity whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    I love Jodi Picoult's writing style! This book, while entertaining, definitely wasn't her best. I did want to know "who did it." Perhaps that curiosity is what drove me to finish the book. I was disappointed in the end and thought it did not jive well with the lifestyle and characteristics of the Amish. I don't want to ruin the ending, but I'd be interested to see if anyone else felt the same way. I really enjoyed "The Pact" and "My Sister's Keeper." I'll keep reading her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    ive read better

    i absolutely love books. I love books, in general, but especially jodi picoult's books. books help me find my way through the world, and jodi picoult's books have introduced issues to me that have otherwise been concealed. but i have to say, this was not one of her best. ive definitely read better. if youre new to jodi picoult, try a different book of hers or something else. there are some amazing books out there even if you don't like books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Not Her Best

    I love Jodi Picoult and her books but this was a different story. I felt Plain Truth was boring and redundent. Thats usually not her style and I can easily get into her books. It seemed to drag on and the end was predictable. I skipped the middle and just read the last chapter to know the ending. She has done much better before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Pretty Good

    Jodi Picoult is a really good writer so of course this book is good. But it lacks her usual ability of being able to pull me in and keep me hooked. It's kind of repetative, but learning about the Amish life was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Science and Fiction

    The central lawyer character violates legal ethics every which way, but that all gets brushed under the rug. For example, in a criminal defense she employs her old boyfriend as her expert psychiatric witness. Would any lawyer do such a thing? My family is from the Pennsylvania Dutch Country in Pennsylvania, and I think the author has somehow simply missed the glories of the agricultural landscape, the mouth-watering food, and the fabulous quirks in the spoken English of this group. Because of these elements, both those present and those missing, I thought the book was jarring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4