Customer Reviews for

Plain Truth

Average Rating 4
( 612 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(311)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tale starring Amish

She turned her back on love two decades ago because she needed to prove to herself that she could do it alone by climbing to the top of a prestigious law firm. Philadelphia attorney Ellie Hathaway obtains an acquittal for her client, which earns her a job offer from on...
She turned her back on love two decades ago because she needed to prove to herself that she could do it alone by climbing to the top of a prestigious law firm. Philadelphia attorney Ellie Hathaway obtains an acquittal for her client, which earns her a job offer from one of the legal elite firms. However, instead of elation, Ellie feels guilty for gaining freedom for a pediophile who molested at least six children. Ellie walks out on her lover of eight years, seeking sanctuary with her aunt in the heart of Amish Country East Paradise, Lancaster County.

Shortly after her arrival, Ellie is asked to take on the case of eighteen-year-old Amish woman Katie Fisher, accused of killing her newborn child. Katie hid her pregnancy before she went to the family barn to give birth by herself. She wrapped her baby in a shirt and fell asleep. When the teen awakened, the infant was gone. Later the dead child was found and Katie accused of smothering the baby. Ellie agrees to take on an ¿Old Order¿ client that the lawyer thinks is guilty in an English court.

Judy Picoult is a gifted storyteller whose compelling works profoundly impact her audience. Anyone who wants a glimpse at the Amish culture will want to read PLAIN TRUTH. The complex charcaters appear more like multi-dimensional people who capture a niche in the reader¿s heart. If justice is served, Ms. Pisault will become a best-selling author for this warm insightful novel.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the paper it's written on

I would have given it negative stars if I could. It was so simply written I thought maybe a 10 year old wrote it. There was no research done at all about the law, the Amish, or anything. It's like the author just sat down one day and said, 'I think I'll write...
I would have given it negative stars if I could. It was so simply written I thought maybe a 10 year old wrote it. There was no research done at all about the law, the Amish, or anything. It's like the author just sat down one day and said, 'I think I'll write a book where an attorney (note to self - look up what an attorney does) defends an Amish person (note to self - look up what the Amish are). Ok, that was harsh, but really, anyone could have written this book. If you're a simple minded person who likes to be able to guess the end of the book by the first few pages and then be right at the end - you'll love this book.

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    A good read

    This book had me from the first page! This book covered family relationships, death, guilt,the Amish religion and love. The characters were strong throughout the book. The ending was still a surprise it didn't end the way I thought it would. I will remember the ways of the Amish and their simple but hardworking life! Thanks Jodi Picoult!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Good read though it dragged at times.

    Overall i would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Good reading

    Was kept guessing through out the book as to the outcome. A few offensive words but I guess that's part of life for some. I did think the story did end rather abruptly though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Good read

    I enjoyed reading this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Great read

    A page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    The comparison of different thought and logic was very well writ

    The comparison of different thought and logic was very well written in this book. Simple, easy to understand while appreciating both views from different cultural perspectives. The development of characters was moving and engaging. While an exceptional book, it was rather long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    The movie was Great

    I saw the movie before i was ever interested in reading books in general. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    This book by Jodi Picoult was absolutely amazing for the most pa

    This book by Jodi Picoult was absolutely amazing for the most part. It definitely kept you reading to find out more. It was very suspenseful. 
    However, towards the end it was a little bit of a shocker, and disappointment, and i think the book could of done a better job in incorporating the end in some where in the book. It just didn't make sense and it wasn't fair.
     She kind of left me a lil hanging at the end when the lawyer was pregnant, they could of finished until she gave birth. For the most part this book was amazing and the suspense was also amazing. Thanx jodi Picoult you have fantastic books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Great story

    Another great story by Jodi Picoult!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    GOOD READING

    ENJOYED THE BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Lesson Learned

    Even while telling a captivating stoty, Picoult manages to teach a reader all about the Amish. It truly allows you to take on a new perspective, and makes you realize that everyone needs to be forgiven to truly move on regardless of who may deem them to be innicent or guilty. This book is also a classic example of how far a mother would go all in the name if loving/ keeping her child. Touches your heart to see how in the end the characters always gain something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Really good

    Makes one think about the situation(s).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    This book tells you a lot of the Amish beliefs and their way of life. It made me sad at times but I really enjoyed reading the book. I reccommed anyone who likes Jodi Picoult books to read this book because only will they enjoy the twist and turns of this book but they will also love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Great writer!

    Spellbinding fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Had Me Stumped

    This was an okay read for me, but I did not see the ending coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Recommended-well written

    As usual with books written by Jodi Picoult, the subject is deeply explored and a moral dilema must be solved.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Another one of Jodi Picoult's fantastic books!

    I really enjoyed this book. I have been a fan of Jodi Picoult for a number of years, and while I adore some of her books, I don't always like all of them. This one I really enjoyed. The book is based in Lancaster County, PA (Amish country), and that appealed to me because I live in that area. Really great book, though depressing at times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Really good read

    I really liked this Picoult book. it was somewhat implausible at times, particularly since it took a very long time for the author to support how a girl who obviously just gave birth could "honestly" say she had not. It was not as strong as 19 Minutes, which was a riveting, powerful read, but I enjoyed it overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Good Read!

    I like Jodi Piccoult's books. They always keep your interest and are fun reading. This was did not disappoint. I learned more about the Amish ways and it had a good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Great book!

    Jodi Picoult is great at writing. I have read several of her books. She is able to give detail without too much detail where the reader wants to throw the book away. Not quite done with the book yet, but Picoult always seems to have a twist (whether bog or small) at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9